$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
110 reviews
Fun Splurge

Everything was wonderful. Staff was great. Ducks were fun. The cost was the only negative. See full review

  • Mistletoe58
  • Jan 24, 2014
Peabody Stay

Love this hotel, just not the price! Beautiful at Christmas! See full review

  • Jeremy F.
  • Dec 23, 2013
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1419 -90.052
Area served
Memphis, TN
Nearby airports
Memphis International Airport
Area description
Located near Beale Street, Civil Rights Museum, Graceland,FedEx Forum, Autozone Park, and Memphis Zoo, featuring two pandas from China.

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

3.3 / 5
6 out of 110
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
2.7

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
PeachBlossom
New Mexico
Nov 19, 2012

Peabody knows the trouble I've seen

Did not have room reserved had to downgrade. They lost my luggage from curb. Wifi did not work and desk/concierge did not know how to fix it. When I found bags, took 30 minutes to get help with luggage trolley. What the heck did I pay for? Any other hotel would have had to be better. but it is pretty and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
Over paid Under stayed
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Small but cute....I guess!

I stayed at the Peabody in June 2012...my room was very small and my bed was not a king size bed....I paid about 250 a night for this hotel and my bathroom was so small I ran into the toliet after washing my hands (I forgot that the toliet was so close in the middle of the night). The hotel was packed so you had to wait a while for the elevator. I would for sure check into a cheaper hotel if your not going to be in your room all that much! and BTW room service prices were 5 star prices for 3 star food...I figured you spend $30 bucks the food would be great, I was wrong!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
BamBam001
Paducah, Kentucky
Jun 12, 2012

Peabody Hotel in Memphis

Upgraded to the Peabody Club Level at check in. Definitely will not do that again. For the price of this hotel, I was disappointed. The room was very dated. The service at the front desk & the conceige was good. Not impressed by this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue City Cafe for excellent ribs.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
Bluerangecowboy
London, UK
Mar 29, 2012

Good, but not as good as I had hoped.

Great location, however reception staff were somewhat snobby in their attitude perhaps retaining their 'Southern charm'? The room was adequate, but quite floral. Bed comfort was mediocre. A 'W' this is not. However, the bar is impressive. The worst aspect is the parking which is a rip-off for a city like this and the self-parking is a good 5 minutes walk via two elevators and several lobbies. Think Vegas style self parking.... Next time if i had to stay here I would just pay them the premium for them to park it to save me the 10 minutes it takes to get to the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Jan 27, 2011

Luxurious Southern hospitality

Corner suite with great downtown views, luxurious bedding .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Birmingham, Al
Dec 2, 2010

Peabody

This was an excellent trip overall. The atmosphere in the lobby is great with the lobby bar and music. The duck march was also great. I was in town for the Lakers-Grizzlies game and it was great. I really liked that downtown area overall. I did miss In-Room Coffee and the rooms were a bit small. I would highly rate staff at the Peabody, very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I took my own car, but was not familiar with Memphis and found the interstate system confusing. Have a GPS and study your route closely.

Back to menu Return to top