$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

3 stars
1180 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
48 reviews
Extremely helpful staff

I came to memphis for an interview at one of the universities and this holiday Inn express proved... See full review

  • Student Interview Travele
  • Aug 15, 2014
Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when... See full review

  • Shelli Mae
  • Jul 10, 2014
Memphis hotel near Sun Studio and Beale Street, with free breakfast
The renovated Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is near downtown Memphis, Methodist University Hospital, Sun Studio and Beale Street. Enjoy state-of-the-art amenities such as free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool, a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and a business center, all served with a side order of Southern charm. Free hot breakfast is available daily and parking is free at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown.
Highlights

  • Start the day right with free hot daily breakfast
  • Get extra value with free in-room Wi-Fi, free parking, premium cable channels and triple-sheet bedding
  • Enjoy a convenient location near Sun Studio, Beale Street and Methodist University Hospital

Location
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is located near downtown Memphis, Beale Street, Sun Studio and the Memphis Zoo. Interstate 240 and Interstate 40 are within easy reach, and Methodist University Hospital is next door.
Rooms
Step into stately guest rooms, suites and executive club level rooms with wood furnishings and triple-sheeted bedding at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown. All rooms include free high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, a television with premium cable and in-room movies, a two-line phone with voice mail and free local calls, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker, air conditioning, an iron/ironing board and an easy chair. Selected rooms also include a sofa bed, a work desk with lamp and a free newspaper. Connecting and nonsmoking rooms are available. All guests receive free breakfast daily.
Features
Savor free hot breakfast at the hotel. For additional dining, try the nearby Tops Bar-B-Q, CK's Coffee Shop, Heavenly Hoagie or El Mezcal. Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown features a gleaming oversized outdoor swimming pool, plus a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment.
Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Attractions

  • Sun Studio (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Memphis Zoo (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • The Pink Palace (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Graceland (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Shelby Farms Park (13.9 mi/22.4 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center
  • Copying, faxing and printing services
  • High-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 48
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelli Mae
Business
416 East 14th
Jul 10, 2014

Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when they did clean it; it was not safe to swim in. You couldn't see the bottom of the pool. This was an inconvience for us because the pool is for the two children to play in and wear out. As an aquatic staff at the YMCA I felt the pool was not safe; which was a requirement when looking for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelli Mae
Business
416 East 14th
Jul 7, 2014

Family trip to memphis

It was a really nice clean hotel with friendly staff. The only complaint I had was that the pool was not clean and when it was clean the kids still couldn't swim in it because you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. As a lifeguard and swim instructor I knew the chemical balance was not right and safe so the two kids couldn't play in it. A pool is one necessity we like for our children and didn't feel safe to use. We address the issue with front desk but nothing happened before we left. We were there for three days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
me and the girls
Business
west haven ct.
May 1, 2013

wife and sister in law loved it

We had a great time the staff was very friendly and helpful enjoyed all of them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcarter
Business
Birmingham, Al
Mar 25, 2013

Family Getaway

The staff was nice and helpful. TV was not working when we got to the room. The front desk got the problem solved pretty quick. Overall not too bad.I would recommend this hotel if you are planning a short stay.The rooms would fit someone on a businesses trip better.Not enough room for a family unless you book multiple rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father of traveling teens
Business
Cape Town, South Africa
Jan 25, 2013

Family visit to Memphis

We are a family of 4 ( 2 kids), and our experience with this hotel has been a very positive one. Staff was very friendly and professional, we were minutes from downtown Memphis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USF Grad Girl
Business
Tampa, Fl
Nov 29, 2012

Not that special

The room did not seem clean upon check-in. The walls are thin and we heard a lot of other guests. The complimentary hot breakfast was a great plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asheville Boarding School
Business
Nassau, Bahamas
Oct 9, 2012

Excellent For My Needs

Our son is a student at Rhodes College and lives close to campus. This hotel is ideally located for this purpose AND is less than one minute off the I-240 coming in from the airport. Additionally, Union Ave has everything and what Union doesn't have, Poplar Ave has. Hotel is clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SmmrTrvlr
Business
Norman, OK
Jul 7, 2012

Perfect Location

This hotel was in a perfect spot for visiting all of the main attractions of Memphis. Very convenient access to the Memphis Zoo, Beale Street and the National Civil Rights Museum. The only negatives were that the pool was not as enjoyable as we had hoped as the water was cloudy. Just standing on the third step in the shallow end you could not see your feet! On the third day of our stay they deprogrammed our room key which left us locked out of not just our room but the building as a whole. This was a nuisance. The breakfast each morning was delicious and very convenient! I would stay at this location again when visiting Memphis in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvis.Presley2012
Business
Leicester, UK
Feb 20, 2012

Family getaway

The hotel was a lot better, cleaner than we were expecting. The staff were very very friendly and always ready to help with any problems or any questions we had. Always giving us the right advise for getting around safely. Found the hotel very clean, pleasent and friendly place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 7, 2011

Not bad

room was small, one of the beds had stained linens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top