$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

3 stars
1180 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
48 reviews
Extremely helpful staff

I came to memphis for an interview at one of the universities and this holiday Inn express proved... See full review

  • Student Interview Travele
  • Aug 15, 2014
Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when... See full review

  • Shelli Mae
  • Jul 10, 2014
Memphis hotel near Sun Studio and Beale Street, with free breakfast
The renovated Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is near downtown Memphis, Methodist University Hospital, Sun Studio and Beale Street. Enjoy state-of-the-art amenities such as free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool, a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment and a business center, all served with a side order of Southern charm. Free hot breakfast is available daily and parking is free at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown.
Highlights

  • Start the day right with free hot daily breakfast
  • Get extra value with free in-room Wi-Fi, free parking, premium cable channels and triple-sheet bedding
  • Enjoy a convenient location near Sun Studio, Beale Street and Methodist University Hospital

Location
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown is located near downtown Memphis, Beale Street, Sun Studio and the Memphis Zoo. Interstate 240 and Interstate 40 are within easy reach, and Methodist University Hospital is next door.
Rooms
Step into stately guest rooms, suites and executive club level rooms with wood furnishings and triple-sheeted bedding at the Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown. All rooms include free high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access, a television with premium cable and in-room movies, a two-line phone with voice mail and free local calls, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker, air conditioning, an iron/ironing board and an easy chair. Selected rooms also include a sofa bed, a work desk with lamp and a free newspaper. Connecting and nonsmoking rooms are available. All guests receive free breakfast daily.
Features
Savor free hot breakfast at the hotel. For additional dining, try the nearby Tops Bar-B-Q, CK's Coffee Shop, Heavenly Hoagie or El Mezcal. Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown features a gleaming oversized outdoor swimming pool, plus a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment.
Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Attractions

  • Sun Studio (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Memphis Zoo (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • The Pink Palace (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Graceland (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Shelby Farms Park (13.9 mi/22.4 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center
  • Copying, faxing and printing services
  • High-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

35.138 -90.0222
Nearby airports
Little Rock National, (LIT), 138.00, MI, E; Memphis International Airport, (MEM), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thankful one always
Business
California
Oct 21, 2012

Continental Breakfast

I really enjoyed the staff and the continental breakfast. Now that was a breakfast. The food was great and those cinnamon buns were to die for. I enjoyed the fact that the food did not run out, was not burned or dry like some places I have been before. The staff was very knowledgeable about the location and where to find things I needed. Keep up the great work!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnoyedAnonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 24, 2014

No Surprises

What you would expect from an older Holiday Inn Express. Rooms were nice, everything was quiet, breakfast was adequate. Not a lot of food delivery options. No pets allowed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Interview Travele
Business
Central IL
Aug 15, 2014

Extremely helpful staff

I came to memphis for an interview at one of the universities and this holiday Inn express proved to be a great choice for our stay! The location was extremely convenient for my interview, as well as a short drive to downtown and beale street! The staff was so helpful as they allowed us a 1 pm late checkout due to the time of my interview. Each of the staff members I came into contact with were kind and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Rey
Business
Ponce, PR
Aug 3, 2014

My stay in Memphis

I really enjoyed my stay. It's a great location and staff was courteous and helpful. The free breakfast was an added plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit Beale St and of course Graceland. I bought a really good harmonica at Schwabs on Beale St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelli Mae
Business
416 East 14th
Jul 10, 2014

Family in Memphis

It was a lovely experience! The only thing I had a concern was that the pool was not clean and when they did clean it; it was not safe to swim in. You couldn't see the bottom of the pool. This was an inconvience for us because the pool is for the two children to play in and wear out. As an aquatic staff at the YMCA I felt the pool was not safe; which was a requirement when looking for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelli Mae
Business
416 East 14th
Jul 7, 2014

Family trip to memphis

It was a really nice clean hotel with friendly staff. The only complaint I had was that the pool was not clean and when it was clean the kids still couldn't swim in it because you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. As a lifeguard and swim instructor I knew the chemical balance was not right and safe so the two kids couldn't play in it. A pool is one necessity we like for our children and didn't feel safe to use. We address the issue with front desk but nothing happened before we left. We were there for three days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a memphis visitor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 25, 2014

fine for short stay

Location is convenient, hotel is fine for quick trip. Had problems with our reservation on arrival. Took some convincing, but the front desk clerk finally helped us get the correct room. Friendly staff. Construction being done on the elevator cab - got a little noisy on the 1st floor. Average stay if you're not planning to be at the hotel much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bry1026
Business
NJ
Jun 23, 2014

holiday inn express

wasn't too sure what to expect. but the hotel was convenient.. not DOWN TOWN, but just a short cab ride away. the service was TOP NOTCH!! so friendly!! the breakfast in the morning was very good for just the IN LOBBY kind of thing. coffee tea and hot choc avail 24 hours. pool was quiet and clean. rooms were very clean. not a noisy hotel ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvis fan forever
Business
NEW YORK
Jun 21, 2014

would recommend to everyone

Clean comfortable and staff very friendly.They were very helpful and very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigCane
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 10, 2014

Good Value – Great Hospitality

I went to Memphis with some friends to party, to drink, to see Graceland and have a good time. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I am in Memphis . The management and staff are extremely friendly. At breakfast the manager personally stopped by each table for a quick chat and the workers always said hello and stuff. Since it is a Holiday Inn Express you should not expect much but this property exceeds expectations by a lot. The free breakfast, the free parking, the afternoon popcorn and the cinnamon buns are a huge added benefit. Although Google Maps said that it was 1.5-1.8 miles from Beale Street don’t plan on walking there because it is too far. You will still need to drive unless you really like walking. We were planning on drinking so we just took a taxi for $13. Certain sections of the hallway carpet need to be changed and some of the doors were scuffed but the rooms were in good shape and the mattresses and bedding were great. Since Memphis is a bit of a rough city the neighborhood itself was just a step below average but I felt safe and they have night time security. There were tons of nearby places functional places for anything you need and the hotel is right off the highway so you can easily get there from the airport and go to Graceland or Tunica or anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MEMPHIS MEDICAL CENTER MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigCane
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 30, 2014

Good Value – Great Hospitality

I went to Memphis with some friends to party, to drink, to see Graceland and have a good time. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I am in Memphis . The management and staff are extremely friendly. At breakfast the manager personally stopped by each table for a quick chat and the workers always said hello and stuff. Since it is a Holiday Inn Express you should not expect much but this property exceeds expectations by a lot. The free breakfast, the free parking, the afternoon popcorn and the cinnamon buns are a huge added benefit. Although Google Maps said that the hotel was 1.5-1.8 miles from Beale Street don’t plan on walking there because it is too far unless you really enjoy walking. You will still need to drive cause on a hot day you will regret it. We were planning on drinking so we just took a taxi for $13 one way, which is super cheap if you split the fare with friends. Certain sections of the hotel hallway carpet need to be changed and some of the doors were scuffed but the rooms were in good shape and the mattresses and bedding were great. The place was super clean. Since Memphis is a bit of a rough city the neighborhood around the hotel itself was just a step below average but I felt safe and they have night time security. There were tons of nearby places functional places for anything you need and the hotel is right off the highway so you can easily get there from the airport and go to Graceland or Tunica or anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top