$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
117 reviews
The best time I've ever had!

I wish room had had a fridge and microwave just to save some of the glorious food from restaurants... See full review

  • Hockeyluv71
  • Oct 20, 2014
Perfect vacation destination

Everybody that works at The Peabody are friendly, professional, helpful, and efficient. We loved... See full review

  • Rinowife
  • Sep 24, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MusicLovers
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 3, 2011

Peabody overpriced

Hotel room was small, very over-priced, and the walls were paper thin. [...] Also, while there fire alarm went off and they evacuated the hotel. The ducks are cute, but not worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food on Beale St is excellent, so many good things to choose from. Heard a lot of people complain about the service at BB Kings, and it was slow at times. However, the food and music were great. Also, BBQ at Polly's was awesome. Gumbo at Rum Shakers (?) not soo good. Great lunch in Holiday Inn across from Peabody! Cuban Sandwich was very very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PeachBlossom
Business
New Mexico
Nov 19, 2012

Peabody knows the trouble I've seen

Did not have room reserved had to downgrade. They lost my luggage from curb. Wifi did not work and desk/concierge did not know how to fix it. When I found bags, took 30 minutes to get help with luggage trolley. What the heck did I pay for? Any other hotel would have had to be better. but it is pretty and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Cotter
Apr 24, 2011

never again

The service revived fell far short of the price charged. I have stayed at every hotel down town. For the money most measure up. This place is just over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue
Nov 29, 2008

Nothing to Quack About

I was disappointed with the level of service over the entire 5 days I stayed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of good food and fun withn walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2007

ok hotel

The Peabody was very comfortable but not really clean but restaurants very close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

beale st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tn
Oct 15, 2009

Peabody

Could have had better updated rooms for the price and noteriety of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savage Garden
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Historic Charm

The Peabody is such a grand hotel down to every detail. Our room was very small - I'm sure they have larger rooms - and the bathroom was extremely tiny. No where to put cosmetics or sundries. A large person wouldn't be able to turn around in there. No cofee maker in the room. We could hear everyone in the adjacent rooms doing everything a person does in a room. Lots of noise from people talking in the hallways as they came in very late throughout the night. We could hear doors open and closing so really didn't get a great night's sleep. There was a wedding while we stayed and the band sounded like it was outside of our room. They did stop at 11:00 pm but we had a hard time listening to TV. However, the location is the best. We walked to everything. And of course, the duck march is really cute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks and you're in Blues - Jazz heaven. Great music that starts early and fantastic food that goes well into the wee hours of the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluerangecowboy
Business
London, UK
Mar 29, 2012

Good, but not as good as I had hoped.

Great location, however reception staff were somewhat snobby in their attitude perhaps retaining their 'Southern charm'? The room was adequate, but quite floral. Bed comfort was mediocre. A 'W' this is not. However, the bar is impressive. The worst aspect is the parking which is a rip-off for a city like this and the self-parking is a good 5 minutes walk via two elevators and several lobbies. Think Vegas style self parking.... Next time if i had to stay here I would just pay them the premium for them to park it to save me the 10 minutes it takes to get to the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 unsatified customer
Business
springfield, il
Jul 2, 2012

5 Star?

the location gets 5 stars it is a few blocks away from beale street and in the heart of downtown where all the action is. I would have the say the worst costomer service that i've ever expreiences which i was very suprised by this considering it is a 5 star hotel. The room was small, our shower curtain had black mold on it and it took 3 calls to get it changed. The parking lot we paid to be in was full on our second night. This location takes care of VIP guest only, we had to wait 20 minutes for an elevator b/c 2 were being used for VIP only on the rootp. We notified the manager about our terrible service and problems we had faced during our stay he said sorry and told us to expect something in our room for our troubles. We didn't get anything and later our bill was compted one night for the parking garage being full. This is a beautiful location but i will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you plan to see the ducks come early as the lobby fills up fast. Find a location by the elevator or a seat at the bar for the best views

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Over paid Under stayed
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Small but cute....I guess!

I stayed at the Peabody in June 2012...my room was very small and my bed was not a king size bed....I paid about 250 a night for this hotel and my bathroom was so small I ran into the toliet after washing my hands (I forgot that the toliet was so close in the middle of the night). The hotel was packed so you had to wait a while for the elevator. I would for sure check into a cheaper hotel if your not going to be in your room all that much! and BTW room service prices were 5 star prices for 3 star food...I figured you spend $30 bucks the food would be great, I was wrong!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top