$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

2 stars
View map of 341 Merchants Drive, Knoxville, TN 37912-3804

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
62 reviews
Family get away on the way to Myrtle Beach.

This hotel was very basic but also good for the price. Very conveniently located off the highway. See full review

  • Melody Indiana mom
  • Mar 27, 2014
Super 8 - 108 Knoxville

experience. One minor hitch - Computer was down when we arrived. Came back in about 20 minutes, but... See full review

  • Don L Travelguy
  • Feb 21, 2014
New Renovations 2006 Indoor corridors 105 spacious rooms Free Wireless High-speed Internet Walking distance to many fine dining, fast food restaurants, and shopping Free continental breakfast Children under 12 Free with parent McGhee Tyson Airport 15 miles University of Tennessee 5 miles Downtown Knoxville 5 miles Golf courses nearby Pets are accepted ONLY with motel authorization. Must meet certain criteria. Pet fee does apply 17.25 percent sales tax

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mondo714
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Nasty Nasty Nasty

I have stayed at hundreds of motels, this was the nastiest Super 8 I have ever stayed at. First off, their bed frames are made out of plywood, and the plywood was not even painted.Power went out two times during my stay there. Room had little black flying bugs all over the room, took two day of the 3 I stayed there to kill most of them.3 lights did not work, two had bad bulbs, one was unplugged. I went to front desk, lady was nice, gave me two light bulbs, both was bad, I said heck with it. Very poor wireless internet, I picked up a better signal from another hookup near the hotel, not theirs. They do not dust well at all. There was LONGTIME standing dust on tops of door frames and picture frames. The rooms baseboards was filthy,floor needed vacumed and the walls had the worst patch up job I have ever seen, and smelled of smoke even though it was a non smoking room. And the barking dog that barked all night the 1st night, pfffft!The India born Mgr or owner knocked on my door early in the morning on the second night waking me up saying I was smoking ''something'' in a no smoking room, I let him in my room, and I will admit there was a strong odor of marijuana in the hallway, but not in my room as I showed the mgr.I did tell him about my partying neighbors and they was probably the ones where the strong smell was coming from. He did knock on other doors near mine including that door, they did not answer of course, and then I came out the door to my room to get some ice when the mgr stated "you know, I can charge you more if I want because of this", more or less blaming me????? I was down there for a funeral of a family member, not to party, which is what I will talk about next. My neighbors in the room next to me was drinking and partying all night long. They was the one doing illegal activities, I even told staff that earlier about all the noise and the # of people in the room, nothing ever happened. All of the staff was nice with exception of the India Mgr, very very rude person. If I stayed in a outhouse, it would be better than this place. Trust me people, you are better off paying more to stay away from this place. It was the nastiness of the room and mgr as to why I will never stay at this motel again. I have stayed at other Super 8 motels, never had any really bad issues like this place. Only thing that was clean was the bedding, nothing else. Stay as far away from this place as possible. Nasty, Nasty, Nasty!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wildee
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Great location

Really spartan .No shampoo .No coffee maker ,breakfast was very limited ,they requested not more than two Danish per person ,at 8:30 am had to ask for Danish they reluctantly added a few .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HD rider
Business
tampa fl
Jun 18, 2012

Not clean

Booked this local for friends and they had to change hotels. Carpet was dirty and sticky. No cooperation from staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roach infestation
Business
Knoxville, TN
Sep 18, 2012

Never Again!!!

When I got to the hotel it smelled awful. I overlooked the smell because it was so late and I already drove six hours. When I got to my room, before I could even put my bags down, I found a roach crawling on the wall. I once again overlooked something else. My husband laid down in the bed and not 5 more minutes, a roach crawled across the bed. I got up, grabbed my bags, and went to the front desk demanding my money back...which they couldnt give me. I will NOT ever stay at another Super 8 EVER again!!! It was completely nasty and nobody wants to sleep with roaches!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bbbbyyyy
Business
NC
Jan 19, 2013

One of the worst hotels I ever stayed

After falling asleep for half an hour, my arms and face started itching with skin rash, then my feet, my hands, and ear. I thought it might be that I was allergic to their detergent, and because I was sooooo sleepy that night, I put some toilet paper above the sheet to avoid direct contact with the sheet, but with every few minutes passing, one more part of my body felt itchy, and my finger swell. I woke up many times to add more paper on top of the bed, but it was useless. Then I found some bugs on the bed, bigger ones and smaller ones, not sure if they were bed bugs. I can't stand it anymore with my swollen finger and itchy hands, ear and arms, and I asked the staff to change a room for me. He did change a room for me, but I didn't trust the bed anymore, and I'll never stay in this place and all other super 8 hotels forever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bbbbyyyy
Business
NC
Jan 21, 2013

Totally not worth it

Got bugs on the bed. My hands and fingers are bitten by the bugs, and my skin is allergic to their sheet and detergent. I'll definitely spend more money on better hotels next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KVB Sub
Business
Alabama
Apr 24, 2013

Disgusting place to avoid

An awful place. At this price one should expect the place to be "threadbare," but "revolting" is closer to the reality of this motel. The chair in our room was black with dirt, and so greasy, that it would have been believable that some died in it and been allowed to decompose for weeks. The (room) carpet was almost as filthy, and there was a pile of what certainly seemed like vomit on the carpet by the side of the bed. Something that no sponge or vacuum cleaner had even made an attempt on. The hall and lobby carpet looked like a road tar crew had made it their regular residence. There were broken tiles in the shower area. The sheet (with a cigarette burn) was just (just) long enough to go from top to bottom, so any movement made it pull loose. The front desk asserted that -in the entire motel- there wasn't even ONE extra blanket available. I knew, in advance, that no breakfast was included, but one should keep that $$$ aspect in mind when looking at this place with its REAL price as a consideration. I'm currently staying in another motel and specifically DID NOT even look at the the local branch of this chain, because of how awful this motel was. Just keep driving, and find something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xj620
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2013

the terrible experience

this super8 is the worst hotel i ever live. the big air condition noise cause me not to sleep whole night. and the shower water is very very hot almost hurt my skin. i can not shower at all. the hotel said it has free wifi, but from two of the rooms i reserved can not get the wifi signal at all. i need download google map and search some travel information and all of these can not complete. i have to complain this hotel to Orbiz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Showered after stay
Business
Mechanicsburg, PA
Jun 24, 2013

Quit smoking and help your guests

The staff at this location was more interested in having a communal cigarette smoking circle than with helping guests waiting in line at the front desk. When they did acknowledge our waiting, they rushed in, without washing their hands, to help us. Once in our room, we discovered dusty, dirty conditions on the floor, couch, and bathroom. Our bed sheets contained burn holes. When theses issues were mentioned, the receptionist said, "I'm sorry, but don't worry you booked through the O website so you won't be charged with any extra fees." Does this mean we would've had to pay extra had we not booked through O? Avoid this location at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sun sphere, downtown Knoxville

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brad89
Business
Murfreesboro tn
Jun 24, 2013

Bad

No microwave no mini fridge no coffe pot front desk clerk was rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top