$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 26, 2015

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
View map of 149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
119 reviews
Great location

My son and I were only in Memphis for 2 days, and the Peabody was great -- great location, great... See full review

  • James W.
  • Feb 9, 2015
The best time I've ever had!

I wish room had had a fridge and microwave just to save some of the glorious food from restaurants... See full review

  • Hockeyluv71
  • Oct 20, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tn
Oct 15, 2009

Peabody

Could have had better updated rooms for the price and noteriety of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flagler Beach Bum
Business
Flagler Beach, FL
Oct 5, 2009

Most Charming Hotel in Memphis

We had never been to Memphis and wanted to do all the sites that Memphis is so famous for and the Peabody Hotel was just the perfect spot to get started with all of its history. Beale Street is within walking distance as is mostly everything else near the river. The concierge service was really very helpful with helping us plan our 3 day getaway...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to the lobby early to see the Peabody Duck March! It is really quite cute and enjoyed by all ages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Joseph, MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel for enjoying Beale St

Enjoyed the daily duck march,even without children with us! The lobby is great for people watching. The bathroom was very small, and we anticipated coffee in the room and discovered that we could request a coffee maker for no charge in the room and not have to order a twenty dollar pot from room service. Just another way to make a dollar, I guess. Much like the daily 'hotel service charge $9.95' that is added to your checkout and you wonder specifically what it is actually for? The location is great for walking to Beale St for the music.. loved Barbara Blue at Silky O'Sullivans! But what is going on with the Peabody Center/Mall? It's almost totally deserted, the majority of stores have closed, although Encore Restaurant MUST be tried..it's across the valet drive from the Peabody entrance.. great food that is NOT ribs and not covered in bbq sauce, prepared by Chef [...]. Wish we had discovered it sooner. All in all, it was a fun long weekend trip since I met with friends I hadn't seen in years, enjoyed the music and the food, did a lot of people watching, and came home tired. The Peabody is a great oasis, enjoyed the plushness of the lobby, staff was friendly and helpful, and of course, the ducks were always a giggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Sep 14, 2009

"In the heart of Memphis"

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The location of the hotel was great. My husband and I were able to walk to Beale Street and Rendevous for some wonderful Barbeque.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The ribs at Rendevous were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Hotel Critic
Business
Jackson, MS
Sep 14, 2009

Not what you pay for!

We wanted to experience the Peabody. Staff was wonderful, hotel beautiful & clean, plenty of shopping in and around the hotel within walking distance, Beale street less than a 5 min walk. HOWEVER, we were highly upset at the size of the room for the amount of money we paid. VERY small room & bathroom is just unbelievably small!! Bed was comfortable. Oh, you have to go early if you want to actually SEE the ducks. Everyone crowds the lobby. We did not get to see the ducks. Nice shops within the hotel and eating area. So, if you are rich, you will love if, if you are on a budget and the SIZE of the room matters to you as it does to us, stay at the Double Tree. We will never stay at the Peabody again for that price. After speaking to friends, they too had small rooms. So, I'm sure the suites are probably large but a regular room is not worth the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Laurie
Business
United Arab Emirates
Sep 12, 2009

The Peabody- the Grand Dame of Memphis

Lovely. The Main Reception floor is the way hotels use to be. Grand, Spacious, Elegant. Just waiting for you to sit down, have a drink and watch the people float by. The receptions for the "Ducks" at mid-morning and late afternoon are a bit overdone, but fun for the tourists. I especially liked the areas of the hotel which had information, photos and memoribilia about the history of the hotel.The health club was very nice, pool lovely (but a bit noisy with children splashing about and screaming)and spa well equipped. My manicure was not the best I've ever had, and a touch expensive, but it was adequate and the manicurist was friendly. The massage by [...] (? I think that was his name) was SUPERB. I've traveled extensively around the world, and that massage, only 30 minutes mind you, was the second best massage I've ever had in my life. The first was on a beach in Bali. I only wish he had been available for another 1 hour massage. He was very booked up, and I can see why.The Thursday roof party was a wonderful surprise. The drinks were not fabulous, but the beer was cold and the afternoon warm. The hotel had stunning views of downtown Memphis, and the Mississippi at sunset. Good music and lots of people. What a treat. The reception staff were all very friendly and professional.A block from the hotel was Beale street. Very enjoyable. I was sorry to see that many of the downtown businesses, shops and restaurants were closed/out of business, due to the recession.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away was Beale Street with lots of bars, restaurants and blues. About 4 blocks away is the civil rights museum at the Lorraine Motel. And, of course, a 20 minute ride away will take you to Graceland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Laurie
Business
United Arab Emirates
Sep 12, 2009

