$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

3 stars
1177 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
26 reviews
Weekend in Memphis

We were very impressed with room and the cleanliness! Had the best biscuits for breakfast ever!! We... See full review

  • Rockerchic44
  • May 1, 2013
Great stay

It was clean, and the price was very affordable. I would come and stay here again See full review

  • Sweat potato
  • Nov 15, 2012
Creature comforts, cool veneer highlight Madison Avenue inn

This modern, smoke-free property with the funky façade belies its Best Western affiliation, but guests enjoy contemporary comfort and a solid value. Gen X Inn, situated in the city's medical district, offers easy access to the best attractions in historic Memphis. Amenities include a business center, exercise room, and free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Close to medical centers and major landmarks
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Children under 12 stay free with paying adult on existing bedding
Rooms

Each of the 32 stylish, air-conditioned guestrooms offers one king or two queen beds. Amenities include luxury linens, a 32-inch plasma television with HBO and premium sports and news channels, DVD player, refrigerator, designer toiletries, and free hard-wired and wireless Internet access.

Features

Gen X Inn guests work out for free in the inn's exercise room, with stair-stepper, exercise bike, and treadmill, and also have access to a neighborhood fitness facility.

 

This trendy, urban boutique hotel, located on the Madison Avenue trolley line, provides convenient access to Beale Street's entertainment district less than two miles away, and the Regional Medical Center at Memphis Medical Center. Other area medical-related institutions include Southern College of Optometry, University of Tennessee Medical School, Methodist University Hospital, and St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital.

 

Guests find dozens of top-flight attractions close, including Beale Street's simmering entertainment district, Gibson Guitar, Sun Studios, AutoZone Park, FedEx Forum, Pyramid Arena, Memphis Brooks Museum, Orpheum Theatre, Cook Convention Center, and the Memphis Zoo.

Dining

The inn serves guests a complimentary continental breakfast, featuring fresh-made waffles and fresh-brewed coffee. During the day guests drop into a variety of local restaurants, including Top's B-B-Q, Bruno's Italian, Greek fare at Petra, India Palace, Bhan Thai, Blue Monkey, the Butcher Shop Steakhouse, or Molly Gonzales La Casita.

Transportation
  • Memphis International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Vintage trolleys and traditional buses, Memphis Area Transit Authority
Nearby attractions
  • Beale Street entertainment district (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Elvis Presley's home, Graceland (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Pink Palace Museum and IMAX Theater (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Children's Museum Of Memphis (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Memphis Botanic Garden/Audubon Park (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with computer, printer, and copier (fees apply)
  • Free wireless Internet available in public areas

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1392 -90.0221
Area served
Jackson,, Little Rock,, Millington, Tunica,, Nashville
Nearby airports
(MEM), 10.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Beale Street: 1.3 mi
  • FedEx Forum: 1.6 mi
  • Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bhan Thai
1.50 mile(s) from Bhan Thai, Full Service, Thai, Open for: lunch
Memphis Pizza Cafe
1.90 mile(s) from Memphis Pizza Cafe, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Petra
0.50 mile(s) from Petra, Full Service, Greek, Open for: breakfast
Barksdale Restaurant
1.00 mile(s) from Barksdale Restaurant, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Bruno's Italian Restaurant
0.30 mile(s) from Bruno's Italian Restaurant, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner
Bari Restaurant
1.80 mile(s) from Bari Restaurant, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: lunch, dinner
Zinnie's East
1.50 mile(s) from Zinnie's East, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch
On The Border
6.70 mile(s) from On The Border, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner
Cupboard Restaurant
0.50 mile(s) from Cupboard Restaurant, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Huey's
2.00 mile(s) from Huey's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

4
Laura Flyer fan
Dayton, OH
Apr 12, 2014

Great value for the money!

Great value for the money. Close enough to just about anything you need to get to. We visited Beale St and the zoo. Room was nice. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

1
Wolf Bear
Business
chicago
Mar 28, 2014

Ants at the Picnic

While the staff person (1) was courteous they were of no use. The room was poorly cleaned and infested with ants. There were no maids on hand and the manager was off site. The manager was rude and dismissive. I spent the night cleaning and huddled on one side of the bed with my bags stowed on high ground. I most unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
penno
Business
new york
Aug 21, 2013

reasonable location

friendly staff, good value in the medical district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
lele362
memphis tn
Jul 7, 2013

my special getaway

I was really happy to find a hotel so close to downtown for the price we paid for the hotel but was a little surprise at how small the room was...but lets get to it I didn't like the split bathroom with the sink in the room the tub and toilet separate the towels was old and dull with strings hanging off the edges and last off all the carpet had alot of stains it needed to be clean but over all I enjoyed my stay in memphis and even.with theae fews things that can be corrected I would stay there again.....the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

To go downtown on beale street on friday night....it was great

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

4
memphisvisit
Memphis Tn
Jun 18, 2013

Great value for the location

This hotel is a great value if you need a basic clean hotel in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

3
Jimmy Dude
Grand Rapids,MI
May 2, 2013

hidden gem

Hotel was small and very comfortable. Was right on the trolley line and close to some interesting food and live music at the buccaneer lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

5
Rockerchic44
Conway, AR
May 1, 2013

Weekend in Memphis

We were very impressed with room and the cleanliness! Had the best biscuits for breakfast ever!! We will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

4
uab Dental student
Business
birmingham,al
Apr 21, 2013

Great for Dental patients

if you're an out of town dental patient or medical patient this is perfect location. free breakfast and parking. Nothing glamourous but clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

4
pmcpmc
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2013

Unexpected gem

This is a Best Western, not the Four Seasons, but for a budget hotel, it was a very pleasant surprise. The rooms were clean and recently rehabbed, with great beds, nice flat screen TVs, and lots of space. Plus, the hotel is located on the streetcar line to downtown/Beale street, in a quiet area of town. (I wouldn't walk around here late at night, but I never felt unsafe). My friends and I expected a dive and found a very nice, mid-level hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There's really nothing other than the streetcar line nearby.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Reviewer score

4
keb1025
Wyoming,PA
Jan 27, 2013

Nice for overnight stay in Memphis

Booked the hotel on-line for my daughter who was in Memphis for an interview for graduate studies. I called to confirm the reservation several days prior to her arrival and the reservations desk staff was very helpful with information about the city and suggestions for transportation to and from the airport. My daughter reported that the staff was very nice and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. Her only complaint was that the fruit selection was limited when she got down to the complementry breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top