$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

3 stars
View map of 1180 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
Extremely helpful staff

I came to memphis for an interview at one of the universities and this holiday Inn express proved... See full review

  • Student Interview Travele
  • Aug 15, 2014
Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when... See full review

  • Shelli Mae
  • Jul 10, 2014
The renovated Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is near downtown Memphis, Methodist University Hospital, Sun Studio and Beale Street. Enjoy state-of-the-art amenities such as free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool, a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and a business center, all served with a side order of Southern charm. Free hot breakfast is available daily and parking is free at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown.
Location
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is located near downtown Memphis, Beale Street, Sun Studio and the Memphis Zoo. Interstate 240 and Interstate 40 are within easy reach, and Methodist University Hospital is next door.
Rooms
Step into stately guest rooms, suites and executive club level rooms with wood furnishings and triple-sheeted bedding at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown. All rooms include free high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, a television with premium cable and in-room movies, a two-line phone with voice mail and free local calls, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker, air conditioning, an iron/ironing board and an easy chair. Selected rooms also include a sofa bed, a work desk with lamp and a free newspaper. Connecting and nonsmoking rooms are available. All guests receive free breakfast daily.
Property features
Savor free hot breakfast at the hotel. For additional dining, try the nearby Tops Bar-B-Q, CK's Coffee Shop, Heavenly Hoagie or El Mezcal. Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown features a gleaming oversized outdoor swimming pool, plus a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment.
Highlights

  • Start the day right with free hot daily breakfast
  • Get extra value with free in-room Wi-Fi, free parking, premium cable channels and triple-sheet bedding
  • Enjoy a convenient location near Sun Studio, Beale Street and Methodist University Hospital

Nearby attractions

  • Sun Studio (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Memphis Zoo (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • The Pink Palace (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Graceland (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Shelby Farms Park (13.9 mi/22.4 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center
  • Copying, faxing and printing services
  • High-speed Internet access

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

★★★
$107
3.6 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$133
3.6 / 5 79 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.0 / 5 31 reviews
★★
$118
3.9 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$143
3.7 / 5 97 reviews
★★★★
$95
3.6 / 5 47 reviews
★★
$67
3.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$51
2.9 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$115
3.9 / 5 54 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.7

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnoyedAnonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 24, 2014

No Surprises

What you would expect from an older Holiday Inn Express. Rooms were nice, everything was quiet, breakfast was adequate. Not a lot of food delivery options. No pets allowed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cookgirl
Business
san francisco
Aug 18, 2013

okay for one night but needs work

Location is okay and the free parking is a great plus. Rooms should be much cleaner, especially the bathrooms. Bar lock on door was coming off the hinge and did not offer any security. Lobby area and elevators were dirty. Back door of the hotel also did not close properly or lock, another security concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel for work I will
Business
MN
Oct 26, 2012

Stayed here once and will NEVER be back

I chose this loation as it was close to the hospital that I had to visit for work. The front desk staff was very nice and that ends the lists of goods for this review. The room was gross. I actually took the time to wash the sink, shower, nightstand, and even the light fixtures in the bathtoom because they were so dirty. I did not feel safe in the hotel as it is in a very bad part of the city. I would not advise women to stay at this hotel alone. There was a lot of for lack of better word "activity" at night around the hotel that made me feel very uneasy. Overall the safety and cleanliness of this hotel are the worst that I have seen in a long time and I travel all over the US for work and have stayed in a lot of different areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thankful one always
Business
California
Oct 21, 2012

Continental Breakfast

I really enjoyed the staff and the continental breakfast. Now that was a breakfast. The food was great and those cinnamon buns were to die for. I enjoyed the fact that the food did not run out, was not burned or dry like some places I have been before. The staff was very knowledgeable about the location and where to find things I needed. Keep up the great work!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momma bear 1
Business
huntington, indiana
Apr 30, 2012

was comfortable

the hotel was nice, and comfortable, didnt really have time to enjoy it more, wish i did and if i ever plan on coming back to memphis this is where i would want to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

shows,support systems,

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in Memphis
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Prepare for a Party

The hotel located me next to the elevator on the first floor. The flooring was tile. From 2 AM until 3:30 AM on December 30th I was awaken by loud people coming back from Beale street. One set of people were screaming and yelling at each other for about 5 minutes outside my door. I called the front desk and I was told nothing could be done. When i left at 5 AM the front desk person stated I should have expected the noise--it was new years eve weekend and the weekend of the liberty bowl. I find it interesting the hotel shifts their responsible to provied a safe and peaceful environment onto the customer. At $170 per night I expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 19, 2011

Great location

We went to Memphis to look at jobs. This hotel was perfect. It was very, very quiet and only about 5 blocks from downtown (a very short drive). We also got a way better deal through [...]based on what others were saying about their hotels. Hotel was very clean, quiet, and the breakfast was great (delicious cinnamon rolls). We didn't mind driving a short distance to some of the attractions, but if you mind driving a few blocks, this is not the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive to Peabody Place, Gibson Guitar, FedEx Forum, Beale St, Mud Island.

Back to menu Return to top