$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

3 stars
711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
167 reviews
Great friends getaway

Staff was super friendly. It was more of a motel style hotel but the inside of the room was very... See full review

  • Z and J
  • Dec 23, 2013
Great stay downtown

Perfect hotel stay for a night downtown for the price. See full review

  • Bjones
  • Feb 11, 2013
Central Nashville hotel caters to conventioneers and budget-minded
This go-to business hotel caters to conventioneers and budget-minded travelers. A variety of attractions are just minutes away, making the Best Western a convenient choice for a variety of guests. The Nashville Convention Center is a 10-minute walk. Travelers in town to visit Vanderbilt University students or faculty members are a mere two miles from the college. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy the Hermitage Golf Course or the Spring House Golf Course.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Ten-minute walk from Nashville Convention Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Exercise facility
  • Free parking

Rooms

Well-equipped guest rooms may include mini-fridges and high-speed Internet access, and all rooms come with cable satellite TV with HBO. In addition, Best Western Business Plus rooms feature an oversized desk area with free high-speed Internet access.

Features

Guests can take a break from business at the on-site fitness center, drop off laundry, and work from comfortable accommodations. Savala's Restaurant and a combo deli-convenience store are both on-site. Travelers looking for a last-minute card or gift will find options in the on-site gift shop.

Transportation
  • John C. Tune Airport (15 minutes)
  • Nashville International Airport (15 minutes)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (2 minutes)

Attractions
  • Tennessee State Museum (0.1 mi/.16 km)
  • Tennessee State Capitol (0.1 mi/.16 km)
  • Tennessee Performing Arts Center (0.1 mi/.16 km)
  • Nashville Convention Center (0.2 mi/.32 km)
  • Cumberland Science Museum (.25 mi/.4 km)
  • Grand Olde Opry (.3 mi/.48 km)
  • Metro Riverfront Park (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • The Coliseum, home of the Titans (.75 min/1.2 km)
  • Vanderbilt University (2 mi/3.22 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access (Business Plus rooms)
  • Oversized desk area (Business Plus rooms)
  • Free local calls
  • Modern data ports in room
  • Guest laundry available from 8 am - 10pm


Policies and fees
Parking is available for $16.39 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1633 -86.7839
Area served
Cookeville, Springfield, Murfreesboro, Goodlettsville, Mount Juliet, Spring Hill, Dickson, Smyrna, Franklin, Gallatin, Hendersonville, Manchester, Portland, Columbia, Paris, Jackson, Memphis, Chattanooga, Lebanon, LaVergne, Brentwood, Knoxville
Nearby airports
(BNA), 8.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICR RFRG,DESK,TV 25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Tennessee Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tennessee State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ryman Auditorium: 0.3 mi
  • Bicentennial Capitol Mall State Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bridgestone Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Frist Center for Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Gaylord Entertainment Center: 0.4 mi
  • Riverfront Park: 0.5 mi
  • Country Music Hall of Fame: 0.5 mi
  • Schermerhorn Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • LP Field: 0.7 mi
  • RCA Studio B: 1.1 mi
  • Music Row: 1.1 mi
  • Adventure Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Negley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Tennessee Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tennessee State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ryman Auditorium: 0.3 mi
  • Bicentennial Capitol Mall State Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bridgestone Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Frist Center for Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Gaylord Entertainment Center: 0.4 mi
  • Riverfront Park: 0.5 mi
  • Country Music Hall of Fame: 0.5 mi
  • Schermerhorn Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • LP Field: 0.7 mi
  • RCA Studio B: 1.1 mi
  • Music Row: 1.1 mi
  • Adventure Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Negley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vanderbilt University: 1.5 mi
  • Centennial Park: 1.9 mi
  • Belmont mansion: 2 mi
  • Curb Event Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shelby Park: 3 mi
  • Lane Motor Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Nashville Zoo: 5.8 mi
  • Grand Ole Opry: 6 mi
  • Opryland Hotel Gardens: 6 mi
  • Belle Meade Plantation: 6 mi
  • Travellers Rest Plantation and Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Fontanel Mansion: 7.1 mi
  • Radnor Lake State Park: 7.3 mi
  • Cheekwood Botanical Gardnes & Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • The Hermitage: 9.3 mi
  • Edwin and Percy Warner parks: 10.1 mi
  • Memorial Gymnasium: 676.4 mi
  • Allen Arena: 687.5 mi
  • Gentry Complex: 1,756.7 mi

Dining

Jack's Bar B Que
0.50 mile(s) from Jack's Bar B Que,
Crab House
0.60 mile(s) from Crab House, Seafood, Sunday through Thursday 11:30 to 10:00 p.m. and Friday though Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
2nd and Goal Sports Café
0.60 mile(s) from 2nd and Goal Sports Café, southern, Sunday through Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. and Friday through Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Arthur's continental
0.50 mile(s) from Arthur's, continental, Monday through Thursday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. and Friday through Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Monell's Dining
0.20 mile(s) from Monell's Dining, southern
Morton's of Chicago
0.10 mile(s) from Morton's of Chicago, Steakhouse, Monday through Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. and Sunday 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Convenience Store with New York Style Deli
Convenience Store with New York Style Deli, on premises
Logan's Roadhouse
1.00 mile(s) from Logan's Roadhouse, Steakhouse, Sunday through Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. and Friday through Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Demos' Steak and Spaghetti House
0.50 mile(s) from Demos' Steak and Spaghetti House, Sunday through Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. and Friday through Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.
Cafe Fuzion
Cafe Fuzion, on premises

