$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

3 stars
View map of 3010 Catclaw Drive, Abilene, TX 79606

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Business Trip

It was near everywhere I needed to be and it was a nice stay in the area. Clean and enjoyable. See full review

  • David N.
  • Mar 10, 2015
grest!

Overall, this hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly. The room was clean. The indoor swimming... See full review

  • Cassie T.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Conveniently located off Highway 84, this Wingate by Wyndham Abilene is near Frontier Texas, Abilene Zoo, colleges, golfing, shopping and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, dry cleaning and laundry facilities, meeting room, and 24-hour business center with complimentary copy, print and fax services. There is no charge for children under 17 when staying with an adult. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe and newspaper. Suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Abilene also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
All inclusive
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One Night in TX
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 18, 2014

Yikes! Scary pool and hot tub

Picked this one because of location but will not stay again. The outside pool was a scary color and had multiple tiles missing. The indoor hot tub was also a very scary color and we opted not to try to go in it based on the cleanliness of rest of hotel. There were dead flies in the ceiling lights of the elevator, stains on the carpet and every piece of furniture in our room as well as the carpet in the hallway. There was also mildew buildup on areas of the shower. Nothing there felt clean. On the upside, staff was friendly and kept breakfast bar stocked, but knowing how dirty the rest of the hotel was, we opted only for the packaged items on the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roger the Roadwarrior
Business
West Texas
Dec 6, 2014

Disappointing

Have had good experiences here in the past but not this trip. Tub and sink faucets dripped all night. Had to unplug refrigerator because motor droned on incessantly. Biggest annoyance however was the television which had the habit of shutting itself off every 8 or 10 minutes and then re-booting to channel one. Mentioned this in the morning to desk clerk who seemed neither surprised or concerned. There are too many options for overnight stay in this part of town to put up with these issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Angelo, TX
Apr 13, 2011

Great Room, NOT a Great Experience

I immediately liked the front desk service, and was quite impressed with the room when I entered...spacious, layed out well for business needs and personal down time. However, within minutes of closing the door I was struck by the noise from a TV coming through the wall from the next room. I could hear some of what was actually being said..."thin walls". I called down to the front desk and asked if we might find me another room. She found me another room, but when I went in I found it very dusty...cob webs, thick dust on window shades, appliances, drapes and furniture. I decided to go back to my original room and called down stairs to let her know. Dualing television sets didn't seem so bad. And it wasn't. Until I tried to go to sleep. The external air conditioner in the room was so loud that several times during the night when it came on, it woke me up. And once in the middle of the night the pipes in the back wall came alive with noise that shook me almost out of bed. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well and seriously doubt I will ever stay at this hotel again. I really wanted this to like this place so I could return. sorry...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Abuelo's Mexican restaurant at 14th & I-20 in the shopping center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 15, 2011

Good Location and Price

Upside: Hotel was very attractive & clean. Good price for the location and Staff was excellent. Downside: Water was stopped up in the shower, but was fixed immediately. Walls are a little thin. Breakfast was 0630 - 0930 and by 0800 there was no orange juice, few scrambled eggs/bacon and the coffee was weak. Within the 45 minutes of being in the breakfast room, the attendant had not restocked the food items. Second day was the same was the same experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is located next to Abilene's most popular shopping area, and a short drive to the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greenapples
Business
New Mexico
Nov 17, 2014

Stayed one night while traveling

The hotel is near restaurants and shopping, but on a somewhat quiet street. We checked in with no problems, staff was nice enough and the hotel seemed well kept and clean. The room was spacious and seemed nice enough. The bed was comfortable and linens was average or above. The breakfast was a standard hotel breakfast and was what was expected. Problems: The walls seemed thin and the family next door with small children seemed overly loud. There was a rip in the curtain, the TV turned itself off and on the entire time we tried to watch it. (Very annoying! ) The refrigerator didn't work at all and the coffee pot was disgusting. The bathtub was black where it had been caulked and behind the door there was a small tile missing and the wallpaper was peeling. At 8:30 a.m. The next morning, our phone rang and by the time I answered it, no one was there. Approx 5 minutes later there was a knock on our door and by the time my husband was halfway across the room, the door was being unlocked. Luckily we had the latch locked! My husband opened the door and the woman said she had been told we had already checked out? When we checked out, I mentioned these things to the staff and she didn't seem overly concerned. She did make a note that the refrigerator didn't work. It was not the worst hotel we've ever stayed...but I've had much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of shopping and restaurants just down the street and a mall within 5 minutes driving time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike m
Business
abilene texas
Jan 3, 2014

family visit

overall pretty good. One big problem was the television set did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger the Roadwarrior
Business
West Texas
Feb 5, 2014

Great value in Abilene

Clean well appointed room. Quiet, good location, convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumby Tx
Jun 28, 2009

Awesome

High school reunion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple of Lovebirds
Business
Brownwood tx
Jan 2, 2011

Nice stay in Abilene

This hotel is excellent for the price. Continintal breakfast has hot items and well stocked. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. The only complaint is a minor one. The water in the hot tub was luke warm and needed to be hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Cotton Patch restraunt a block away that is some of the best food in Abilene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J from Angelo
Business
San Angelo, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Very good with a few drawbacks

Room was extremely clean and the decor of the hotel was very nice. Staff was friendly. Only drawbacks were that the indoor hot tub was not working and when the shower/bath water was beiing run, it was very loud--in our room as well as from neighboring rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top