$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

River Inn of Harbor Town

5 stars
50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
55 reviews
A beautiful place to stay

We were more than pleased. Hotel is boutique, and staff attentive. Location is perfect. Our room... See full review

  • Gulfstream jets
  • Jul 13, 2014
A perfect evening in Memphis

Located on the prestigious Harbor Town development, the River Inn is an oasis of civility in a the... See full review

  • Cat Mama 53
  • Jun 6, 2014
Award-winning inn delivers Southern hospitality

River Inn, with its bold, welcoming façade and tasteful furnishings, offers a unique and charming escape in one of the most delightful areas of Memphis. The award-winning, upscale hotel offers amenities to suit business travelers and pleasure tourists alike, including top-flight restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere, fitness facility, and access to local golf courses.

Highlights
  • AAA 4 Diamond/5 Star Alliance hotel
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Excellent in-house restaurants
  • The River Inn Culinary School
Rooms

River Inn's 28 masterfully decorated rooms and suites enhance the sense of escape. Most offer stunning views of the Mississippi River. Complimentary items include gourmet breakfast at Currents restaurant, port wine and chocolate truffles at turn-down, luxury bathroom amenities, daily national newspaper, high-speed wireless Internet access, local phone calls, and use of the fitness room.

Features

Guests appreciate River Inn's architecture, accented by gas-lit lanterns, decorative wrought iron, and blooming window boxes. The traditional lobby features a sparkling crystal chandelier, a wood-burning fireplace set off by an 1850s-era mantel, and wood flooring from an old textile mill, along with Oriental rugs, original oil paintings, and fresh flowers.

 

Guests enjoy a glass of wine or champagne at check-in. Currents restaurant offers a fine dining menu, while Tug's Grill serves more casual fare. The inn's culinary school offers guests a glimpse behind the scenes.

 

Sightseers find several attractions with a three-mile radius of the hotel, including entertainment on Beale Street, as well as FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and Peabody Place. Nearby, too, is the National Civil Rights Museum, Mud Island River Park, Cook Convention Center, Memphis Zoo, and Graceland.

 

Guests enjoy the views of the Mississippi River from the inn's terrace rooftop, or from the privacy of each guestroom. Guests opting to stay in relax with a book and glass of port served in the library-style seating areas situated on each floor.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Elivs Presley's home, Graceland (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Casinos of Tunica, Mississippi (31.6 mi/50.9 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms include the Belle Memphis conference room and two function rooms, with AV equipment
  • Open rooftop terrace accommodates up to 65
  • High-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

35.1611 -90.0548
Area served
Memphis
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport (MEM), 20 minutes by car.
Area description
Located in Harbor Town on Mud Island - 2 miles from the heart of downtown Memphis (Beale Street). The Hotel is facing the Mississippi River and has in front of it the Greenbelt Park along the Mississippi River, an ideal place for jogging, walking, or just to relax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Inn of Harbor Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

River Inn of Harbor Town Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed or 1 king bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
STANDARD - ROOM
Luxury accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.
DELUXE ROOM - RIVERVIEW
Luxury River View accommodations furnished with one queen bed and contain comfortable, traditional, and historic decor, along with sweeping river views. The Deluxe Room offers more spacious accommodations then the Standard Rooms. Each floor features a small library and the rooms and suites have river view and a window that opens to enjoy the view and window box in front. All rooms enjoy luxury amenities with Frette Fine Linens, bathrobes, slippers, 32-inch flat TV, DVD players, and the most comfortable four poster Beds. Your stay includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast in the fine dining restaurant, Currents, as well as high-speed wireless Internet service, a fitness room, valet parking, 24-hour concierge service, and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Beale Street: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 5.2 mi

Dining

The Little Bar
A cozy bar located adajent to the lobby, offers an international selection of cocktails and wines.
Currents
Fine dining in casual elegance - Continental/French Cuisine
Tug's
Casual grill and bar that offers comfort food, grilled items, sandwiches, salads and specials.
The Roof Top Terrace
Offers bar food and drinks during spring, summer and fall seasons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Worn out from work
Arkansas
Nov 5, 2012

wonderful

I will return and tha best advertistment ever. The front desk staff is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
peterborough uk
Sep 20, 2014

2 night stopover

Very welcoming, lovely room and good food. Free parking. Walks along the Missisippi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

BB Kings on Beale Street. Great food, fantastic music and brilliant atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Dad Bear
Business
St. Louis
Jul 18, 2014

Nice location. Small rooms.

Cute hotel. Excellent breakfast included. Clean and modern. Very small rooms. Tiny for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gulfstream jets
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Jul 13, 2014

A beautiful place to stay

We were more than pleased. Hotel is boutique, and staff attentive. Location is perfect. Our room faced the park and Mississippi River . We had friends over and sat on the terrace for drinks and appetizers. All loved the view and experience. We had lunch at Tubs cafe and breakfast at Paulette's. Hotel has a feel of old elegance as soon as you entered and it stayed with you. Delightful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Music history and Beale Street is 5 minutes away and a fun place to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cat Mama 53
Business
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Jun 6, 2014

A perfect evening in Memphis

Located on the prestigious Harbor Town development, the River Inn is an oasis of civility in a the less-than-genteel environment that is Memphis's Central Business District. Perfect location, set apart yet with good proximity to the downtown; convenient access to highways I 55 and I 40, facilitating our travels to a business meeting in West Memphis. Warm greeting by front desk staff, respectful service from turn-down staff. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite with spectacular river view. Comfy queen bed, wonderful large oval tub for a soaking bath, and ample room to set up laptop to work. Highly recommend the bar at Paulette's restaurant, and enjoyed a good--though not great--dinner there as well. Breakfast at Paulette's included in room rate was a great bonus-- a proper restaurant breakfast with fresh local ingredients. Croissants, muffins and pop-overs fresh baked and excellent. With a flute of champagne on arrival and a ruby port. at bedtime offered, what's not to like? We look forward to returning for a pleasure trip, when we can take ample advantage of the lovely river front park just beyond the hotel's doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Traveler Dad
Business
Midwest
Apr 29, 2014