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimmi world travelet
mcminnville tn
Nov 29, 2012

fun weekend

Great time. Room was small but clean and served its purpose very well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Dane mom sissy
Tennessee
Jun 9, 2014

Great getaway

It was great, the hotel was under remodeling but it was still great. We did not get to check in until late,but they work great with us on that. We had reserved a king room but they did not have that so they gave us a queen room with free parking. That was great, we where not up set at all. Room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KindaPicky
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Jun 5, 2014

Excellent staff, great location, minimum amenities

This hotel experience was one of extremes. First, our experience with the staff could not be improved - they were friendly, helpful, prompt, and effective. The room was very clean, although it was cramped, smelled strongly of cleaner. The furniture was dark and cheap looking, although the walls were freshly painted and bright. The sheets were thin and pilled. The breakfast was simply bad - it seemed that the cheapest possible products were provided. That said, the room price was fairly low, given its excellent location (downtown Nashville), The hotel was being renovated at the time of our stay, and there was no mention of this throughout the reservation process. Bottom line: If price and location are most important to you, and you're planning to be in your room only at night, and eating breakfast out, this hotel will serve the purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smokys 01
Wisconsin
Jun 3, 2014

Hard to locate and not close to down town.

Was extremely hard to find, with construction and one way streets. Had to wait for room to be cleaned & while waiting seen a dead cockroach which was still there when we left. I understand under construction, outside reminded us of a Hotel 6, at least room was updated and clean. Only 1 elevator, very old, could barely fit cart. Wasn't as close to down town as we thought. Staff very friendly and continental breakfast good. would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at BB Kings. amazing food

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tami S.
Fairfield, Ohio
Jun 2, 2014

You pay for location.

There was construction going on and that was fine, not a bother at all. The room itself is fine, I think the walk ways outside the rooms could really stand to be spruced up. That did not appear to be clean at all. The elevator is horribly small and honestly I was nervous everytime I was on it. I think for what you get it is very very very overpriced! But the location was what we felt we paid for. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone. We were there for Nashville clubs and music and that was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware there is a walk if you prefer not to drive.

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC George
Business
Washington, DC
May 21, 2014

Terrible building/not friendly staff

The building is undergoing major renovations. I'm not a huge fan of hotel rooms where the doors lead directly to the outside, but this one was particularly bad because the outdoor areas were disgusting and messy. The staff there rushed me out (event after I requested a late check out). As I finished up a conference call in their lobby, the front desk people kept asking me (while I was clearly on the phone) when I was leaving and how I was getting to the airport. I felt rushed and unwelcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flygal
Burlington, WI
May 13, 2014

Excellent Staff

The room itself was clean and nice. They are undergoing major renovation so the outside of the hotel, halls, etc. are not done yet. The Staff could not be better, more friendly or helpful. This made up for the inconvenience of the construction. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Demos Restaurant was a good meal at reasonable prices. Peg Leg Porker located in The Gulch was very good. Colts Chocolates is located around the corner from the Peg Leg Porker and has Excellent home-made Chocolates - a definite "Must"!

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JOSE G. CALLE
Business
NYC, NY
May 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN NASHVILLE DOWNTOWN

WAS UNDER RENOVATION HENCE A BIT UNTIDY; GREAT LOCATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberley Kids
Australia
Apr 6, 2014

Great location

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations which didn't really have any impact on our stay. The rooms were very clean and most comfortable. The curtains let in too much light in the morning but it saves on setting an alarm! Our first night was very quiet however the noise travels through the large glass windows easily and it can be noisy when people are walking along the outside of your room. Our second night was extremely noisy due to the inconsideration of a few guests and we got very little sleep. The breakfast room is a very popular spot and it can be difficult to find a table. We grabbed our stuff and ate our breakfast in our room one morning. The ladies serving breakfast did an amazing job. They were cheerful, helpful and made you feel much more upbeat about the day. The location was ideal for us and we could easily walk to everything we wanted. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
headingNorth
Nova Scotia Canada
Apr 5, 2014

Good place, friendly staff

We stayed for two days. The hotel was being renovated outside so was a bit noisy during the day but worked stopped between 5:30 PM and 9:30 the next morning. Our room was apparently newly renovated and quite modern, although a bit on the small side, and was quite comfortable. The breakfast that was provided was very good and staff kept the room tidy and ensured coffee cups were filled. The hotel is a short (5-10 minutes) walk to the honky-tonks and restaurant area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet parking attendants gave some good advice and directions on Where to eat.

Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exhaustedandgladtosleep
MA
Feb 8, 2014

Music Scene

Went for the music scene. Stayed 4 nights. It's about a ten minute walk to Broadway from the hotel. There is a big hill, be warned! However, hotel was a good value. Staff was nice, breakfast was what you expect from a Best Western, and room was clean. The last night was a little noisy, but seemed like the weekend crowd was arriving. Also, all doors open to the outside which isn't immediately obvious from their pictures. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top