$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
View map of 149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Hotel Critic
Couples
Jackson, MS
Sep 14, 2009

Not what you pay for!

We wanted to experience the Peabody. Staff was wonderful, hotel beautiful & clean, plenty of shopping in and around the hotel within walking distance, Beale street less than a 5 min walk. HOWEVER, we were highly upset at the size of the room for the amount of money we paid. VERY small room & bathroom is just unbelievably small!! Bed was comfortable. Oh, you have to go early if you want to actually SEE the ducks. Everyone crowds the lobby. We did not get to see the ducks. Nice shops within the hotel and eating area. So, if you are rich, you will love if, if you are on a budget and the SIZE of the room matters to you as it does to us, stay at the Double Tree. We will never stay at the Peabody again for that price. After speaking to friends, they too had small rooms. So, I'm sure the suites are probably large but a regular room is not worth the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Fairfax, VA
Sep 9, 2009

Nice but not as good as it could've been

The hotel was nice but overpriced. We were never able to get the wifi working even after spending hours on hold with tech support. The duck theme was adorable without being overdone. Beds were comfortable with tons of pillows. Unfortunately, after the first night, both of us thought we'd been attacked by mosquitoes the previous night. The next morning we broke out with more bites even after we'd been careful to cover up when we'd been outdoors. It became clear that there were bedbugs. It seemed like a fresh infestation because it wasn't too terrible compared to others I've found online. The staff moved us immediately and created a report. They seemed to move into action very quickly. Overall, that incident was not as bad as it could've been. We had room service once and breakfast at the cafe once and the food was good but not great. The biggest draw of staying at this hotel is the great central Memphis location, the history, and the ducks. You are only about a block from Beale Street. (Eat at the Crazy Canuck's across the street too). The ducks were a huge draw even on weekdays. The lobby gets too crowded to really see the entrance or exit but they're in the fountain for several hours a day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel but advise future travelers to not expect reliable internet service, and to pay attention to your bug bites. It seems that bedbugs are increasingly unavoidable but this hotel deals with the situation swiftly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to Beale Street. We loved the gumbo at the King Cafe and the live music outdoors.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Decatur, AL
Sep 7, 2009

Son's 1st Anniversary

We purchased one night at the Peabody for our son and daughter-in-law's first anniversary. They returned home today and my son couldn't stop saying good things about their stay. He said everything was perfect! They ate dinner at Texas de Brazil (adjacent to the hotel) and enjoyed the night life on Beale Street. They had a wonderful time and will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My son and daughter-in-law had dinner at Texas de Brazil and said it was wonderful. A little pricey at $42.00 each but that was for all you can eat which included filet mignon and lamb.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Jackson, Mississippi
Sep 7, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

Beautiful downtown hotel, close to everything. An historic place with lots to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
alabama
Sep 7, 2009

hotel service fee

a bit cheesy, with the ducks and all. the concierge staff was very unhelpful and did not seem to know their town. the hotel charges automatically to all its clients a $9.95 hotel service fee, this was not advised by Orbitz, nor was there a way out. what did it cover? just the regular amenities of the hotel, things like the gym, pool, wifi, help desk...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Helena, AR
Sep 4, 2009

The Peabody in Memphis

For over $200.00 a night I expected the rooms to be more interesting or extravagant. Felt like a regular hotel room with a inflated price. The beds did have nice pillows, but I'll take a lesser pillow for half the price next time!!! The lobby and other resting areas were also quite loud, making relaxation somewhat difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Texan grill right next door. It's pricey but a good experience.

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Florida
Aug 8, 2009

Hotel and staff are excellent!

Hotel is within walking distance of many resturants and attractions including baseball and basketball stadiums, river activities and Beale Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylors, SC
Jul 30, 2009

A Role Model for Other Hotels

If you like old fashion luxury and manners, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Jun 28, 2009

peabody

We rented a car but it wasn't necessary. One could walk to many area attractions including the Civil Rights Museum and Beale Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 21, 2009

Grand Hotel - Great Stay

Check in was easy The duck march was awesome Got a good swim in at the pool Active lobby bar, amazing location, and great location (close to everything) Beware, they charge $9.95/night when you check in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

FedEx Forum and all the great bars are only a few blocks away

Back to menu Return to top