River Inn of Harbor Town ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$199
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016
4.5 /5
Overall score
92%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Room - River View
  • Size: 355 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Room - River View
  • Size: 398 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Room - River View
  • Size: 279 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

River Inn, with its bold, welcoming façade and tasteful furnishings, offers a unique and charming escape in one of the most delightful areas of Memphis. The award-winning, upscale hotel offers amenities to suit business travelers and pleasure tourists alike, including top-flight restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere, fitness facility, and access to local golf courses.

Rooms

River Inn's 28 masterfully decorated rooms and suites enhance the sense of escape. Most offer stunning views of the Mississippi River. Complimentary items include gourmet breakfast at Currents restaurant, port wine and chocolate truffles at turn-down, luxury bathroom amenities, daily national newspaper, high-speed wireless Internet access, local phone calls, and use of the fitness room.

Property features

Guests appreciate River Inn's architecture, accented by gas-lit lanterns, decorative wrought iron, and blooming window boxes. The traditional lobby features a sparkling crystal chandelier, a wood-burning fireplace set off by an 1850s-era mantel, and wood flooring from an old textile mill, along with Oriental rugs, original oil paintings, and fresh flowers.

 

Guests enjoy a glass of wine or champagne at check-in. Currents restaurant offers a fine dining menu, while Tug's Grill serves more casual fare. The inn's culinary school offers guests a glimpse behind the scenes.

 

Sightseers find several attractions with a three-mile radius of the hotel, including entertainment on Beale Street, as well as FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and Peabody Place. Nearby, too, is the National Civil Rights Museum, Mud Island River Park, Cook Convention Center, Memphis Zoo, and Graceland.

 

Guests enjoy the views of the Mississippi River from the inn's terrace rooftop, or from the privacy of each guestroom. Guests opting to stay in relax with a book and glass of port served in the library-style seating areas situated on each floor.

Highlights

  • AAA 4 Diamond/5 Star Alliance hotel
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Excellent in-house restaurants
  • The River Inn Culinary School

Nearby attractions

  • Elivs Presley's home, Graceland (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Casinos of Tunica, Mississippi (31.6 mi/50.9 km)

Business

  • Three meeting rooms include the Belle Memphis conference room and two function rooms, with AV equipment
  • Open rooftop terrace accommodates up to 65
  • High-speed Internet access

Transportation

  • Memphis International Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)

Dining

The Little Bar
A cozy bar located adajent to the lobby, offers an international selection of cocktails and wines.
Currents
Fine dining in casual elegance - Continental/French Cuisine
Tug's
Casual grill and bar that offers comfort food, grilled items, sandwiches, salads and specials.
The Roof Top Terrace
Offers bar food and drinks during spring, summer and fall seasons.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.0 / 5
$124

Peabody Memphis

★★★★★
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$204
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$169

Madison Hotel

★★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$171
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$94

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Reviews

4.5 /5 Overall score

92% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.8/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.7/5
  • Comfort: 4.6/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 4.3/5

Wedding night

Would recommend Sun, Jun 21, 2015
Enjoyed the beautiful hotel, open restaurant and view!!!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

4 Night Break Visiting Family

Would recommend Wed, Nov 26, 2014
Our experience of this Hotel was a very positive one. The location of the Hotel was perfect, less than a mile away from a nearby Hospital we were visiting. The room was very clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast included was fantastic with plenty of choice. If we ever visit Memphis again, I would certainly book this Hotel.

| Southampton UK Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

2 night stopover

Would recommend Sat, Sep 20, 2014
Very welcoming, lovely room and good food. Free parking. Walks along the Missisippi

Entertainment hint

BB Kings on Beale Street. Great food, fantastic music and brilliant atmosphere.

| peterborough uk Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Nice location. Small rooms.

Would recommend Fri, Jul 18, 2014
Cute hotel. Excellent breakfast included. Clean and modern. Very small rooms. Tiny for the price.

| St. Louis Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

A beautiful place to stay

Would recommend Sun, Jul 13, 2014
We were more than pleased. Hotel is boutique, and staff attentive. Location is perfect. Our room faced the park and Mississippi River . We had friends over and sat on the terrace for drinks and appetizers. All loved the view and experience. We had lunch at Tubs cafe and breakfast at Paulette's. Hotel has a feel of old elegance as soon as you entered and it stayed with you. Delightful

Attractions

Music history and Beale Street is 5 minutes away and a fun place to see.

| Pittsburgh, Pa Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

A perfect evening in Memphis

Would recommend Fri, Jun 6, 2014
Located on the prestigious Harbor Town development, the River Inn is an oasis of civility in a the less-than-genteel environment that is Memphis's Central Business District. Perfect location, set apart yet with good proximity to the downtown; convenient access to highways I 55 and I 40, facilitating our travels to a business meeting in West Memphis. Warm greeting by front desk staff, respectful service from turn-down staff. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite with spectacular river view. Comfy queen bed, wonderful large oval tub for a soaking bath, and ample room to set up laptop to work. Highly recommend the bar at Paulette's restaurant, and enjoyed a good--though not great--dinner there as well. Breakfast at Paulette's included in room rate was a great bonus-- a proper restaurant breakfast with fresh local ingredients. Croissants, muffins and pop-overs fresh baked and excellent. With a flute of champagne on arrival and a ruby port. at bedtime offered, what's not to like? We look forward to returning for a pleasure trip, when we can take ample advantage of the lovely river front park just beyond the hotel's doors.

