$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
View map of 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
128 reviews
Awesome wedding

The hotel was wonderful. The room was clean. The hotel staff were very courteous. friendly and... See full review

  • Jeanne B.
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great City & Location

The hotel is within walking distance of many local attractions like Beale Street and the Peabody... See full review

  • D.W.
  • Mar 24, 2015

This striking, silver hotel on North 3rd Street in downtown Memphis entices business and pleasure travelers alike to get out and explore the birthplace of rock 'n' roll. The location is second to none, yet the hotel provides every amenity for guests who prefer to put their feet up and unwind. Amenities include an upscale bar and signature restaurant, pet-friendly rooms, a seasonal outdoor pool, and meeting space.

Rooms

All 116 rooms are efficient and neat, with a choice of bed sizes with pillow-top mattresses. In-room amenities include a television with cable, coffee maker, desk, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator. Laundry services are available.

Property features

Econo Lodge Downtown's fitness room and seasonal outdoor pool re-energize weary travelers after a day of sightseeing.

 

Memphis Sounds, an upscale bar, offers a lively cocktail hour, and the hotel's signature restaurant, A & R Barbecue, serves a wide-ranging menu (be sure to check out the sun deck).

 

Guests enjoy many of the city's top attractions, just a few blocks away, including the Orpheum Theatre, Cannon Center for the Performing Arts, Mud Island, FedEx Forum, AutoZone Park, and the National Civil Rights Museum. Beale Street's entertainment district, a half mile from the hotel, tempts more adventurous guests with its wide variety clubs and restaurants, including Blues City Café, Silky O'Sullivan's, and Alfred's Bar & Grill.

Highlights
  • Outstanding location near many Memphis attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in rooms
  • Pet-friendly rooms ($20 per pet, maximum of two dogs)
  • Restaurant and bar
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's home at Graceland (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theatre (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Harrah's Tunica casino (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • 100-square-foot meeting room accommodates up to 50
  • Copier and facsimile machine
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Shuttle available to various businesses and attractions, including airport
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★
$102
2.9 / 5 44 reviews
★★
$118
3.9 / 5 49 reviews
★★
$51
2.9 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$107
3.6 / 5 45 reviews
★★
$67
3.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$115
3.9 / 5 54 reviews
★★★
$133
3.6 / 5 79 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary S.
Business
hearne
Jul 17, 2015

Vacation and business

We were in town for a Beachbody convention and enjoyed our stay at EconoLodge. Location at first site was sketchy but not bad and rooms were clean and comfy. The place was still under renovation so the carpets still needed replacing but not bad at all and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony L.
Couples
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Close to Beale St.

This is the second time I have stayed there within the last 3 weeks. Room was always clean. Location is only a couple of block from Beale St , which is a plus. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Only negative is the $10 per night parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cecilia V.
Friends
N/A
Jun 25, 2015

Spontaneous Road Trip

My friends and I stayed here for a long weekend when we decided to take a spontaneous roadtrip down to Memphis. The people who worked there were very helpful and kind at all hours (we had some problems with our keys). There was a nice outdoor pool where we were able to relax and get some sun. The room was well-kept, but a little old. Unfortunately, it is not in the best area and we were told not to walk around late at night considering we were girls in our early twenties. Overall though, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanne B.
Family
N/A
Jun 22, 2015

Awesome wedding

The hotel was wonderful. The room was clean. The hotel staff were very courteous. friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and sparkling. It made you want to jump right in. The desk clerks were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keegan T.
Couples
Milwaukee
Jun 16, 2015

Beale Street

This was AWESOME for the location and price. They even included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D.W.
Couples
Goose Creek
Mar 24, 2015

Great City & Location

The hotel is within walking distance of many local attractions like Beale Street and the Peabody Hotel to see the ducks. The room was spacious and clean. It wasn't fancy, but was a good value for a one night stay. The staff was nice and provided additional towels upon request. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat2
Couples
Bakersfield
Mar 17, 2015

Watch the parking!

I wasn't aware there was a parking fee at the hotel garage before hand. When we parked our car at 12:30AM the second floor parking spaces were plenty. We parked in a space that left a lot or room on each side of our car, however, the next morning we had 3 dings on the passenger side. The space next to us was now empty. Being a rental car we paid $250.00 to get the dings out at a car service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JULIE J.
Family
Savannah
Mar 16, 2015

Bealle street

Great location within walking distance to Bealle street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OliviaBauschlicher
Couples
Corning
Nov 18, 2014

Fantastic Stay

Room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie McJackster
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 21, 2014

Skeptic at 1st-Lone 21 year old

I was skeptic at first because of all the bad reviews. I figured I would check-out anyway because I'm 21, on a budget, and really only needed a place to store my bags/sleep. The place is a little old and the elevator a little creepy. But the shower was hot and the sheets were clean. If you want a 4 star hotel, this is not your place, but if you live simply. It will do. Plus the breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top