La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

3 stars
1708 I-40 East, 1708 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79103-2114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
73 reviews
fun trip

This was a nice place for the price and the staff was wonderful and very helpful. See full review

  • nicole loves to travel
  • Aug 15, 2014
Ideal Family Stay

Our experience was top notch. The staff was very friendly at both check in and check out. Good... See full review

  • Driggers Family
  • Jul 25, 2014
NEW! Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. Now offering free High-Speed Internet Access in all rooms. Located just off Interstate 40 in the largest city between Oklahoma and New Mexico, the Newly Renovated La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area Hotel is convenient to the Texas cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger, and Pampa. From here, it's easy to reach Palo Duro Canyon State Park for hiking, biking, and horseback riding. Enjoy family fun at Wonderland Amusement Park and Splash Water Park. It is only a short walk to the American Quarter horse Museum. The Panhandle Plains Historic Museum at West Texas A&M University is a short drive. And don't forget the sports and entertainment venues of Amarillo: Bill Cody Arena, Amarillo Civic Center, Amarillo National Events Center, Dilla's Baseball, Gorillas Hockey, and Dusters Arena Football. There is shopping galore and lots of great restaurants nearby, like the Big Texan Steakhouse (home of the 72 oz. Steak). The La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area Hotel provides spacious affordable rooms with many useful amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, a business center, a coffee maker, and hair dryer. Our courteous staff sets up a tasty Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. We have a sparkling outdoor Pool for your enjoyment. All rooms are exterior entrance . Located seven miles west of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport. Please Note: This La Quinta does not offer airport shuttle service.

La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

35.192 -101.8196
Nearby airports
Amarillo Intl Airport, (AMA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Team Boyd
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 3, 2013

Not recommended

The rooms were not clean. The building was old. We had a family of 4 staying here and there were only 2 bath towels (had to ask for more) and no shampoo, conditioner, and soap. After asking the front desk for shampoo, etc there was none available. The staff had to find a vacant room to get supplies from and went to a room they thought was vacant but it was occupied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sean and Sandy
Business
Humble
Jan 12, 2013

This place needs a major upgrade.

We arrived very late and the desk clerk knew nothing about our reservation. After locating the reservation, we were directed to our room, the parking lot was ice covered as were the stairs and walkways. Very hard to see in the dark, very dangerous. The heater in the room had been on full blast for hours. We had to turn on the ac and that did not work right so we decided to shower to cool down after an 8 hour drive and found the tub full of hair from the previous occupant, needless to say spent a very hot and uncomfortable night. The breakfast in the morning was almost as bad as the room. There were 3 clerks at the desk and the breakfast area was not ready, we had to ask for waffle batter,donuts and bagels, as all were empty. When speaking to the clerk about the room although she wrote down my complaints, she could not adjust the charge as I paid online through Orbitzs. I would not have expected such a disappointing stay from La Quinta. Will never use or recommend this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love John Deere Tractors
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 4, 2014

Disappointed

This is a motel style hotel - enter your room from the outside. We didn't have any bath towels - didn't realize it until we went to take a shower so I phoned the front desk and was told we had to come get them due to not having the staff to man the front desk. The one bed did not have a blanket - only a sheet, and the light was burned out in the toilet/shower area and the neighboring tenants were fighting at 3am in the morning in front of the hotel rooms. This started up and stopped for an hour or two... Noisy place. The bed with the blanket was actually pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 18, 2009

Not actually near the airport

one would think that a hotel listed as "Airport Area" would actually be near the airport. It's not!!!! It says 7.5 miles from airport, perhaps it is if you could go their directly, but if you stay on the road to get to the airport, it is much farther, not to mention that you have to drive by at least 30 other hotels that are much closer to the airport. This place is really, really old and way too expensive for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lubbock, texas
Feb 23, 2010

La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

This was not a pleasant trip due to the hotel room being dirty, especially the restroom. Movie rental was deactivated and when i called to see what the problem was hotel employee stated that to see regular tv you do not have to press the menu button in a very distasteful tone of voice. I believe this was because we rented through [...] instead of through la quinta. overall not a good experience. even thought of cancelling room and going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy w/ la 5ta
Business
houston tx
May 11, 2011

Way to expensive!!!

Paid 70.00 for a motel 6 type hotel. Old, smelly, the doors would not even closed right, the microwave was an old one, the restroom had black spots all over the place. Toooooo expensive for the chesp, old type hotel. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a reviewer
Business
Colorado
Jun 1, 2011

Do not stay here

This place was awful. They do not have in room movies as they advertise. The rooms are filthy. There was even blood on one of the sheets.. We told the front desk and they offered us a discount. This place is so nasty! Oh and the pool was so dirty you could t see the bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Feb 5, 2010

Just ok

wifi was down for severals days, not good for business traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring own wifi connection

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Century21Traveler
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2010

Just Say No!

I checked in on Friday and the first room was just filthy - despite the bed being made and everything appearing to be in place: there were pubic hairs on the floor of the bathroom area; the coffee pot burner was rusted out; the surface areas were not clean (including what appeared to be ashes in the non-smoking room); the bathroom sink drained very slowly; and, tiles were coming up off the floor in the bathroom. Upon returning late on Saturday night, the lock to the room did not work; no maintenance person could be located immediately so I was put in another room (also dirty - but not as bad as the first room). When I finally got into the original room after midnight to transfer my belongings to the other room, I noticed that - despite the housekeeper was walking by and waving as I left in the morning and not leaving anything saying that the room should not be cleaned - no cleaning was done. I don't know, maybe the housekeeping staff could not get into the room. Sunday night, when I arrived back at the room, the toilet was leaking. Luckily, there was someone available to check it and the issue was easily resolved; but, it was obviously left in that condition by the maintenance person. I have had good experiences at La Quinta hotels in San Antonio, South Padre Island and other Texas cities. But this one? Just remember there is a reason for the the poor ratings and the attractive price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 13, 2009

90th birthday trip

This was not a good experience. We'll not stay at this La Quinta again although we've liked La Quintas in other cities where we've stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top