$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

3 stars
View map of 3010 Catclaw Drive, Abilene, TX 79606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 19, 2011

Abilene Wingate

Visiting family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Angelo, TX
Apr 13, 2011

Great Room, NOT a Great Experience

I immediately liked the front desk service, and was quite impressed with the room when I entered...spacious, layed out well for business needs and personal down time. However, within minutes of closing the door I was struck by the noise from a TV coming through the wall from the next room. I could hear some of what was actually being said..."thin walls". I called down to the front desk and asked if we might find me another room. She found me another room, but when I went in I found it very dusty...cob webs, thick dust on window shades, appliances, drapes and furniture. I decided to go back to my original room and called down stairs to let her know. Dualing television sets didn't seem so bad. And it wasn't. Until I tried to go to sleep. The external air conditioner in the room was so loud that several times during the night when it came on, it woke me up. And once in the middle of the night the pipes in the back wall came alive with noise that shook me almost out of bed. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well and seriously doubt I will ever stay at this hotel again. I really wanted this to like this place so I could return. sorry...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Abuelo's Mexican restaurant at 14th & I-20 in the shopping center

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 15, 2011

Good Location and Price

Upside: Hotel was very attractive & clean. Good price for the location and Staff was excellent. Downside: Water was stopped up in the shower, but was fixed immediately. Walls are a little thin. Breakfast was 0630 - 0930 and by 0800 there was no orange juice, few scrambled eggs/bacon and the coffee was weak. Within the 45 minutes of being in the breakfast room, the attendant had not restocked the food items. Second day was the same was the same experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is located next to Abilene's most popular shopping area, and a short drive to the mall.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business 101
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 19, 2010

Quiet & Quality

This was the second time I stayed here. The first time it had only just recently opened so I got a great deal. The price seemed to have climbed a bit this time. It was reasonably quiet. The staff were happy for me to have a meeting there after I had checked out, including using the wireless internet; very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 1, 2010

Excellent

Finding the hotel was a little tricky at night, the front sign is small. Once there, the check in was easy, the room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Several eating/shopping options close by. Breakfast buffet was good and included a waffle maker. No complains, very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort worth, TX
Oct 4, 2010

Great place to stay

It was a great hotel. Very clean, spacious rooms. It is not located close to the universities but it's near alot of retail/restaurants on the south side of town. We will definitely be using this hotel again when we return to abilene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky Polly
Business
Snyder
Sep 13, 2010

Loved our stay!

Wonderful room. Very roomy and well furnished. The breakfast was typical fair. The A/C had a wide range in temperture differences. Putting it on auto made it more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a mile are all kinds of stores, restaurants, and activities.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Wingate Hotel, Abilene, TX

I was very impressed with this hotel. Not much to look at from the outside, wedged between a Discount Tire and a large LaQuinta. But over all very nice rooms, very suprised when I walked in. Nicely appointed, flat screen TV, great work area, comfortable chairs, great bed with lots of pillows, very pretty room decorated with nice bedding and curtains. Only thing that kept me from rating higher was the fact that hallways weren't air-conditioned (it was 100+ outside), and there was a stain on my room floor, but over all very clean and comfortbale. Room A/C was great, cranked it down to 65 and it worked great. Was a little annoyed about desk clerk wanting a photo copy of my DL, I travel all over and almost no one makes this request anymore. There are a couple of signs inside the hotel that state it is the #1 ranked hotel out of 33 in Abilene. I can see why, you will not be disappointed if you stay here. It is much nicer than many upper end "chain" hotels I have stayed at. I did not use the pool or workout facilities, but passed the conference room and business center, very nice and useful. Had a very good free continental breakfast in the lobby. Over all for a trip to Abilene, you wil be happy at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Jul 2, 2010

nice room and very spacious

The room was perfect and clean. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longhorn steakhouse was right by the hotel, which had a very good steak.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 15, 2010

Wyndham Review 05/15/10

Stayed for son's graduation at ACU. The facilities are nice but are across town from ACU campus. It is convenient to most activities in Abilene. Located very close to Abilene Mall but about 3 miles south of I-20, so not extremely convenient for travelers on the freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby (Red Lobster, Golden Corral are examples).

Back to menu Return to top