$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

3 stars
1180 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
48 reviews
Extremely helpful staff

I came to memphis for an interview at one of the universities and this holiday Inn express proved... See full review

  • Student Interview Travele
  • Aug 15, 2014
Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when... See full review

  • Shelli Mae
  • Jul 10, 2014
Memphis hotel near Sun Studio and Beale Street, with free breakfast
The renovated Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is near downtown Memphis, Methodist University Hospital, Sun Studio and Beale Street. Enjoy state-of-the-art amenities such as free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool, a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and a business center, all served with a side order of Southern charm. Free hot breakfast is available daily and parking is free at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown.
Highlights

  • Start the day right with free hot daily breakfast
  • Get extra value with free in-room Wi-Fi, free parking, premium cable channels and triple-sheet bedding
  • Enjoy a convenient location near Sun Studio, Beale Street and Methodist University Hospital

Location
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is located near downtown Memphis, Beale Street, Sun Studio and the Memphis Zoo. Interstate 240 and Interstate 40 are within easy reach, and Methodist University Hospital is next door.
Rooms
Step into stately guest rooms, suites and executive club level rooms with wood furnishings and triple-sheeted bedding at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown. All rooms include free high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, a television with premium cable and in-room movies, a two-line phone with voice mail and free local calls, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker, air conditioning, an iron/ironing board and an easy chair. Selected rooms also include a sofa bed, a work desk with lamp and a free newspaper. Connecting and nonsmoking rooms are available. All guests receive free breakfast daily.
Features
Savor free hot breakfast at the hotel. For additional dining, try the nearby Tops Bar-B-Q, CK's Coffee Shop, Heavenly Hoagie or El Mezcal. Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown features a gleaming oversized outdoor swimming pool, plus a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment.
Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Attractions

  • Sun Studio (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Memphis Zoo (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • The Pink Palace (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Graceland (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Shelby Farms Park (13.9 mi/22.4 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center
  • Copying, faxing and printing services
  • High-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in Memphis
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Prepare for a Party

The hotel located me next to the elevator on the first floor. The flooring was tile. From 2 AM until 3:30 AM on December 30th I was awaken by loud people coming back from Beale street. One set of people were screaming and yelling at each other for about 5 minutes outside my door. I called the front desk and I was told nothing could be done. When i left at 5 AM the front desk person stated I should have expected the noise--it was new years eve weekend and the weekend of the liberty bowl. I find it interesting the hotel shifts their responsible to provied a safe and peaceful environment onto the customer. At $170 per night I expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel for work I will
Business
MN
Oct 26, 2012

Stayed here once and will NEVER be back

I chose this loation as it was close to the hospital that I had to visit for work. The front desk staff was very nice and that ends the lists of goods for this review. The room was gross. I actually took the time to wash the sink, shower, nightstand, and even the light fixtures in the bathtoom because they were so dirty. I did not feel safe in the hotel as it is in a very bad part of the city. I would not advise women to stay at this hotel alone. There was a lot of for lack of better word "activity" at night around the hotel that made me feel very uneasy. Overall the safety and cleanliness of this hotel are the worst that I have seen in a long time and I travel all over the US for work and have stayed in a lot of different areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
respiratory therapist
Business
nashville, tn
May 22, 2011

construction overload

Construction consumed the inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chuck J
Business
Oxford, MS
Aug 7, 2010

Horrible hotel experience

This was probably my worst hotel experience. We needed to stay one night because the thing we were going to didn't end until 1:30AM. Got to the hotel and the key doesn't work for our first room. They give us a second room, it's smoking and I requested non smoking. [...] We decide oh well it'll work, but the toilet in that room didn't work. They gave us another room, but the key didn't work to that one either. We are now late and just left our bags at the desk and said we'd get a key when we get back. Thank god they had a working key when we got back; it was still to a smoking room, though. Complained and they said there was nothing they could do. O[...] Called the hotel and they said that they felt we didn't deserve a refund because THE STAFF HAD WRITTEN THAT THE PROBLEM WITH OUR ROOM WAS THAT WE WANTED A REFRIGERATOR!!! Ended up getting a little of our money back, but had to set them straight. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cookgirl
Business
san francisco
Aug 18, 2013

okay for one night but needs work

Location is okay and the free parking is a great plus. Rooms should be much cleaner, especially the bathrooms. Bar lock on door was coming off the hinge and did not offer any security. Lobby area and elevators were dirty. Back door of the hotel also did not close properly or lock, another security concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EZ Rider
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

Clean it up and it'll be fine...

This hotel is in a pretty good location very close to downtown Memphis. The only problem that I had with it is that it wasn't very clean. However, I was very pleased with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. I didn't complain about the room because it was right on the borderline of being a problem. Other than that, my stay was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo
Jul 25, 2010

the so-so hotel

we NEVER got towels for out room. we went down at 4pm,6pm, and called down at 8 pm(still washing them. our other room wasn't ready until after 7 pm. we took towels from the other room so we could shower. overall it was a quiet, inexpensive place 2 miles from beale street. we saw the cleaning staff outside taking a break twice while we our other room wasn't ready

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

there is a trolley very close if you don't want to drive or walk to beale street. there was plenty of parking on a sunday afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Jul 20, 2011

Good for short trip

I was in Memphis for a family reunion and missed the deadline for the Doubletree, which is where the majority of my family stayed but they filled up completely before I decided to attend. At any rate, I wanted something close to it and not overpriced and the Holiday Inn Express met that need. While the rooms are tight, the hotel was very accommodating and it was centrally located. I had never stayed in an express so it was an experience but it wasn't bad. I just prefer a suite and a larger bath but overall it was worth te money to sleep in a comfortable bed every night and be able to drive in any direction on the freeway located a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Union is hell because of no left turns so always turn in a business to get where you're going if it's at a light.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 7, 2011

Not bad

room was small, one of the beds had stained linens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladyjane
Business
Tennessee, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Mediocre hotel stay

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel seemed to be undergoing renovations, which were needed. Carpet looked dirty in the hallways and the overall appearance inside needed to be nicer. The outside of the hotel looked nice and it is located in a semi-safe area of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top