$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
View map of 149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, MS
Mar 14, 2010

Enjoyable, but Pricey

Good experience. Lots of walking from parking garage to hotel lobby, so I recommend the valet parking. Due to crowded lobby, elevators are slow. Small rooms. But everything was clean and restful. Great location, near many great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Texas De Brazil located adjacent to Peabody front door. Great food and restaurant experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Dec 28, 2009

Christmas

A beautiful hotel, especially during holidays. However, our room was not cleaned on Christmas. The hotel desk person was apologetic when I mentioned it. We have stayed here before and service is very good. There was an additional charge for morning paper, use of internet, athletic club and coffee (5:30-7:30) Many hotels do charge for internet service if requested, but other amenities are usually included in hotel charge. We did read the paper and get a cup of coffee...hardly worth a $9.95 daily charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Beale Street and Fed EX Forum and quite a few good restaurants. A 4 star restaurant in hotel. Ducks in the lobby/bar fountain always an attraction. Plus the lobby is beautiful. Hotel rooms spacious with comfortable chairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tn
Oct 15, 2009

Peabody

Could have had better updated rooms for the price and noteriety of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flagler Beach Bum
Business
Flagler Beach, FL
Oct 5, 2009

Most Charming Hotel in Memphis

We had never been to Memphis and wanted to do all the sites that Memphis is so famous for and the Peabody Hotel was just the perfect spot to get started with all of its history. Beale Street is within walking distance as is mostly everything else near the river. The concierge service was really very helpful with helping us plan our 3 day getaway...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to the lobby early to see the Peabody Duck March! It is really quite cute and enjoyed by all ages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Joseph, MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel for enjoying Beale St

Enjoyed the daily duck march,even without children with us! The lobby is great for people watching. The bathroom was very small, and we anticipated coffee in the room and discovered that we could request a coffee maker for no charge in the room and not have to order a twenty dollar pot from room service. Just another way to make a dollar, I guess. Much like the daily 'hotel service charge $9.95' that is added to your checkout and you wonder specifically what it is actually for? The location is great for walking to Beale St for the music.. loved Barbara Blue at Silky O'Sullivans! But what is going on with the Peabody Center/Mall? It's almost totally deserted, the majority of stores have closed, although Encore Restaurant MUST be tried..it's across the valet drive from the Peabody entrance.. great food that is NOT ribs and not covered in bbq sauce, prepared by Chef [...]. Wish we had discovered it sooner. All in all, it was a fun long weekend trip since I met with friends I hadn't seen in years, enjoyed the music and the food, did a lot of people watching, and came home tired. The Peabody is a great oasis, enjoyed the plushness of the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful, and of course, the ducks were always a giggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Sep 14, 2009

"In the heart of Memphis"

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The location of the hotel was great. My husband and I were able to walk to Beale Street and Rendevous for some wonderful Barbeque.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The ribs at Rendevous were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Hotel Critic
Business
Jackson, MS
Sep 14, 2009

Not what you pay for!

We wanted to experience the Peabody. Staff was wonderful, hotel beautiful & clean, plenty of shopping in and around the hotel within walking distance, Beale street less than a 5 min walk. HOWEVER, we were highly upset at the size of the room for the amount of money we paid. VERY small room & bathroom is just unbelievably small!! Bed was comfortable. Oh, you have to go early if you want to actually SEE the ducks. Everyone crowds the lobby. We did not get to see the ducks. Nice shops within the hotel and eating area. So, if you are rich, you will love if, if you are on a budget and the SIZE of the room matters to you as it does to us, stay at the Double Tree. We will never stay at the Peabody again for that price. After speaking to friends, they too had small rooms. So, I'm sure the suites are probably large but a regular room is not worth the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Laurie
Business
United Arab Emirates
Sep 12, 2009

