$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
117 reviews
The best time I've ever had!

I wish room had had a fridge and microwave just to save some of the glorious food from restaurants... See full review

  • Hockeyluv71
  • Oct 20, 2014
Perfect vacation destination

Everybody that works at The Peabody are friendly, professional, helpful, and efficient. We loved... See full review

  • Rinowife
  • Sep 24, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 117
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiaD
Business
Hinesville, GA
Sep 16, 2014

My Stay At the Peabody

This was my first time ever staying at the Peabody. My stay was very enjoyable and I will be staying there again. It was worth the price and the room was very cozy. I even enjoyed seeing the ducks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrocha
Business
Portland Oregon
Jun 28, 2014

Girlfriends vacation

It was a great hotel and the duck march added entertainment. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendezvous Ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friends that Ride
Business
Euless, TX
Jun 9, 2014

Lovely stay!

Only spent one night, but our room was fabulous! We stayed on a Thursday, and they had a rooftop party with a band....SO fun! We got to see the ducks come down the elevator to their beautiful fountain at 11:00 am on Friday, before we checked out! An awesome experience...a lovely stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street, down a short ally is BBQ at Rendezvous; just around the corner, two streets over, is Beale Street, with Memphis City Blues for BBQ, and tons of other restaurants, drinking establishments, and street entertainment. The perfect location!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LilyH
Business
MS
Feb 17, 2014

Not Satisfactory

The hotel was nice and historic, but the only 4 elevators made getting to and from your room a hassle. At check out time we waited 20 minutes for an elevator with room before we had to lug our heavy luggage down seven flights of stairs in order to not miss check out time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE Texas
Nov 14, 2010

A Touch of Class

The Peabody is a very nice hotel. excellent location in downtown Memphis. You can walk to many area attraction including Beale Street, Charles Vergos Rendezvous, Etc. I feel that the Peabody is a must for anybody at least one time. Don't expect to get out of there cheap though. the credit card on file will serve as a reminder. parking is extra, incidental expenses, are as well. buyer beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check out Beale Street while staying at the Peabody. Also highly recommend Charles Vergos Rendezvous across the street in the alley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Nov 13, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful. A large fountain was in the middle of the lobby with live ducks swimming in it. At 5pm, they do the "duck walk", where a duckmaster leads the ducks to their room. It was a sight to see. People come from all other hotels to see this. Our room wasn't large, but it was comfortable, beautiful and very clean. Room service was pricy, but we expected it at 3am! If I ever make it back to Memphis, this is where I'll stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 26, 2010

Simply grand

The Peabody is located right in the best spot for sightseers. It is just a few blocks from Beale Street and the Main Street trolley. Everyone at the hotel was extrememly helpful and full of southern hospitality. They went out of their way to be helpful, from providing us with umbrellas,customizing foods, picking us up when we got lost and always with a friendly face and a joke to make us laugh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not have to go to a fancy establishment to have great food. Any of the restaurants on Beale are fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Joseph, MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel for enjoying Beale St

Enjoyed the daily duck march,even without children with us! The lobby is great for people watching. The bathroom was very small, and we anticipated coffee in the room and discovered that we could request a coffee maker for no charge in the room and not have to order a twenty dollar pot from room service. Just another way to make a dollar, I guess. Much like the daily 'hotel service charge $9.95' that is added to your checkout and you wonder specifically what it is actually for? The location is great for walking to Beale St for the music.. loved Barbara Blue at Silky O'Sullivans! But what is going on with the Peabody Center/Mall? It's almost totally deserted, the majority of stores have closed, although Encore Restaurant MUST be tried..it's across the valet drive from the Peabody entrance.. great food that is NOT ribs and not covered in bbq sauce, prepared by Chef [...]. Wish we had discovered it sooner. All in all, it was a fun long weekend trip since I met with friends I hadn't seen in years, enjoyed the music and the food, did a lot of people watching, and came home tired. The Peabody is a great oasis, enjoyed the plushness of the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful, and of course, the ducks were always a giggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Sep 9, 2009

Nice but not as good as it could've been

The hotel was nice but overpriced. We were never able to get the wifi working even after spending hours on hold with tech support. The duck theme was adorable without being overdone. Beds were comfortable with tons of pillows. Unfortunately, after the first night, both of us thought we'd been attacked by mosquitoes the previous night. The next morning we broke out with more bites even after we'd been careful to cover up when we'd been outdoors. It became clear that there were bedbugs. It seemed like a fresh infestation because it wasn't too terrible compared to others I've found online. The staff moved us immediately and created a report. They seemed to move into action very quickly. Overall, that incident was not as bad as it could've been. We had room service once and breakfast at the cafe once and the food was good but not great. The biggest draw of staying at this hotel is the great central Memphis location, the history, and the ducks. You are only about a block from Beale Street. (Eat at the Crazy Canuck's across the street too). The ducks were a huge draw even on weekdays. The lobby gets too crowded to really see the entrance or exit but they're in the fountain for several hours a day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel but advise future travelers to not expect reliable internet service, and to pay attention to your bug bites. It seems that bedbugs are increasingly unavoidable but this hotel deals with the situation swiftly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to Beale Street. We loved the gumbo at the King Cafe and the live music outdoors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wedybird
Business
boston
Jun 8, 2009

almost perfect

on thursday nights in the summer there's a great rooftop party!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top