$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

River Inn of Harbor Town

5 stars
View map of 50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
57 reviews
4 Night Break Visiting Family

Our experience of this Hotel was a very positive one. The location of the Hotel was perfect, less... See full review

  • Jamesey
  • Nov 26, 2014
A beautiful place to stay

We were more than pleased. Hotel is boutique, and staff attentive. Location is perfect. Our room... See full review

  • Gulfstream jets
  • Jul 13, 2014
Award-winning inn delivers Southern hospitality

River Inn, with its bold, welcoming façade and tasteful furnishings, offers a unique and charming escape in one of the most delightful areas of Memphis. The award-winning, upscale hotel offers amenities to suit business travelers and pleasure tourists alike, including top-flight restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere, fitness facility, and access to local golf courses.

Highlights
  • AAA 4 Diamond/5 Star Alliance hotel
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Excellent in-house restaurants
  • The River Inn Culinary School
Rooms

River Inn's 28 masterfully decorated rooms and suites enhance the sense of escape. Most offer stunning views of the Mississippi River. Complimentary items include gourmet breakfast at Currents restaurant, port wine and chocolate truffles at turn-down, luxury bathroom amenities, daily national newspaper, high-speed wireless Internet access, local phone calls, and use of the fitness room.

Features

Guests appreciate River Inn's architecture, accented by gas-lit lanterns, decorative wrought iron, and blooming window boxes. The traditional lobby features a sparkling crystal chandelier, a wood-burning fireplace set off by an 1850s-era mantel, and wood flooring from an old textile mill, along with Oriental rugs, original oil paintings, and fresh flowers.

 

Guests enjoy a glass of wine or champagne at check-in. Currents restaurant offers a fine dining menu, while Tug's Grill serves more casual fare. The inn's culinary school offers guests a glimpse behind the scenes.

 

Sightseers find several attractions with a three-mile radius of the hotel, including entertainment on Beale Street, as well as FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and Peabody Place. Nearby, too, is the National Civil Rights Museum, Mud Island River Park, Cook Convention Center, Memphis Zoo, and Graceland.

 

Guests enjoy the views of the Mississippi River from the inn's terrace rooftop, or from the privacy of each guestroom. Guests opting to stay in relax with a book and glass of port served in the library-style seating areas situated on each floor.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Elivs Presley's home, Graceland (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Casinos of Tunica, Mississippi (31.6 mi/50.9 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms include the Belle Memphis conference room and two function rooms, with AV equipment
  • Open rooftop terrace accommodates up to 65
  • High-speed Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Inn of Harbor Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

River Inn of Harbor Town Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed or 1 king bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
STANDARD - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
DELUXE ROOM - RIVERVIEW
Luxury River View accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. The Deluxe Room offers more spacious accommodations then the Standard Rooms. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Beale Street: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 5.2 mi

Dining

The Little Bar
A cozy bar located adajent to the lobby, offers an international selection of cocktails and wines.
Currents
Fine dining in casual elegance - Continental/French Cuisine
Tug's
Casual grill and bar that offers comfort food, grilled items, sandwiches, salads and specials.
The Roof Top Terrace
Offers bar food and drinks during spring, summer and fall seasons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southern belle 2
Business
south Georgia
Jan 14, 2014

wonderful romantic getaway

The room, the staff, the food were all excellent. We enjoyed everything. The location, right on the Mississippi river, is convenient to Beale Street and all of downtown. Ours was definitely a "5-star" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy 25 years
Business
California
Jan 17, 2014

Loved it!

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a few days in Memphis. The hotel was everything we expected and more. It was beautiful; we had an amazing view of the river! Breakfast was first rate -- far more than we expected and the service was excellent. Still missing that! Parking was easy; we were greeted with complimentary wine on check-in; appreciated free wi-fi. We have no complaints. We would absolutely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Central Barbecue. Great food, very inexpensive. Not far from the Peabody.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janie from Texas
Business
Midland, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

This Hotel Was Simply Amazing!!

