$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

River Inn of Harbor Town

5 stars
50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
75 reviews
A perfect evening in Memphis

Located on the prestigious Harbor Town development, the River Inn is an oasis of civility in a the... See full review

  • Cat Mama 53
  • Jun 6, 2014
Loved it!

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a few days in Memphis. The hotel was everything we... See full review

  • Happy 25 years
  • Jan 17, 2014
Award-winning inn delivers Southern hospitality

River Inn, with its bold, welcoming façade and tasteful furnishings, offers a unique and charming escape in one of the most delightful areas of Memphis. The award-winning, upscale hotel offers amenities to suit business travelers and pleasure tourists alike, including top-flight restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere, fitness facility, and access to local golf courses.

Highlights
  • AAA 4 Diamond/5 Star Alliance hotel
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Excellent in-house restaurants
  • The River Inn Culinary School
Rooms

River Inn's 28 masterfully decorated rooms and suites enhance the sense of escape. Most offer stunning views of the Mississippi River. Complimentary items include gourmet breakfast at Currents restaurant, port wine and chocolate truffles at turn-down, luxury bathroom amenities, daily national newspaper, high-speed wireless Internet access, local phone calls, and use of the fitness room.

Features

Guests appreciate River Inn's architecture, accented by gas-lit lanterns, decorative wrought iron, and blooming window boxes. The traditional lobby features a sparkling crystal chandelier, a wood-burning fireplace set off by an 1850s-era mantel, and wood flooring from an old textile mill, along with Oriental rugs, original oil paintings, and fresh flowers.

 

Guests enjoy a glass of wine or champagne at check-in. Currents restaurant offers a fine dining menu, while Tug's Grill serves more casual fare. The inn's culinary school offers guests a glimpse behind the scenes.

 

Sightseers find several attractions with a three-mile radius of the hotel, including entertainment on Beale Street, as well as FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and Peabody Place. Nearby, too, is the National Civil Rights Museum, Mud Island River Park, Cook Convention Center, Memphis Zoo, and Graceland.

 

Guests enjoy the views of the Mississippi River from the inn's terrace rooftop, or from the privacy of each guestroom. Guests opting to stay in relax with a book and glass of port served in the library-style seating areas situated on each floor.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Elivs Presley's home, Graceland (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Casinos of Tunica, Mississippi (31.6 mi/50.9 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms include the Belle Memphis conference room and two function rooms, with AV equipment
  • Open rooftop terrace accommodates up to 65
  • High-speed Internet access

River Inn of Harbor Town Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed or 1 king bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
STANDARD - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
DELUXE ROOM - RIVERVIEW
Luxury River View accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. The Deluxe Room offers more spacious accommodations then the Standard Rooms. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Inn of Harbor Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1611 -90.0548
Area served
Memphis
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport (MEM), 20 minutes by car.
Area description
Located in Harbor Town on Mud Island - 2 miles from the heart of downtown Memphis (Beale Street). The Hotel is facing the Mississippi River and has in front of it the Greenbelt Park along the Mississippi River, an ideal place for jogging, walking, or just to relax.

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Beale Street: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 5.2 mi

Dining

The Little Bar
A cozy bar located adajent to the lobby, offers an international selection of cocktails and wines.
Currents
Fine dining in casual elegance - Continental/French Cuisine
Tug's
Casual grill and bar that offers comfort food, grilled items, sandwiches, salads and specials.
The Roof Top Terrace
Offers bar food and drinks during spring, summer and fall seasons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helene123
Chicago
Jun 14, 2012

Really nice, small boutique hotel

Stayed one night in Memphis. This hotel is really nice; they give you a glass of wine when you check in! Very cozy bar. Breakfast is fantastic....included in the rate. A full breakfast served by a waiter with really fresh juice and whatever you want: bacon, eggs, grits, country ham, eggs benedict, etc. Would definitely stay there again. Short drive to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
northwest Illinois, 61254
Feb 9, 2011

very special

Our 2nd stay. Very romantic, great service, top shelf in all aspects. My wife thinks we should keep the River Inn our secret. Champagne or wine by parlor fireplace at check in. Fine dining breakfast included in rate. Port wine and chocolate at bed turn down. Morning coffee available just outside every room in the library sitting area on each floor. Very small hotel in a quaint condo community just outside of downtown Memphis, plan[...] Fine dining as well as, bar and grill connected to hotel. Hotel and dining overlook the Mississippi River. Includes parking so convenient I feared I was parked illegally. I liked the place so much we booked it for 2 days on our trip South for the winter. Memphis has a lot to offer and this hotel makes traveling special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Invest some time checking on available rates. The money saved can mean an upgraded accomodation, pay for dinner or make the trip itself possible. Understanding the standard rates means you will know when you see a bargain.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2010

Lovely hotel & incredibly gracious staff

This is a lovely hotel on the Mississippi River with easy access to downtown Memphis. There is no charge for parking and the gourmet breakfast is complementary. The staff is outstanding and Chelsea at the front desk epitomizes the graciousness of Southern hospitality. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jay r
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 9, 2012

beautiful

A quaint 28 room hotel with a great view of the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Jan 2, 2010

Best in Memphis

This hotel sincerely exceeds expectations and is truly first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Room 306 has the best view and is a good value.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland, Fl.
Jul 14, 2011

Awesome experience ! We loved this place

My wife and I were on vacation and traveled to 7 cities. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at. The staff went above and beyond expectations to make everybody happy. The free breakfast is amazing. We look foward to returning to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southern belle 2
south Georgia
Jan 14, 2014

wonderful romantic getaway

The room, the staff, the food were all excellent. We enjoyed everything. The location, right on the Mississippi river, is convenient to Beale Street and all of downtown. Ours was definitely a "5-star" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LaGrange Park, IL
Jan 3, 2010

Weekend Getaway

Our [...] reservation was never received by the hotel. Without question, the hotel found us a new room, upgraded us to the only available room left and provided us with the best customer service I have received!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You will need to call a cab if you plan on going to Beale Street. Not very many are in the area.

Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Feb 20, 2011

fantastic place to stay all down to the

great place to stay must mention [...] service was unbeatable made you feel welcome the gm should be proud.it is a bit far out but just use blues tours they great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland, Fl.
Jul 14, 2011

Awesome experience ! We loved this place

My wife and I were on vacation and traveled to 7 cities. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at. The staff went above and beyond expectations to make everybody happy. The free breakfast is amazing. We look foward to returning to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top