$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

River Inn of Harbor Town

5 stars
50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
56 reviews
4 Night Break Visiting Family

Our experience of this Hotel was a very positive one. The location of the Hotel was perfect, less... See full review

  • Jamesey
  • Nov 26, 2014
A beautiful place to stay

We were more than pleased. Hotel is boutique, and staff attentive. Location is perfect. Our room... See full review

  • Gulfstream jets
  • Jul 13, 2014
Award-winning inn delivers Southern hospitality

River Inn, with its bold, welcoming façade and tasteful furnishings, offers a unique and charming escape in one of the most delightful areas of Memphis. The award-winning, upscale hotel offers amenities to suit business travelers and pleasure tourists alike, including top-flight restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere, fitness facility, and access to local golf courses.

Highlights
  • AAA 4 Diamond/5 Star Alliance hotel
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Excellent in-house restaurants
  • The River Inn Culinary School
Rooms

River Inn's 28 masterfully decorated rooms and suites enhance the sense of escape. Most offer stunning views of the Mississippi River. Complimentary items include gourmet breakfast at Currents restaurant, port wine and chocolate truffles at turn-down, luxury bathroom amenities, daily national newspaper, high-speed wireless Internet access, local phone calls, and use of the fitness room.

Features

Guests appreciate River Inn's architecture, accented by gas-lit lanterns, decorative wrought iron, and blooming window boxes. The traditional lobby features a sparkling crystal chandelier, a wood-burning fireplace set off by an 1850s-era mantel, and wood flooring from an old textile mill, along with Oriental rugs, original oil paintings, and fresh flowers.

 

Guests enjoy a glass of wine or champagne at check-in. Currents restaurant offers a fine dining menu, while Tug's Grill serves more casual fare. The inn's culinary school offers guests a glimpse behind the scenes.

 

Sightseers find several attractions with a three-mile radius of the hotel, including entertainment on Beale Street, as well as FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and Peabody Place. Nearby, too, is the National Civil Rights Museum, Mud Island River Park, Cook Convention Center, Memphis Zoo, and Graceland.

 

Guests enjoy the views of the Mississippi River from the inn's terrace rooftop, or from the privacy of each guestroom. Guests opting to stay in relax with a book and glass of port served in the library-style seating areas situated on each floor.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Elivs Presley's home, Graceland (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Casinos of Tunica, Mississippi (31.6 mi/50.9 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms include the Belle Memphis conference room and two function rooms, with AV equipment
  • Open rooftop terrace accommodates up to 65
  • High-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Inn of Harbor Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

River Inn of Harbor Town Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed or 1 king bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
STANDARD - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
DELUXE ROOM - RIVERVIEW
Luxury River View accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. The Deluxe Room offers more spacious accommodations then the Standard Rooms. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Beale Street: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 5.2 mi

Dining

The Little Bar
A cozy bar located adajent to the lobby, offers an international selection of cocktails and wines.
Currents
Fine dining in casual elegance - Continental/French Cuisine
Tug's
Casual grill and bar that offers comfort food, grilled items, sandwiches, salads and specials.
The Roof Top Terrace
Offers bar food and drinks during spring, summer and fall seasons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Traveler Dad
Business
Midwest
Apr 22, 2014

Was supposed to be a relaxing getaway

On arrival the TV did not work. It had a Comcast error that took 2 days to resolve. when I reported the problem to the front desk, they said they would be right up. 45 minutes later we were still waiting and we wanted to go out to eat. They said they would fix it while we were out. When we got back the front desk said it was fixed. It was not, and did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to close. On the final day I could not get hot water, had to take a cold shower. No comfortable chairs to sit on. All wood chairs. The room was so small that you could not see the TV from the chairs. The only way to relax after a long day of sight seeing was to sit on the bed. No coffee or Tea in the rooms. You have to go to the common area on your floor where they put a coffee pot in the morning. No pop machine anywhere that I could find, and no convenience stores nearby to go to. They have a nice machine, but what food is that if you can't get any drinks? I travel a lot and have never paid so much to get so little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Traveler Dad
Business
Midwest
Apr 29, 2014