The Peabody- the Grand Dame of Memphis

Lovely. The Main Reception floor is the way hotels use to be. Grand, Spacious, Elegant. Just waiting for you to sit down, have a drink and watch the people float by. The receptions for the "Ducks" at mid-morning and late afternoon are a bit overdone, but fun for the tourists. I especially liked the areas of the hotel which had information, photos and memoribilia about the history of the hotel.The health club was very nice, pool lovely (but a bit noisy with children splashing about and screaming)and spa well equipped. My manicure was not the best I've ever had, and a touch expensive, but it was adequate and the manicurist was friendly. The massage by [...] (? I think that was his name) was SUPERB. I've traveled extensively around the world, and that massage, only 30 minutes mind you, was the second best massage I've ever had in my life. The first was on a beach in Bali. I only wish he had been available for another 1 hour massage. He was very booked up, and I can see why.The Thursday roof party was a wonderful surprise. The drinks were not fabulous, but the beer was cold and the afternoon warm. The hotel had stunning views of downtown Memphis, and the Mississippi at sunset. Good music and lots of people. What a treat. The reception staff were all very friendly and professional.A block from the hotel was Beale street. Very enjoyable. I was sorry to see that many of the downtown businesses, shops and restaurants were closed/out of business, due to the recession.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away was Beale Street with lots of bars, restaurants and blues. About 4 blocks away is the civil rights museum at the Lorraine Motel. And, of course, a 20 minute ride away will take you to Graceland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Laurie
Business
United Arab Emirates
Sep 12, 2009

The Peabody- the Grand Dame of Memphis

Lovely. The Main Reception floor is the way hotels use to be. Grand, Spacious, Elegant. Just waiting for you to sit down, have a drink and watch the people float by. The receptions for the "Ducks" at mid-morning and late afternoon are a bit overdone, but fun for the tourists. I especially liked the areas of the hotel which had information, photos and memoribilia about the history of the hotel.The health club was very nice, pool lovely (but a bit noisy with children splashing about and screaming)and spa well equipped. My manicure was not the best I've ever had, and a touch expensive, but it was adequate and the manicurist was friendly. The massage by [...] (? I think that was his name) was SUPERB. I've traveled extensively around the world, and that massage, only 30 minutes mind you, was the second best massage I've ever had in my life. The first was on a beach in Bali. I only wish he had been available for another 1 hour massage. He was very booked up, and I can see why.The Thursday roof party was a wonderful surprise. The drinks were not fabulous, but the beer was cold and the afternoon warm. The hotel had stunning views of downtown Memphis, and the Mississippi at sunset. Good music and lots of people. What a treat. The reception staff were all very friendly and professional.A block from the hotel was Beale street. Very enjoyable. I was sorry to see that many of the downtown businesses, shops and restaurants were closed/out of business, due to the recession.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away was Beale Street with lots of bars, restaurants and blues. About 4 blocks away is the civil rights museum at the Lorraine Motel. And, of course, a 20 minute ride away will take you to Graceland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Sep 9, 2009

Nice but not as good as it could've been

The hotel was nice but overpriced. We were never able to get the wifi working even after spending hours on hold with tech support. The duck theme was adorable without being overdone. Beds were comfortable with tons of pillows. Unfortunately, after the first night, both of us thought we'd been attacked by mosquitoes the previous night. The next morning we broke out with more bites even after we'd been careful to cover up when we'd been outdoors. It became clear that there were bedbugs. It seemed like a fresh infestation because it wasn't too terrible compared to others I've found online. The staff moved us immediately and created a report. They seemed to move into action very quickly. Overall, that incident was not as bad as it could've been. We had room service once and breakfast at the cafe once and the food was good but not great. The biggest draw of staying at this hotel is the great central Memphis location, the history, and the ducks. You are only about a block from Beale Street. (Eat at the Crazy Canuck's across the street too). The ducks were a huge draw even on weekdays. The lobby gets too crowded to really see the entrance or exit but they're in the fountain for several hours a day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel but advise future travelers to not expect reliable internet service, and to pay attention to your bug bites. It seems that bedbugs are increasingly unavoidable but this hotel deals with the situation swiftly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to Beale Street. We loved the gumbo at the King Cafe and the live music outdoors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top