$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
View map of 149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
135 reviews
Great historic hotel

Great location and historic property. I really nice way to see Memphis See full review

  • albert c.
  • Apr 27, 2015
The Only Hotel To Stay At When Staying In Memphis

The hotel has everything you need and more. It is centrally located to get to all the downtown... See full review

  • Michelle From Brighton
  • Mar 18, 2015
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 135
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lance A.
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Music fest

The location is perfect for the Beale street Memphis in May Music Festival. We love the ducks!! The lobby is beautiful and sitting at the bar you are taken back in in time! A must for a stay in Memphis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natasha L.
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

Good experience

My sister-in-law and I took our 2 sons on a trip to Memphis to see a play at the Orpheum Theatre, and we stayed at the Peabody Hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much. The location was perfect as we were able to walk to the theatre and to Beale street for some excitement. The price of the hotel was a little high for us, but we wanted to splurge a little on this trip. The beds were smaller than expected but comfortable. We ordered room service at midnight and didn't receive it until almost 1:30 a.m. The staff was all professional and courteous but not very warm and inviting. The hotel is beautiful and has a variety of restaurants and bars, which we didn't have time to enjoy, but would love to in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James W.
Business
Washington
Feb 9, 2015

Great location

My son and I were only in Memphis for 2 days, and the Peabody was great -- great location, great rooms, friendly staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Memphis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beale Street & the Rock n' Soul museum - Music fans should not miss these no matter what!

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JYJFamily
Business
Atlanta
Dec 1, 2014

One night in Memphis

My family (2 adults + 3 tweens/teens) shared a Deluxe Room on a Saturday night. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed spending time in the lobby, even though there was a loud band on the mezzanine floor. Over all a very nice hotel but we didn't have time to really take advantage of the amenities. Don't miss the duck march to the fountain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juju6
Business
Mequon, WI
Oct 21, 2014

Peabody Hotel

Our stay at the Peabody was fantastic from beginning to end. It started with an upgrade in order to put us in a king size room as opposed to two beds. The hotel and our room were lovely. But the best part is the staff. Concierges Joanna and Linda (aka Gigi mama) were wonderful and Patricia from housekeeping was so caring and wanted to make everything perfect, which she did. And of course seeing the ducks is very fun. All in all, it was a GREAT experience. Thank you Peabody Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

McEwan and Flight were two wonderful restaurants. Rendezvous is great barbecue. Stax Museum, graceland and Civil Rights Museum were all very educational and well done. Beale street is great for music.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DamianS
Business
Nashville, TN
Jan 11, 2014

One night family stay

It is a nice hotel, beautiful ornaments, and nice pieces of art. It is a part of Memphis history. However, I think it is the past. It shows tremendous wear and tear. Including: carpets in the rooms and hallways. We were stunned seeing a big cockroach walking in the middle of the bathroom. When I pointed it out to the staff I was reassured that there is a police for the cleaning and spraying the rooms. Nobody from management bothered talking to us. Anyway, we still like the place but not worth the money spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeremy F.
Business
Memphis TN
Dec 23, 2013

Peabody Stay

Love this hotel, just not the price! Beautiful at Christmas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Girls Weekend
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 10, 2012

Girls Weekend

Hotel is was beautiful! Weather was extremely hot and it was nice that we did not need to leave the hotel, nice shops, bar, restaurant available in the a/c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WA01
Business
Texas
Jul 15, 2012

Must try

Perfect, clean and comfortable. Close to Beale street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovememphis
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Wonderful Historic Hotel

The Peabody is a great, older hotel, right in the heart of Memphis. We didn't even need to rent a car, as Beale St. is only a few blocks away. The Lorraine Motel/Civil Rights Museum is also in walking distance, or there's a trolly down Main St. The two non-walking trips we took to Graceland and Sun Studios were easily reached by a tour bus from the hotel and a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (they go to Graceland as well, although we loved our bus driver's extra Elvis knowledge so are glad we decided on that option to Graceland). The ducks of course are the main attraction here, although you don't have to stay here to see them, but the lobby bar is a great place to unwind, and the main restaurant is a great place for a quick breakfast on the way out. We didn't try spa services or the other restaurants, so I can't speak to those, but it's a great hotel. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but it's an older building, so that can't really be helped. There's wifi, helpful staff, and it's in walking distance to most attractions, so all in all was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (walking distance from the Peabody) that will take you to Sun Studios and Graceland, both really worthwhile tours. Also, have a look at the coupons in your Graceland program, there are offers for other attractions.

Back to menu Return to top