$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

3 stars
3010 Catclaw Drive, Abilene, TX 79606
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
44 reviews
Great place

Excellent stay would live to stay there again. Very clea See full review

  • Kevin111984
  • Jul 14, 2014
Good Hotel

We loved it, it was clean, everything in working order. The one thing I loved is that the coffee... See full review

  • Rubio Family
  • Aug 24, 2013
Conveniently located off Highway 84, this Wingate by Wyndham Abilene is near Frontier Texas, Abilene Zoo, colleges, golfing, shopping and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, dry cleaning and laundry facilities, meeting room, and 24-hour business center with complimentary copy, print and fax services. There is no charge for children under 17 when staying with an adult. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe and newspaper. Suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Abilene also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort worth, TX
Oct 4, 2010

Great place to stay

It was a great hotel. Very clean, spacious rooms. It is not located close to the universities but it's near alot of retail/restaurants on the south side of town. We will definitely be using this hotel again when we return to abilene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky Polly
Business
Snyder
Sep 13, 2010

Loved our stay!

Wonderful room. Very roomy and well furnished. The breakfast was typical fair. The A/C had a wide range in temperture differences. Putting it on auto made it more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a mile are all kinds of stores, restaurants, and activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Wingate Hotel, Abilene, TX

I was very impressed with this hotel. Not much to look at from the outside, wedged between a Discount Tire and a large LaQuinta. But over all very nice rooms, very suprised when I walked in. Nicely appointed, flat screen TV, great work area, comfortable chairs, great bed with lots of pillows, very pretty room decorated with nice bedding and curtains. Only thing that kept me from rating higher was the fact that hallways weren't air-conditioned (it was 100+ outside), and there was a stain on my room floor, but over all very clean and comfortbale. Room A/C was great, cranked it down to 65 and it worked great. Was a little annoyed about desk clerk wanting a photo copy of my DL, I travel all over and almost no one makes this request anymore. There are a couple of signs inside the hotel that state it is the #1 ranked hotel out of 33 in Abilene. I can see why, you will not be disappointed if you stay here. It is much nicer than many upper end "chain" hotels I have stayed at. I did not use the pool or workout facilities, but passed the conference room and business center, very nice and useful. Had a very good free continental breakfast in the lobby. Over all for a trip to Abilene, you wil be happy at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Jul 2, 2010

nice room and very spacious

The room was perfect and clean. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longhorn steakhouse was right by the hotel, which had a very good steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 15, 2010

Wyndham Review 05/15/10

Stayed for son's graduation at ACU. The facilities are nice but are across town from ACU campus. It is convenient to most activities in Abilene. Located very close to Abilene Mall but about 3 miles south of I-20, so not extremely convenient for travelers on the freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby (Red Lobster, Golden Corral are examples).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 9, 2010

Abilene hotel

Staff very good, helpful, friendly. Enjoyed working with them. Heard doors slamming most of the night, so thought it too noisy,wondered why we would hear that. Also toilet flushing, shower going. However, everything else first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACU Mom
Business
Lawton, OK
Feb 21, 2010

Impressive

This was a great place to stay. It's kind of tucked in between buildings, but the location still allows for easy access to get around. Lots of pluses in the room like safe, wetbar with microwave, fridge and coffeemaker, comfortable sofa and bed. They had a full breakfast buffet, which included eggs, bacon, etc. The walls seemed a little thin, but it didn't keep me awake. Front desk staff was a little preoccupied at checkin, but still friendly. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting kids and moving furniture
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 23, 2009

Wonderful experience

The hotel was spotless when I walked in the door. Check in was done in a matter of minutes. We were given a coupon for a free appetizer at a restaurant across the street and went there for dinner. Friendly staff, amazing hot breakfast, the room was designed well. Plenty of room with all the bells and whistles. My only complaint would be there was only 1 bedside table. And that complaint is a stretch. The fitness center/hot tub came in handy after a morning of moving furniture. I would definately recommend this hotel to others and already have. Can't wait to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of shopping and eating options within a few miles. Close drive to the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Angelo, TX
Sep 17, 2009

Very nice hotel, at a good price.

I enjoyed my stay at the Wingate. The hotel was clean and was a good value. It is located near a super Wal-Mart and close to restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Sep 12, 2009

Great stay!

Clean room. Very friendly satff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top