$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Peabody Memphis

5 stars
149 Union Ave., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
116 reviews
The best time I've ever had!

I wish room had had a fridge and microwave just to save some of the glorious food from restaurants... See full review

  • Hockeyluv71
  • Oct 20, 2014
Perfect vacation destination

Everybody that works at The Peabody are friendly, professional, helpful, and efficient. We loved... See full review

  • Rinowife
  • Sep 24, 2014
Grand hotel in the heart of Memphis

This world-renowned, AAA Four Diamond hotel combines unrivaled elegance and style with historic detail and timeless sense of grandeur. Southern hospitality and charm epitomize Peabody Memphis, from its impeccable room service to an in-house clothier for upscale apparel. The Forbes Four Star hotel, originally built in 1869 and re-established at its present location in 1925, is set right in the center of town.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel with outstanding service and restaurants
  • More than 11,000 square feet of exhibition space
  • Famous Peabody Duck March, since 1933
  • Lanksy's at The Peabody clothing store
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms ($50 fee)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 464 rooms and 15 suites -- seamlessly blend stylish décor and sumptuous furnishings. In-room dining is available 24 hours a day.

Features

Unrivaled service sets this acclaimed hotel apart. Guests can enjoy same-day dry cleaning, 24-hour licensed babysitting services, and nightly turn-down service.

 

There's more than one way to relax. Choose between two warm, inviting bars: the Lobby Bar enjoys the status as "the living room of Memphis," while the cozy Corner Bar is a bit more intimate. Live music is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

 

Outside the Peabody a vast assortment of attractions await guests, including FedEx Forum, Beal Street and the city's entertainment district, AutoZone Park, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, and Peabody Place Museum.

Dining

Gourmands will love the Peabody's restaurant choices. Four-star Chez Philippe features international and "Neuvo Southern" cuisine served in the hotel's signature dining room. Capricciio Grill, the hotel's casual Italian steakhouse, specializes in an array of pasta dishes. Breakfast and lunch options can be found at the Peabody Deli & Desserts, and afternoon tea is offered Wednesday through Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

Recreation

Gould's Day Spa & Salon provides a full complement of therapeutic treatments, from facials to massage and body treatments.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses
Nearby attractions
  • National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Elvis Presley's estate, Graceland (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • The Memphis Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
Business
  • 33 meeting spaces, including the Continental Ballroom and the Venetian Room
  • Tennessee Exhibit hall offers more than 11,000 square feet of space
  • Grand Ballroom can seat more than 1,200 guests banquet-style, and 2,100 theater-style
  • Smaller, more personal meeting rooms on the Mezzanine Level
  • Modern telecommunications technology, audiovisual, production, and business support services
  • FedEx office on premises

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peabody Memphis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Peabody Memphis Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms offer either one king or two double beds. Rooms are 19 feet by 15 feet and have deluxe accomodations. Some rooms offer a small conversation area. All rooms have an executive writing desk and chair with a 25 inch color television.
Superior Room
Mid size rooms offer either one king, one queen or two full size beds. Rooms are 16 feet by 13 feet with an exclusive writing desk and chair and a 25 inch color television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Dining

The Corner Bar
Peabody Corner Bar, a casual and cozy spot to meet friends after work or after a meeting. Offering a menu of Jack Daniel's-inspired upscale bar food and daily drink specials. A 24-bottle Cruvinet wine dispensing system allows for small tastes of wines from different regions.
Peabody Deli & Desserts
Peabody Deli & Desserts serves up morning coffee, continental breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, and desserts from The Peabody Pastry Shop. Peabody logo'd merchandise, including Peabody Duckmaster Celebriducks, is also available. Open daily from 6 a.m.
Capriccio Restaurant
Capriccio Grill, an Italian Steakhouse, specializes in pasta dishes from La Bella Italia and premium steaks from Creekstone Farms. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For reservations, call 901-529-419.
Chez Philippe
Chez Philippe, known for refined elegance, impeccable service, and a menu of classical French cuisine directed by Peabody Executive Chef Andreas Kisler, this is The Peabody's signature dining room. Serving dinner Wednesday - Saturday, 6 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. and Afternoon Tea Wednesday - Saturday 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. For reservations, call 901-529-418.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Peabody Memphis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Casino
Business
Vicksburg, MS
Jul 9, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Very Nice Hotel. Excellent location (walking distance to Autozone Park, Beale Street). Registration staff were both helpful and professional. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Flyer Saucer! Great selection of beers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 unsatified customer
Business
springfield, il
Jul 2, 2012

