$31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

2 stars
View map of 341 Merchants Drive, Knoxville, TN 37912-3804

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron2005
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Will stay here everytime!

I travel to this city once a month. The staff was amazing. To my surprise, a Football game was scheduled during my one night stay. So the hotel was packed. Planned on a one night stay, my plans changed (not related to the game) and the hotel made sure I would have a room at the same rate for the next night. Even though due to the game the rate should have increased by $20. The room was clean, regardless if it was smoking or non smoking I found cigarette burns in random places. No shampoo, two soap bars, three of each towel type. I did enjoy the pillows. The other guests actually stayed quite or you couldn't here them. If they are in the hall you could otherwise it wasn't an issue. I highly recomend this place. It is not the cheapest hotel in the city, but if you go much cheaper you will pay for what you get. I wished it had a coffee maker, however we had a mini fridge in each room. If that counts for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnsons
Business
Gray, TN
Sep 11, 2011

pretty good stay

Good for one night. Not the ritz but good for purpose! Great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mander
Business
New Albany, IN, USA
Sep 4, 2011

stay somewhere else

Booked two rooms for family trip. One room smelled AWFUL and had stained bedding while the other had toilet issues. Staff wasn't very friendly and did not want to make sure we left satisfied. Good price and location but isn't worth what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
med1
Business
Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Aug 24, 2011

perfect stay

Friendly staff clean rooms perfect location for my stay will definitely stay again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
med1
Business
Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Aug 24, 2011

perfect stay

Friendly staff clean rooms perfect location for my stay will definitely stay again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abbeville, S.C.
Jun 19, 2011

Banging little spot

The hotel was not the biggest or best, but for a spontaneous trip with a couple of the guys it was perfect. The smoke smell made a perfect atmosphere for a little bit of rest and relaxation for smokers. We did not delve into the non smoking side so I cannot review that for you non smokers. Like I said before no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Drive into downtown knoxville or Gatlinburg for entertainment and what not.

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orgndnr
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 22, 2011

Way, way too hot

The room was so incredibly hot. The small air unit was off in 90 degree weather and took forever to cool off slightly. So uncomfortable. I would not call what they had a "superstart breakfast". Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville
Apr 18, 2011

Boo

[...] I booked my reservation and selected the box for non-smoking with the expectation that I would actually receive a non-smoking room. Upon arrival I was booked in a disgusting room with decades of accumulated smoking smells.[...] I survived the night with the window open in the rain but it was distinctly unpleasant experience[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Feb 14, 2011

Ummm... Okay...

Perfect if you're looking for the bare minimum. Whole place smells like smoke. But... for the cheap price, it's worth it if you need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Knoxville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jan 16, 2011

What can I say, it's a Super 8

We were in town for a competition. The motel was 4 miles from the venue. The room was nice, not fancy, not a dive. The beds were clean, the bathroom was clean. We had a nice, new refrigerator, a large TV, free parking, free WiFi, free continental breakfast. Our friends stayed at a local luxury hotel 3 times the price--had to pay for parking, no free breakfast, no refrigerator, broken TV. So, for very little money, we had a place to sleep, bathe, eat, and park. No frills, but that was fine. The carpet had a few old stains, and except for a slight cigarette smell in the room it was fine. One complaint is that the breakfast was just about gone before it was over, and there was a very strong cigarette odor in all the hallways, and especially the first floor. I am very sensitive to that and have reactions, and I could hardly breathe in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go to Subway across the street!! Super duper slow! we waited 45 minutes in a short line. the Chinese restaurant looked good, just too pricey for me. McDonalds had very quick drive thru service.

Back to menu Return to top