$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

2 stars
117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
34 reviews
IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY See full review

  • GOMAB1914
  • Oct 27, 2011
Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 21, 2011
Budget Knoxville hotel with plenty of in-room and hotel amenities
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Rooms have standard amenities such as coffee makers and refrigerators but also offer extras such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses. Guests enjoy free continental breakfast with coffee, free high-speed Internet and free newspaper. An outdoor pool is a bonus. The hotel caters to business travelers with a meeting room and fax and copy services.
Highlights
  • Budget hotel located outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions
  • Free continental breakfast, Internet and daily newspaper
  • Outdoor pool at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive
  • Meeting room with fax and copy services
Location
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is located just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Walk to eight nearby restaurants. A half-hour drive to Pigeon Forge takes you to some of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.
Rooms
The 126 tastefully decorated guest rooms at this three-story, exterior corridor hotel are done in simple cream tones with cherry-colored wood furniture. Select rooms at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive have work desks, flat-screen TVs and sleeper sofas. High-end amenities such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses pamper. Expect a coffee maker, refrigerator and cable TV in every room. The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details). Local calls and high-speed Internet access are free, as is a daily newspaper.
Features
An outdoor pool area with cement deck, umbrella and chairs helps those traveling for business or leisure unwind at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive. Another good place to let it all go: the fitness room with basic equipment and television. A coin-operated guest laundry room means you can pack light.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Knoxville Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Knoxville Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • University of Tennessee (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old City Historic District (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Alex Haley Statue at Haley Heritage Square (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Dollywood (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (35.6 mi/57.3 km)
  • Gatlinburg (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • An 800-square-foot meeting room
  • Copy and fax machines
  • Free high-speed Internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Merchants Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.0116 -83.97
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 14.00, MI, S; Knoxville Dwtwn Island Airpo, (DKX), 6.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-75 @ Exit 108

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
11 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
Henry J
Kingsport, TN, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Great place to stay for the price

The staff and location were both great. The room was clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2011

We don't have crepe-myrtle in Indy!

We were tired from a mountain hike when we got to Knoxville, so were were thrilled to discover an elevator to help us get our luggage to the second floor. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was good, and the motel's grounds were filled with beautiful crepe-myrtle trees in full bloom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When coming into Cincinatti from Knoxville, the city skyline viewed from across the Ohio River is spectacular.

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
black barbie
Pickering, ON
Apr 12, 2011

On route to Florida

First stop on our trip into Florida. The location was great. We were well received by the receptionist but during checkout the morning receptionist was not engaged or pleasant. The room was filthy. We found evidence of food crumbs on the floor and hair in the bathroom. Breakfast was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across the street Pueblos was great in terms of service and food

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Easley SC
Jan 21, 2011

Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was really terrific. The room was clean, and the facilities were clean. The hotel is in an area smothered in restaurants, and we ate at Puleo's across the street. About $20/pp, and really great food. It is close to I-75 with easy on/off. The hotel sign is small where you turn in, and can be confusing to see the entrance, with the hotel behind a building. But that was our only complaint. Just watch for the small sign by the road and turn there. (just past the light). We plan to stay there again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puleo's Grille. Dishes ran from around $10 and up. Most were around 15 and with drink and a tip wound up 20 per person. Food is very well worth it, and we saw all age groups and lots of families eating there.

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
jhf
New Orleans
Jul 7, 2010

Comfortable, clean and crammed

We spend our two days downtown, and only returned to the hotel to sleep. The breakfast was average. Location is good with direct interstate access to downtown. The room was very crowded with furniture, but very comfortable bed and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Aurora, Il.
Feb 21, 2010

Very Pleasant Stay

Very nice, clean, and reasonable hotel. Breakfast was very good and staff very accomodating and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
clarksville tn
Jan 19, 2010

Great price with good location, met need

Great price- could have a few more amenities, but the bathroom was large and the bed linens were comfy. The rooms and lobby were clean and we got a hot breakfast in the morning. The evening front desk attendant was very nice and took care of all our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
WI
Sep 27, 2009

Great value

We stopped for a single night as we were driving through. Very easy and friendly check-in, large, comfortable room, great breakfast in the morning. An excellent value. Will definitely plan to stay here again for for future trips. Each room has an exterior door, which added a bit of noise, but nothing too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
Tammy dog mom
Tampa, Florida
Aug 3, 2009

Great stay!

My husband and I were visiting for my aunt's 80th birthday. We were driving from Tampa, Florida and only spending one day there. By the time we arrived we were exhausted. The desk clerk was very nice (at 11:30 @ night) and checked me in without hesitation. I must compliment the hotel on the third pillow they have and how soft they were. That was my favorite thing. There are many resturants and stores within walking distance of the hotel. Hallelujah! A hotel that accepts pets also. I had a great time. I hope they don't change a thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many resturants of all different food types within walking distance.

Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Spartanburg SC
Jul 25, 2009

Everything as advertised

We attended a convention downtown. The hotel was very near the interstate and close to downtown. Several well known restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top