5 Star?

the location gets 5 stars it is a few blocks away from beale street and in the heart of downtown where all the action is. I would have the say the worst costomer service that i've ever expreiences which i was very suprised by this considering it is a 5 star hotel. The room was small, our shower curtain had black mold on it and it took 3 calls to get it changed. The parking lot we paid to be in was full on our second night. This location takes care of VIP guest only, we had to wait 20 minutes for an elevator b/c 2 were being used for VIP only on the rootp. We notified the manager about our terrible service and problems we had faced during our stay he said sorry and told us to expect something in our room for our troubles. We didn't get anything and later our bill was compted one night for the parking garage being full. This is a beautiful location but i will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you plan to see the ducks come early as the lobby fills up fast. Find a location by the elevator or a seat at the bar for the best views

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BamBam001
Business
Paducah, Kentucky
Jun 12, 2012

Peabody Hotel in Memphis

Upgraded to the Peabody Club Level at check in. Definitely will not do that again. For the price of this hotel, I was disappointed. The room was very dated. The service at the front desk & the conceige was good. Not impressed by this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue City Cafe for excellent ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TennesseePat
Business
Cookeville, Tennessee
Jun 11, 2012

Great Memphis weekend

It was a fantastic getaway weekend in Memphis, close to everything from clubs on Beale Street to the Broadway touring company of Mamma Mia! at the Orpheum. The Peabody is a terrific hotel. We enjoyed the comfort and class of the lobby to relax and have a drink and people (and duck) watch. And our room was spacious and comfortable. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Orpheum Theater nearby has a very active schedule of Broadway shows and cinema. Check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harold1
Business
Asheville, NC
May 16, 2012

Peabody

Nothing better in southern and Memphis hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluerangecowboy
Business
London, UK
Mar 29, 2012

Good, but not as good as I had hoped.

Great location, however reception staff were somewhat snobby in their attitude perhaps retaining their 'Southern charm'? The room was adequate, but quite floral. Bed comfort was mediocre. A 'W' this is not. However, the bar is impressive. The worst aspect is the parking which is a rip-off for a city like this and the self-parking is a good 5 minutes walk via two elevators and several lobbies. Think Vegas style self parking.... Next time if i had to stay here I would just pay them the premium for them to park it to save me the 10 minutes it takes to get to the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovememphis
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Wonderful Historic Hotel

The Peabody is a great, older hotel, right in the heart of Memphis. We didn't even need to rent a car, as Beale St. is only a few blocks away. The Lorraine Motel/Civil Rights Museum is also in walking distance, or there's a trolly down Main St. The two non-walking trips we took to Graceland and Sun Studios were easily reached by a tour bus from the hotel and a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (they go to Graceland as well, although we loved our bus driver's extra Elvis knowledge so are glad we decided on that option to Graceland). The ducks of course are the main attraction here, although you don't have to stay here to see them, but the lobby bar is a great place to unwind, and the main restaurant is a great place for a quick breakfast on the way out. We didn't try spa services or the other restaurants, so I can't speak to those, but it's a great hotel. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but it's an older building, so that can't really be helped. There's wifi, helpful staff, and it's in walking distance to most attractions, so all in all was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a free shuttle from the Rock and Soul Museum (walking distance from the Peabody) that will take you to Sun Studios and Graceland, both really worthwhile tours. Also, have a look at the coupons in your Graceland program, there are offers for other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G1979
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Always Great

The Peabody is by far the best place to stay in Memphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McEwens on Monroe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Jul 21, 2011

The Peabody Hotel in Memphis

The Peabody Hotel was wonderful. Every thing looks and feels so clean. The ducks were great to watch. It was a two year anniversary and the location was great for walking to Beale Street. Lots of great blues music and great food. Don't miss BB King's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peabody Memphis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MusicLovers
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 3, 2011

Peabody overpriced

Hotel room was small, very over-priced, and the walls were paper thin. [...] Also, while there fire alarm went off and they evacuated the hotel. The ducks are cute, but not worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food on Beale St is excellent, so many good things to choose from. Heard a lot of people complain about the service at BB Kings, and it was slow at times. However, the food and music were great. Also, BBQ at Polly's was awesome. Gumbo at Rum Shakers (?) not soo good. Great lunch in Holiday Inn across from Peabody! Cuban Sandwich was very very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top