$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

2 stars
117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
34 reviews
IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY See full review

  • GOMAB1914
  • Oct 27, 2011
Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 21, 2011
Budget Knoxville hotel with plenty of in-room and hotel amenities
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Rooms have standard amenities such as coffee makers and refrigerators but also offer extras such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses. Guests enjoy free continental breakfast with coffee, free high-speed Internet and free newspaper. An outdoor pool is a bonus. The hotel caters to business travelers with a meeting room and fax and copy services.
Highlights
  • Budget hotel located outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions
  • Free continental breakfast, Internet and daily newspaper
  • Outdoor pool at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive
  • Meeting room with fax and copy services
Location
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is located just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Walk to eight nearby restaurants. A half-hour drive to Pigeon Forge takes you to some of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.
Rooms
The 126 tastefully decorated guest rooms at this three-story, exterior corridor hotel are done in simple cream tones with cherry-colored wood furniture. Select rooms at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive have work desks, flat-screen TVs and sleeper sofas. High-end amenities such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses pamper. Expect a coffee maker, refrigerator and cable TV in every room. The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details). Local calls and high-speed Internet access are free, as is a daily newspaper.
Features
An outdoor pool area with cement deck, umbrella and chairs helps those traveling for business or leisure unwind at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive. Another good place to let it all go: the fitness room with basic equipment and television. A coin-operated guest laundry room means you can pack light.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Knoxville Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Knoxville Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • University of Tennessee (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old City Historic District (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Alex Haley Statue at Haley Heritage Square (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Dollywood (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (35.6 mi/57.3 km)
  • Gatlinburg (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • An 800-square-foot meeting room
  • Copy and fax machines
  • Free high-speed Internet

Hotel Map

36.0116 -83.97
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 14.00, MI, S; Knoxville Dwtwn Island Airpo, (DKX), 6.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-75 @ Exit 108

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Merchants Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ky Wonder
Business
Northern KY
Jun 15, 2009

GREAT DEAL for the price!!

The location was just minutes to downtown. The desk staff and the housekeepers were helpful and professional. The room was a little small, but had everything we needed and was clean with plenty of nice towels. The pool was clean with sufficient chairs for everyone swimming. Daily FRESH BAKED COOKIES free!!! Can't beat that. Breakfast had more than enough choices of good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOMAB1914
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE EXPRESSWAYS IT WAY EASYER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easley SC
Jan 21, 2011

Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was really terrific. The room was clean, and the facilities were clean. The hotel is in an area smothered in restaurants, and we ate at Puleo's across the street. About $20/pp, and really great food. It is close to I-75 with easy on/off. The hotel sign is small where you turn in, and can be confusing to see the entrance, with the hotel behind a building. But that was our only complaint. Just watch for the small sign by the road and turn there. (just past the light). We plan to stay there again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puleo's Grille. Dishes ran from around $10 and up. Most were around 15 and with drink and a tip wound up 20 per person. Food is very well worth it, and we saw all age groups and lots of families eating there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammy dog mom
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 3, 2009

Great stay!

My husband and I were visiting for my aunt's 80th birthday. We were driving from Tampa, Florida and only spending one day there. By the time we arrived we were exhausted. The desk clerk was very nice (at 11:30 @ night) and checked me in without hesitation. I must compliment the hotel on the third pillow they have and how soft they were. That was my favorite thing. There are many resturants and stores within walking distance of the hotel. Hallelujah! A hotel that accepts pets also. I had a great time. I hope they don't change a thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many resturants of all different food types within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Sep 29, 2010

Would recommend

Desk staff was great, went the extra mile to help. Very comfortable room, great breakfast, easy on and off freeway...when back to this area will stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry J
Business
Kingsport, TN, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Great place to stay for the price

The staff and location were both great. The room was clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
salbot
Business
Graeagle, CA
Jul 1, 2012

great stay

Rarely am I impressed with a hotel costing <$100/night, but this was the exception. Highly recommended, great room, with pretty complete breakfast, nice pool, and helpful staff. Pretty quiet too (and prefect location for my specific needs).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara B
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 26, 2012

Very pleased!

This hotel was very nice compared to the 3 star hotel we stayed at the next two nights. The rooms had recently been updated (new paint, carpet, tv) and the beds were comfortable. The room was very clean. The hotel staff were very nice and the free breakfast was a bonus for us since we spend so much money on food while traveling. We were not seeking excellence, just a place to crash mid-travel, and we were extremely happy. There was also a lot nearby, including restaurants and a Starbucks. The pool was also very clean, even though we did not have time to use it. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Datsun
Business
NYC
Apr 25, 2011

Comfortable overnight stay

Hotel is farther from the airport than I expected. Other than distance from airport it was in a good location, walk to a variety of restaurants (waffle house, o'charleys, Mexican, are within sight). Room was clean and comfortable. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only problem I had was a limited amount of power outlets, had to unplug a light for my phone charger. Free WiFi, but slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 1, 2011

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Very good for the price. Free wifi, cable, fridge, and free breakfast. Breakfast was biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, cereal, fruits, toast, bagels, and yogurt. Not great, but does the job. Service was friendly, especially the cute girl at the counter. room was very clean. Paid about $60 all in. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top