The Peabody- the Grand Dame of Memphis

Lovely. The Main Reception floor is the way hotels use to be. Grand, Spacious, Elegant. Just waiting for you to sit down, have a drink and watch the people float by. The receptions for the "Ducks" at mid-morning and late afternoon are a bit overdone, but fun for the tourists. I especially liked the areas of the hotel which had information, photos and memoribilia about the history of the hotel.The health club was very nice, pool lovely (but a bit noisy with children splashing about and screaming)and spa well equipped. My manicure was not the best I've ever had, and a touch expensive, but it was adequate and the manicurist was friendly. The massage by [...] (? I think that was his name) was SUPERB. I've traveled extensively around the world, and that massage, only 30 minutes mind you, was the second best massage I've ever had in my life. The first was on a beach in Bali. I only wish he had been available for another 1 hour massage. He was very booked up, and I can see why.The Thursday roof party was a wonderful surprise. The drinks were not fabulous, but the beer was cold and the afternoon warm. The hotel had stunning views of downtown Memphis, and the Mississippi at sunset. Good music and lots of people. What a treat. The reception staff were all very friendly and professional.A block from the hotel was Beale street. Very enjoyable. I was sorry to see that many of the downtown businesses, shops and restaurants were closed/out of business, due to the recession.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away was Beale Street with lots of bars, restaurants and blues. About 4 blocks away is the civil rights museum at the Lorraine Motel. And, of course, a 20 minute ride away will take you to Graceland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Sep 9, 2009

Nice but not as good as it could've been

The hotel was nice but overpriced. We were never able to get the wifi working even after spending hours on hold with tech support. The duck theme was adorable without being overdone. Beds were comfortable with tons of pillows. Unfortunately, after the first night, both of us thought we'd been attacked by mosquitoes the previous night. The next morning we broke out with more bites even after we'd been careful to cover up when we'd been outdoors. It became clear that there were bedbugs. It seemed like a fresh infestation because it wasn't too terrible compared to others I've found online. The staff moved us immediately and created a report. They seemed to move into action very quickly. Overall, that incident was not as bad as it could've been. We had room service once and breakfast at the cafe once and the food was good but not great. The biggest draw of staying at this hotel is the great central Memphis location, the history, and the ducks. You are only about a block from Beale Street. (Eat at the Crazy Canuck's across the street too). The ducks were a huge draw even on weekdays. The lobby gets too crowded to really see the entrance or exit but they're in the fountain for several hours a day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel but advise future travelers to not expect reliable internet service, and to pay attention to your bug bites. It seems that bedbugs are increasingly unavoidable but this hotel deals with the situation swiftly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to Beale Street. We loved the gumbo at the King Cafe and the live music outdoors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur, AL
Sep 7, 2009

Son's 1st Anniversary

We purchased one night at the Peabody for our son and daughter-in-law's first anniversary. They returned home today and my son couldn't stop saying good things about their stay. He said everything was perfect! They ate dinner at Texas de Brazil (adjacent to the hotel) and enjoyed the night life on Beale Street. They had a wonderful time and will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My son and daughter-in-law had dinner at Texas de Brazil and said it was wonderful. A little pricey at $42.00 each but that was for all you can eat which included filet mignon and lamb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Sep 7, 2009

Fabulous Hotel

Beautiful downtown hotel, close to everything. An historic place with lots to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top