$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

2 stars
117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY See full review

  • GOMAB1914
  • Oct 27, 2011
Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 21, 2011
Budget Knoxville hotel with plenty of in-room and hotel amenities
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Rooms have standard amenities such as coffee makers and refrigerators but also offer extras such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses. Guests enjoy free continental breakfast with coffee, free high-speed Internet and free newspaper. An outdoor pool is a bonus. The hotel caters to business travelers with a meeting room and fax and copy services.
Highlights
  • Budget hotel located outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions
  • Free continental breakfast, Internet and daily newspaper
  • Outdoor pool at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive
  • Meeting room with fax and copy services
Location
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is located just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Walk to eight nearby restaurants. A half-hour drive to Pigeon Forge takes you to some of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.
Rooms
The 126 tastefully decorated guest rooms at this three-story, exterior corridor hotel are done in simple cream tones with cherry-colored wood furniture. Select rooms at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive have work desks, flat-screen TVs and sleeper sofas. High-end amenities such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses pamper. Expect a coffee maker, refrigerator and cable TV in every room. The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details). Local calls and high-speed Internet access are free, as is a daily newspaper.
Features
An outdoor pool area with cement deck, umbrella and chairs helps those traveling for business or leisure unwind at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive. Another good place to let it all go: the fitness room with basic equipment and television. A coin-operated guest laundry room means you can pack light.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Knoxville Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Knoxville Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • University of Tennessee (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old City Historic District (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Alex Haley Statue at Haley Heritage Square (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Dollywood (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (35.6 mi/57.3 km)
  • Gatlinburg (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • An 800-square-foot meeting room
  • Copy and fax machines
  • Free high-speed Internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Merchants Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.0116 -83.97
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 14.00, MI, S; Knoxville Dwtwn Island Airpo, (DKX), 6.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-75 @ Exit 108

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing Room
Knoxville, TN
Jan 10, 2013

A one night stay at Quality Inn Merchants Drive in Knoxville, TN 37912

Entered the room on the evening of January 4, 2013 & it was very very cold The thermostat read 42 degrees. I adjusted the temp and 45 minutes later it reached 49. I called the front desk & was advised to give it some time. After about 3 hours it finally reached 52 then completely stopped working. I called the front desk again & was advised that maintenance staff was unavailable that evening & I was then switched to a different room. This room was cold as well & took at least an hour to warm up but the heat functioned properly. I was told by the front desk that in order to save on utilities, they turn the heat completely off in all the rooms. Guest comfort was certainly not this hotels # 1 priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOMAB1914
Knoxville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE EXPRESSWAYS IT WAY EASYER

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
May 25, 2011

Good Value for your money!

This hotel was exactly as described! The Room was very clean and well appointed. It had everything that I needed, including a safe. The bathroom was very clean. The outdoor pool looked clean and inviting, even though I did not get a chance to use it! The Breakfast was very good and hot! Overall I would stay at this hotel again and I would recommend that you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of Restaurants within a short drive or short walk!

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
May 25, 2011

Good Value for your money!

This hotel was exactly as described! The Room was very clean and well appointed. It had everything that I needed, including a safe. The bathroom was very clean. The outdoor pool looked clean and inviting, even though I did not get a chance to use it! The Breakfast was very good and hot! Overall I would stay at this hotel again and I would recommend that you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of Restaurants within a short drive or short walk!

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Datsun
NYC
Apr 25, 2011

Comfortable overnight stay

Hotel is farther from the airport than I expected. Other than distance from airport it was in a good location, walk to a variety of restaurants (waffle house, o'charleys, Mexican, are within sight). Room was clean and comfortable. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only problem I had was a limited amount of power outlets, had to unplug a light for my phone charger. Free WiFi, but slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Datsun
NYC
Apr 25, 2011

Comfortable overnight stay

Hotel is farther from the airport than I expected. Other than distance from airport it was in a good location, walk to a variety of restaurants (waffle house, o'charleys, Mexican, are within sight). Room was clean and comfortable. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only problem I had was a limited amount of power outlets, had to unplug a light for my phone charger. Free WiFi, but slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, IN
Jun 13, 2010

Not well pleased

I was not pleased with the staff person who checked me in. [...]The upholstered chair and footstool had stains on them and I didn't want to sit there. There was no microwave in the room and it wasn't until I checked out that I found you had to ask for one and it would be put in your room. [...] Had I had not been so discouraged when I first check in, I may have asked for another room and complained about the chair and no microwave. But when I was told there was nothing that could be done about my request for nonsmoking, complaining about anything else didn't seem an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, IN
Jun 13, 2010

Not well pleased

I was not pleased with the staff person who checked me in. [...]The upholstered chair and footstool had stains on them and I didn't want to sit there. There was no microwave in the room and it wasn't until I checked out that I found you had to ask for one and it would be put in your room. [...] Had I had not been so discouraged when I first check in, I may have asked for another room and complained about the chair and no microwave. But when I was told there was nothing that could be done about my request for nonsmoking, complaining about anything else didn't seem an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oak Hill, WV
Sep 7, 2009

I was impressed

The quality to price ratio is decent. There was 3 things I didn't like about my room. 1. Coffee machine had not been cleaned. They have those instant coffee machines and some goober clogged up the water reservoir with coffee grindings. 2. Hair in the shower. Pretty gross actually. 3. Room was tiny and the furniture was crammed in. The staff was nice and prompt. Asked for a late check-out and was given until 1pm. Pool looked nice and the grounds were clean and kept up. Room was clean with the exception of the 2 things I mentioned above. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you don't use the in-room safe make sure you mention that when you checkout. There's a $1.50 charge if you don't.

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oak Hill, WV
Sep 7, 2009

I was impressed

The quality to price ratio is decent. There was 3 things I didn't like about my room. 1. Coffee machine had not been cleaned. They have those instant coffee machines and some goober clogged up the water reservoir with coffee grindings. 2. Hair in the shower. Pretty gross actually. 3. Room was tiny and the furniture was crammed in. The staff was nice and prompt. Asked for a late check-out and was given until 1pm. Pool looked nice and the grounds were clean and kept up. Room was clean with the exception of the 2 things I mentioned above. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you don't use the in-room safe make sure you mention that when you checkout. There's a $1.50 charge if you don't.

Back to menu Return to top