| Fayetteville, Arkansas Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Dissapointing getaway

Would not recommend Tue, Apr 29, 2014
This was supposed to be a relaxing getaway. As long as I was not in the room the trip was fine. The minute I got back to the room, my temper flared at the poor situation. The room is the size of a shoebox. No comfortable chairs to sit on at all. You can not see the TV unless you are sitting on the bed. On arrival the TV did not work. Comcast error. After site seeing all day I like to come back to the room and relax on the sofa with the TV on. Problem: No sofa, no working TV. The front desk said they would send a guy up. 45 minutes later, no guy. I called again an said we were going out to eat. they said they would have it fixed when we got back. When we get back the front desk said it was fixed. No it wasn't. Nobody looked at it at all. Did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to fit and close. The Internet connection is SLOW. On the last day I had to take a cold shower. I could not get any hot water. No soda machine. I found an ice machine, but no soda. What good is ice with nothing to drink? Also no coffee or tea in the room. They have a coffee thermos they fill in the morning that sits in a commons area on the floor. Only creamer is real and unflavored. Not good if you are lactose intolerant. They should be ashamed of the poor product and service for the rates they charge. I travel a lot for work and have paid much less and had a much better stay. I've never gotten so little for my money. I can not recommend this place to anybody.

Dining

Miss Polly's Soul Food Cafe on Beale Street. Waffles and Chicken!!!!!!

| Midwest Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Was supposed to be a relaxing getaway

Would not recommend Tue, Apr 22, 2014
On arrival the TV did not work. It had a Comcast error that took 2 days to resolve. when I reported the problem to the front desk, they said they would be right up. 45 minutes later we were still waiting and we wanted to go out to eat. They said they would fix it while we were out. When we got back the front desk said it was fixed. It was not, and did not get fixed until the next day. The bathroom door would not close. You had to slam the door to get it to close. On the final day I could not get hot water, had to take a cold shower. No comfortable chairs to sit on. All wood chairs. The room was so small that you could not see the TV from the chairs. The only way to relax after a long day of sight seeing was to sit on the bed. No coffee or Tea in the rooms. You have to go to the common area on your floor where they put a coffee pot in the morning. No pop machine anywhere that I could find, and no convenience stores nearby to go to. They have a nice machine, but what food is that if you can't get any drinks? I travel a lot and have never paid so much to get so little.

| Midwest Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Disappointing Anniversary Stay

Would not recommend Sun, Jan 19, 2014
My husband & I went to this hotel to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary. I was excited, especially given the great reviews. Disappointed to find this hotel TOO ORDINARY in many ways! First, our room, though pretty, was the size of shoebox; I could hardly turn around without hitting my husband. Maybe fine for an anniversary (?!) but for such an expensive hotel, I expected more. There was none of those extras, like coffee & tea or cookies in the lobby. They did offer us wine when we checked in, and then a small vat of wine in our room. We are not drinkers, and it would have been nice to have an alternative. Secondly, the hotel has a bar on the top floor, and imagine our disappointment when we heard loud laughing, screeching tables & chairs, etc right above our room. My husband, who is very tolerant, finally had enough, and we complained. They apologized (but didn't act at all surprised, so they have probably heard it before). They did move us to a much larger and quiet suite. But I had to pack up everything I brought, get dressed, and walk out into the cold weather to move, so that was a bit inconvenient. Thirdly, we had gone out to dinner elsewhere, and come back later wanting dessert. We went to the onsite restaurant, Paulette's, and asked to be seated for dessert. Even though the restaurant was half empty (and I made it clear I wished to sit in the dining room), the staff insisted we had to sit in the bar for "just dessert"! Insulting. The breakfast at Paulette's was good the next morning, and it is very picturesque, but all in all very disappointing. Next morning when we checked out, the same girl who checked us in asked how it was. I said it was just "ok" and she said a cheery "good!"and went on with her life. I don't feel this hotel did a single thing to make us feel special on a day that was significant for us, and I will not go back. It is way overrated.

| Memphis, TN Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Loved it!

Would recommend Fri, Jan 17, 2014
We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a few days in Memphis. The hotel was everything we expected and more. It was beautiful; we had an amazing view of the river! Breakfast was first rate -- far more than we expected and the service was excellent. Still missing that! Parking was easy; we were greeted with complimentary wine on check-in; appreciated free wi-fi. We have no complaints. We would absolutely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Dining

Central Barbecue. Great food, very inexpensive. Not far from the Peabody.

| California Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

FedEx Forum 1.6 mi
Beale Street 1.7 mi
Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$199
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016