$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

2 stars
View map of 117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
34 reviews
IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY See full review

  • GOMAB1914
  • Oct 27, 2011
Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 21, 2011
Budget Knoxville hotel with plenty of in-room and hotel amenities
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Rooms have standard amenities such as coffee makers and refrigerators but also offer extras such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses. Guests enjoy free continental breakfast with coffee, free high-speed Internet and free newspaper. An outdoor pool is a bonus. The hotel caters to business travelers with a meeting room and fax and copy services.
Highlights
  • Budget hotel located outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions
  • Free continental breakfast, Internet and daily newspaper
  • Outdoor pool at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive
  • Meeting room with fax and copy services
Location
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is located just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Walk to eight nearby restaurants. A half-hour drive to Pigeon Forge takes you to some of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.
Rooms
The 126 tastefully decorated guest rooms at this three-story, exterior corridor hotel are done in simple cream tones with cherry-colored wood furniture. Select rooms at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive have work desks, flat-screen TVs and sleeper sofas. High-end amenities such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses pamper. Expect a coffee maker, refrigerator and cable TV in every room. The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details). Local calls and high-speed Internet access are free, as is a daily newspaper.
Features
An outdoor pool area with cement deck, umbrella and chairs helps those traveling for business or leisure unwind at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive. Another good place to let it all go: the fitness room with basic equipment and television. A coin-operated guest laundry room means you can pack light.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Knoxville Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Knoxville Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • University of Tennessee (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old City Historic District (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Alex Haley Statue at Haley Heritage Square (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Dollywood (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (35.6 mi/57.3 km)
  • Gatlinburg (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • An 800-square-foot meeting room
  • Copy and fax machines
  • Free high-speed Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Merchants Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing Room
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jan 10, 2013

A one night stay at Quality Inn Merchants Drive in Knoxville, TN 37912

Entered the room on the evening of January 4, 2013 & it was very very cold The thermostat read 42 degrees. I adjusted the temp and 45 minutes later it reached 49. I called the front desk & was advised to give it some time. After about 3 hours it finally reached 52 then completely stopped working. I called the front desk again & was advised that maintenance staff was unavailable that evening & I was then switched to a different room. This room was cold as well & took at least an hour to warm up but the heat functioned properly. I was told by the front desk that in order to save on utilities, they turn the heat completely off in all the rooms. Guest comfort was certainly not this hotels # 1 priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pickering, ON
Apr 12, 2011

On route to Florida

First stop on our trip into Florida. The location was great. We were well received by the receptionist but during checkout the morning receptionist was not engaged or pleasant. The room was filthy. We found evidence of food crumbs on the floor and hair in the bathroom. Breakfast was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across the street Pueblos was great in terms of service and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ellie raccoon
Business
NC
Aug 11, 2013

Bad choice

Staff very nice, but room TOO SMALL. Carpet and tub were dirty. Room was nonsmoking but the smell was bad ! Air conditioner was so noisy you could not hear TV. Was going to stay 2 nights but checked out after 1 night and went to different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, IN
Jun 13, 2010

Not well pleased

I was not pleased with the staff person who checked me in. [...]The upholstered chair and footstool had stains on them and I didn't want to sit there. There was no microwave in the room and it wasn't until I checked out that I found you had to ask for one and it would be put in your room. [...] Had I had not been so discouraged when I first check in, I may have asked for another room and complained about the chair and no microwave. But when I was told there was nothing that could be done about my request for nonsmoking, complaining about anything else didn't seem an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, TN
Jan 18, 2010

Interesting

The room we stayed in was really small. It also had a very odd smell. I twice saw a spider (one ended up on my daughter). The remote to the TV did not work and there was a strange dripping sound that came from the bathroom. We never saw any water, but we sure heard it. Breakfast was good and the staff in the morning was nice. Very interesting experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food within a short walk of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Thang
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Great hotel

We have stayed here twice for a quick visit and it meets our needs. Not fancy but great for just a quick stay. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPBMC
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2012

Not bad at all

Rooms are small, but ours was very clean. The beds and pillows were amazingly good. No old faded comforters like a lot of older motels have. Staff was out making sure the parking lot and areas were clean of trash/debris. If you are expecting a $200 room for the price you pay here, you will be disappointed, but if you want a clean room with good beds at a decent value, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Louis on Old Broadway, just a short 5 miles away by interstate travel. Great lasagna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess221
Business
Columbus, Georgia
Apr 14, 2013

Great for the price!

The hotel was average, nothing fancy. We did have a problem with our room keys. they wouldnt work. If you need a cheap place to stay that's close to everything, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
clarksville tn
Jan 19, 2010

Great price with good location, met need

Great price- could have a few more amenities, but the bathroom was large and the bed linens were comfy. The rooms and lobby were clean and we got a hot breakfast in the morning. The evening front desk attendant was very nice and took care of all our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Sep 29, 2010

Would recommend

Desk staff was great, went the extra mile to help. Very comfortable room, great breakfast, easy on and off freeway...when back to this area will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top