This boutique hotel looks over the Mississippi River. Our room was exquisite, comfy bed, plenty of wall plugs, windows, beautiful decor. Very comfortable and welcoming. A small carafe of port awaited us nightly, along with chocolates. The staff couldn't have been better. We were there for a wedding, and shared breakfast with the bride and groom afterwards. The staff, one by one, came by the table and congratulated the couple. Their caring attitudes just put the icing on the cake. We ate at the restaurant for supper, post wedding, and the meal was definitely 5 star. Then, gourmet breakfast the next morning - complimentary! We can only give glowing reviews of this hotel and restaurant...we travel extensively, and this hotel wins hands down in every category. Plus - FREE wireless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The menu at Currents was delectable, yet surprising. There was an item to please everyone - no palate was left lacking. Wine list was extensive, and the wait help pleasing.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pretzel
Business
indiana
Oct 12, 2011

Memphis Gem

Very pleassed with our too short stay. Our main sight seeing was the River Museum right down the street. Wish we could stay for more than one night. Breakfast was wonderful - anything off the menu. The whole experience was like staying at a river front mansion with totally modern facilities. The only thing it lacked was a dedicated unloading zone in front of the hotel as parking was limited and we had to park in large lot behind large multiuse building complex. You won't get the Memphis urban experience. This place is like an oasis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drbrianc
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Phenomenal hotel!

In Memphis for a quick overnight business trip - stayed at this hotel after researching better places to stay in Memphis and it was well worth the extra time it took to get to the airport! Greeted on arrival by extremely friendly, accommodating staff who handed me a glass of wine of my choosing. The room was impeccably decorated in a "Modern Southern" motif, emphasizing the progressive character of the hotel and I enjoyed a view of the Mississippi River. Very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with top-tier supplies. The hotel bar was very nice and upscale. Being in town only very briefly I was unable to explore the area immediately around the hotel and am unsure as to the proximity to Beale Street, etc. which is the reason for the "4/5" rating on location. The area around the hotel appeared to be an upscale area with many shops and restaurants overlooking a "boardwalk" along the Mississippi. If this hotel is located near Beale Street and other Memphis treasures I would definitely have given it a 5/5 for location. Overall, an impeccable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have an early flight out of Memphis (e.g. 6am to Chicago, as mine was) you DO NOT need to get to the airport 2 hours ahead of time; the TSA doesn't even open the checkpoint until 4:30am. Arrive at 5am and you will still have plenty of time to get some coffee.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Towboater68
Business
West Monroe, LA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

One word "Perfect"

My wife and I looked around for the perfect place to stay for our New Years trip and settled on the River Inn and we are so pleased we did. Right when you walk in the courteous staff greets you with a smile and a glass of champagne. The room is a little small but very cozy and extremely comfortable. The small window had a very cute flower box on the outside and the view of the mighty Mississippi river was outstanding. The River Inn of Harbor Town is our new place to stay in Memphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tugs is a very nice place to have a nice meal and a cocktail.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jay r
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

beautiful

A quaint 28 room hotel with a great view of the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cbe1107768
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great room, excellent location

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly and the complementary breakfast was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stpattymarch
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Anniversary getaway

Extremely impressed... very professional, helpful, first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ReddogIndy
Business
Indianapolis
Aug 2, 2012

Fantastic place!

My wife and I had an absolutely first rate experience at this hotel. The location is fantastic on Mud Island. There are some nice shops, especially the grocery and coffee shop, a block away from the hotel. You're a short drive or cab ride to Beale Street, and most people would prefer to be a bit away from the noise there, I'd think. Request a riverside view if you can get it. The staff was fantastic. Perks include a nightly turndown service with port and truffles. Great breakfast in the restaurant is included. You can't miss with this place. Thanks to everyone at the River Inn! We had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top