Dissapointing getaway

This was supposed to be a relaxing getaway. As long as I was not in the room the trip was fine. The minute I got back to the room, my temper flared at the poor situation. The room is the size of a shoebox. No comfortable chairs to sit on at all. You can not see the TV unless you are sitting on the bed. On arrival the TV did not work. Comcast error. After site seeing all day I like to come back to the room and relax on the sofa with the TV on. Problem: No sofa, no working TV. The front desk said they would send a guy up. 45 minutes later, no guy. I called again an said we were going out to eat. they said they would have it fixed when we got back. When we get back the front desk said it was fixed. No it wasn't. Nobody looked at it at all. Did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to fit and close. The Internet connection is SLOW. On the last day I had to take a cold shower. I could not get any hot water. No soda machine. I found an ice machine, but no soda. What good is ice with nothing to drink? Also no coffee or tea in the room. They have a coffee thermos they fill in the morning that sits in a commons area on the floor. Only creamer is real and unflavored. Not good if you are lactose intolerant. They should be ashamed of the poor product and service for the rates they charge. I travel a lot for work and have paid much less and had a much better stay. I've never gotten so little for my money. I can not recommend this place to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Miss Polly's Soul Food Cafe on Beale Street. Waffles and Chicken!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fake Blond
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 19, 2014

Disappointing Anniversary Stay

My husband & I went to this hotel to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary. I was excited, especially given the great reviews. Disappointed to find this hotel TOO ORDINARY in many ways! First, our room, though pretty, was the size of shoebox; I could hardly turn around without hitting my husband. Maybe fine for an anniversary (?!) but for such an expensive hotel, I expected more. There was none of those extras, like coffee & tea or cookies in the lobby. They did offer us wine when we checked in, and then a small vat of wine in our room. We are not drinkers, and it would have been nice to have an alternative. Secondly, the hotel has a bar on the top floor, and imagine our disappointment when we heard loud laughing, screeching tables & chairs, etc right above our room. My husband, who is very tolerant, finally had enough, and we complained. They apologized (but didn't act at all surprised, so they have probably heard it before). They did move us to a much larger and quiet suite. But I had to pack up everything I brought, get dressed, and walk out into the cold weather to move, so that was a bit inconvenient. Thirdly, we had gone out to dinner elsewhere, and come back later wanting dessert. We went to the onsite restaurant, Paulette's, and asked to be seated for dessert. Even though the restaurant was half empty (and I made it clear I wished to sit in the dining room), the staff insisted we had to sit in the bar for "just dessert"! Insulting. The breakfast at Paulette's was good the next morning, and it is very picturesque, but all in all very disappointing. Next morning when we checked out, the same girl who checked us in asked how it was. I said it was just "ok" and she said a cheery "good!"and went on with her life. I don't feel this hotel did a single thing to make us feel special on a day that was significant for us, and I will not go back. It is way overrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yukon, OK
Oct 18, 2010

A little disappointed

Very nice location near nice outdoor mall. Room was nice and clean. My disappointment has to do with two things; I ordered a snack when I arrived and had left overs to share with my husband who was arriving several hours later. I took the food upstairs and found the refrigerator locked. When I called downstairs I was told they no longer stocked the minibar but would rent me a refrigerator. Ridiculous. I also didn't have very hot water in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Breanne lulu
Business
Staunton, Illinois
Oct 29, 2012

Good location

Room was clean but small. No microwave and tv setup was subpar. No pay per views. Paulette's was fantastic, breakfast and service excellent there. Tugs was not anything special, had bad service. The steak was good though. Great location, romantic atmosphere. Turn down service was interesting. One truffle and one small glass of wine for two guests. There is beautiful park nearby with plenty of benches. Really good coffee. Check out cafe eclectic and the small grocery nearby. They have awesome baked goods. I would go back to this hotel in the future if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie S
Business
Paducah, KY, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Fantastic weekend!

The hotel was outstanding along with the staff. The meals were also fantastic. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishman
Business
st. louis, mo
Oct 12, 2011

cozy room

The staff and restaurants were excellent. The room was very nice but small for the price. We had a deluxe room and I would describe it as cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schnauzerparents
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 17, 2011

Beautiful Property

We loved this hotel. The staff could not have been more professional or accommodating. The room was quaint and the hotel has a lot of character. The breakfast (which was included in the rate) was delicious and the menu was extensive, but not overwhelming. The only downside is that the location is not convenient to downtown Memphis, and you need to take a cab each time to go downtown and that got expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zzcc
Business
New England
Apr 30, 2012

Great hotel.

With excellent restaurant attached. Only problems: Room card/keys that failed repeatedly - for many guests. Loud AC/heat with single setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to bridge and tram to Mud Island and Mississippi museum with ingenious and beautiful model of the whole river. Also short walk to Convention center, and to free trolley that circles through downtown. Hotel location away from commercial activity - attractive and peaceful, over-looking river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danfilk
Business
Detroit, Mi
Jun 14, 2012

Couples trip to explore Memphis

It's a really great hotel in a great area. There isn't really a big night life, but as long as you have a car Memphis is extremely accessible. If you are staying at this Hotel and want to explore downtown Memphis without a car prepare to walk A LOT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top