$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Comfort Inn Downtown

2 stars
100 N. Front St., Memphis, TN 38103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
good choice

staff was friendly, room was large and clean. I'd use this property again. See full review

  • Duke Fog
  • May 21, 2014
Nice place to stay

I'm very picky when it comes to hotels. I was very pleased with this one. Beds are super... See full review

  • Tantelynn
  • Aug 11, 2014
Location rules at this smart, sensible hotel

Comfort Inn Downtown's superb setting allows guests to discover the best that downtown "Blues City" has to offer -- morning, noon, and night. Guests enjoy outstanding views of the Mississippi River and Mud Island River Park, as well as the many attractions in historic Memphis. Amenities include spacious rooms, an outdoor rooftop pool, fitness center, and meeting space.

Highlights
  • Great location in historic West Memphis
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Outdoor rooftop pool for guests of all ages
Rooms

All 60 spacious guest rooms and 11 suites feature a plasma television, microwave oven, mini-refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, in-room safe, iron/ironing board, and complimentary copy of USA Today. Guests upgrading to Business Class suites enjoy a wet bar, a two-line telephone, and DVD player.

Features

Guests start the day right with a complimentary free continental breakfast, featuring hot waffles and other hot and cold items. Nearby restaurant options for later in the day include Pearl's Oyster House, Rendezvous, Corky's BBQ, Circa, Chez Philippe, Encore, and Grill 83.

 

Weary travelers chill out on the hotel's seasonal rooftop sundeck and by the outdoor pool overlooking the city. Guests work up a sweat at the in-house fitness center and access a health club and spa nearby.

 

Comfort Inn Downtown, close to major roadways, including Interstates 40 and 55, offers access to many local attractions, including the simmering nightlife and eclectic shops on Beale Street, Sun Studios, the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel, Peabody Place, Cook Convention Center, Orpheum Theatre, Cannon Center for Performing Arts, AutoZone Park, FedEx Forum, Pyramid Arena, and the Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Elvis Presley's home, Graceland (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theater (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Memphis Zoo (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Children's Museum of Memphis (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Casinos in Tunica, Mississippi (29.8 mi/48 km)
Business
  • Single meeting room accommodates 75 (100 if used for banquet)
  • Business center with computer, copier, facsimile machine, and printer
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • FedEx Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Beale Street: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 4.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal Fanny
Business
Brookyn
Dec 17, 2014

good

The hotel was a little musty but overall the stay was good. The staff were all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tantelynn
Business
Weston Wisconsin
Aug 11, 2014

Nice place to stay

I'm very picky when it comes to hotels. I was very pleased with this one. Beds are super comfortable. Room was clean. Air conditioner worked well. They offered a full breakfast each day. Sufficient parking Daytime staff was friendly. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend time at Sun Studios. Very interesting If you are visiting Graceland take your time. Don't let the crowds push you through. Make sure you visit Beale Street. Great food, great music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duke Fog
Business
Phoenix, Az
May 21, 2014

good choice

staff was friendly, room was large and clean. I'd use this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kcdan
Business
Wisconsin
May 2, 2014

Convenient location

We had a room overlooking the city and the river. There was a covered parking ramp. I was initially concerned because the ramp was limited to 6'2" but the desk clerk gave me access to a location that my SUV fit in just fine. We were able to walk a short distance to the trolley to get to Beale St. We actually walked back from Beale street as the trolleys were delayed by heavy traffic. Had an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debby Jane
Business
Robbinsdale, MN
Mar 2, 2014

Nice views, good location on trolley line

Hotel was just fine and as I expected. The room rate shown on my confirmation printout did not include taxes and fees, which I thought were considerable, and they tried to charge us $169 for the last night (2/28) instead of $109. I was only able to negotiate it down to $125 with the manager. The rates were a bit steep for a 2 star hotel in the off-season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley system in downtown Memphis is fun, cheap and reliable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walkabouter
Business
Pittsburgh area, Pennsylvania
Jan 21, 2014

A great deal!

Very good, clean functional hotel- had everything I wanted even in 5-star property EXCEPT indoor pool and hot tub- but would not have found time to use. Onsite parking was very convenient and accessible day/night- no separate set of elevators needed to get to parking. Location was great- one side Mississippi river and start of paved trail (1/2 block walk) and other side was Main Street with access to Trolley service. Staff was very friendly, included breakfast was good (scrambled eggs were soft and not hard- not too many places, including 5 stars, get this right). The only minor issue ran into was my used towels kept disappearing but room was not cleaned and the dirty towels not replaced by clean ones- but no biggie- had plenty of towels in room. Did mention to maid next AM and she made sure room was cleaned, bed made and new towels given that day. Room was HUGE- great closet area and they gave me a riverside view as all river views were gone when I checked in (and I did not reserve one- should have). Free WiFi (sometimes a little spotty) and $10/day to park car was good as well. Getting onto freeways was easy-so drove to Graceland, Sun Studios, to get a massage at local Massage Envy etc- no problem at all. Walking was easy and safe- came back from Beale Street at 4 am one late night and never felt safer even though I was alone- well lit Main Street all the way down. Front desk was always very helpful-service with a smile. Liked it a lot esp. compared to price etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley back and forth from Beale Street if walking is not your thing- it is about 15 mins walk each way. Best to buy the $3.50 day pass and be able to ride the 3 trolley lines all day long- hop on and hop off. Else it is $1/ride. Make sure you got exact change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim F.
Business
Little Rock, AR
Dec 18, 2013

Nice Memphis hotel

Great staff - very helpful. Good breakfast. Eggs, bagels, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, toast, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, milk, coffee, muffins, good creamers for the coffee, juice, etc. One side of hotel has river view - very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

On Beale St: Food - Johnny G's and The Pig Music - Silkies (3rd and Beale), Dueling pianos and Barbara Blue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music Fans
Business
England
Sep 11, 2013

Introduction to the blues

Everyone was helpful. Location was great and easy to get to all the top tourist attractions. Plenty to eat at breakfast and iced water in the lobby when you came back after a hot afternoon sightseeing. We had views of the Pyramid and fountains from 15th floor. Could certainly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring Memphis as it is near Main Street and about 15 minute walk from Beale Street. We did not have a car but enjoyed walking despite the 94 degrees!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Sun Studio tour was very interesting. A FREE bus goes from outside the FedEx Forum. Do not pay for the hop on/off bus but use the other black shuttle which also goes out to Graceland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moto Mike
Business
Manhattan, KS
Sep 2, 2013

Great location for experiencing downtown Memphis!

Perfect location for downtown Memphis attractions. Right across the street from the Mississippi Mud Museum, near Beale Street and Peabody Place. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rendezvous BBQ

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottkapsig249
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Jun 14, 2013

Diamond in the Rough

This was our first time in Memphis and you always want to find the right place, well we did. The hotel exceeded our expectations and when we are looking fora hotel again this is where we are staying. The room was nice and clean. It is in a great place, when at the pool you can over look the Mississippi River. You are only 8 blocks from Beale street and there breakfast was complete, they had everything you would want. I highly recommend the Comfort Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To Beale street and all the goodies along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top