Dissapointing getaway

This was supposed to be a relaxing getaway. As long as I was not in the room the trip was fine. The minute I got back to the room, my temper flared at the poor situation. The room is the size of a shoebox. No comfortable chairs to sit on at all. You can not see the TV unless you are sitting on the bed. On arrival the TV did not work. Comcast error. After site seeing all day I like to come back to the room and relax on the sofa with the TV on. Problem: No sofa, no working TV. The front desk said they would send a guy up. 45 minutes later, no guy. I called again an said we were going out to eat. they said they would have it fixed when we got back. When we get back the front desk said it was fixed. No it wasn't. Nobody looked at it at all. Did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to fit and close. The Internet connection is SLOW. On the last day I had to take a cold shower. I could not get any hot water. No soda machine. I found an ice machine, but no soda. What good is ice with nothing to drink? Also no coffee or tea in the room. They have a coffee thermos they fill in the morning that sits in a commons area on the floor. Only creamer is real and unflavored. Not good if you are lactose intolerant. They should be ashamed of the poor product and service for the rates they charge. I travel a lot for work and have paid much less and had a much better stay. I've never gotten so little for my money. I can not recommend this place to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Miss Polly's Soul Food Cafe on Beale Street. Waffles and Chicken!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Traveler Dad
Business
Midwest
Apr 22, 2014

Was supposed to be a relaxing getaway

On arrival the TV did not work. It had a Comcast error that took 2 days to resolve. when I reported the problem to the front desk, they said they would be right up. 45 minutes later we were still waiting and we wanted to go out to eat. They said they would fix it while we were out. When we got back the front desk said it was fixed. It was not, and did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to close. On the final day I could not get hot water, had to take a cold shower. No comfortable chairs to sit on. All wood chairs. The room was so small that you could not see the TV from the chairs. The only way to relax after a long day of sight seeing was to sit on the bed. No coffee or Tea in the rooms. You have to go to the common area on your floor where they put a coffee pot in the morning. No pop machine anywhere that I could find, and no convenience stores nearby to go to. They have a nice machine, but what food is that if you can't get any drinks? I travel a lot and have never paid so much to get so little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fake Blond
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 19, 2014

Disappointing Anniversary Stay

My husband & I went to this hotel to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary. I was excited, especially given the great reviews. Disappointed to find this hotel TOO ORDINARY in many ways! First, our room, though pretty, was the size of shoebox; I could hardly turn around without hitting my husband. Maybe fine for an anniversary (?!) but for such an expensive hotel, I expected more. There was none of those extras, like coffee & tea or cookies in the lobby. They did offer us wine when we checked in, and then a small vat of wine in our room. We are not drinkers, and it would have been nice to have an alternative. Secondly, the hotel has a bar on the top floor, and imagine our disappointment when we heard loud laughing, screeching tables & chairs, etc right above our room. My husband, who is very tolerant, finally had enough, and we complained. They apologized (but didn't act at all surprised, so they have probably heard it before). They did move us to a much larger and quiet suite. But I had to pack up everything I brought, get dressed, and walk out into the cold weather to move, so that was a bit inconvenient. Thirdly, we had gone out to dinner elsewhere, and come back later wanting dessert. We went to the onsite restaurant, Paulette's, and asked to be seated for dessert. Even though the restaurant was half empty (and I made it clear I wished to sit in the dining room), the staff insisted we had to sit in the bar for "just dessert"! Insulting. The breakfast at Paulette's was good the next morning, and it is very picturesque, but all in all very disappointing. Next morning when we checked out, the same girl who checked us in asked how it was. I said it was just "ok" and she said a cheery "good!"and went on with her life. I don't feel this hotel did a single thing to make us feel special on a day that was significant for us, and I will not go back. It is way overrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy 25 years
Business
California
Jan 17, 2014

Loved it!

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a few days in Memphis. The hotel was everything we expected and more. It was beautiful; we had an amazing view of the river! Breakfast was first rate -- far more than we expected and the service was excellent. Still missing that! Parking was easy; we were greeted with complimentary wine on check-in; appreciated free wi-fi. We have no complaints. We would absolutely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Central Barbecue. Great food, very inexpensive. Not far from the Peabody.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southern belle 2
Business
south Georgia
Jan 14, 2014

wonderful romantic getaway

The room, the staff, the food were all excellent. We enjoyed everything. The location, right on the Mississippi river, is convenient to Beale Street and all of downtown. Ours was definitely a "5-star" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoeladymg
Business
New Jersey
May 29, 2013

Great Hotel

The River Inn of Harbor Town is a fantastic place to stay. Service is superb, breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is just outside of downtown Memphis. So, you will need to walk to the trolley or take a cab to downtown. To me, it was worth it. The hotel is right on the river. We took morning walks along the river. Both restaurants are good - Paulette's and Tug's. If you want to stay where all the 'action' is, this is not the hotel for you. If you like more quiet and comfort, this is the place to stay. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

On Beale Street, just above BB Kings, is a white-table cloth restaurant called Itta Bena. Fabulous!!! It's a little pricey compared to other restaurants on Beale, but it is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top