$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Quality Inn Merchants Drive

2 stars
117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
34 reviews
IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY See full review

  • GOMAB1914
  • Oct 27, 2011
Definitely Worth Staying

I read the reviews. Most were good. So we booked a queen no smoking room. The guy at check-in was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 21, 2011
Budget Knoxville hotel with plenty of in-room and hotel amenities
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Rooms have standard amenities such as coffee makers and refrigerators but also offer extras such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses. Guests enjoy free continental breakfast with coffee, free high-speed Internet and free newspaper. An outdoor pool is a bonus. The hotel caters to business travelers with a meeting room and fax and copy services.
Highlights
  • Budget hotel located outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions
  • Free continental breakfast, Internet and daily newspaper
  • Outdoor pool at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive
  • Meeting room with fax and copy services
Location
The Quality Inn Merchants Drive is located just outside of downtown Knoxville near major attractions such as the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Convention Center and Knoxville Museum of Art. Walk to eight nearby restaurants. A half-hour drive to Pigeon Forge takes you to some of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.
Rooms
The 126 tastefully decorated guest rooms at this three-story, exterior corridor hotel are done in simple cream tones with cherry-colored wood furniture. Select rooms at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive have work desks, flat-screen TVs and sleeper sofas. High-end amenities such as down pillows and pillow-top mattresses pamper. Expect a coffee maker, refrigerator and cable TV in every room. The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply, call for details). Local calls and high-speed Internet access are free, as is a daily newspaper.
Features
An outdoor pool area with cement deck, umbrella and chairs helps those traveling for business or leisure unwind at the Quality Inn Merchants Drive. Another good place to let it all go: the fitness room with basic equipment and television. A coin-operated guest laundry room means you can pack light.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
Attractions
  • Knoxville Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Knoxville Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • University of Tennessee (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old City Historic District (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Alex Haley Statue at Haley Heritage Square (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Dollywood (35 mi/56.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (35.6 mi/57.3 km)
  • Gatlinburg (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (45.2 mi/72.7 km)
Business
  • An 800-square-foot meeting room
  • Copy and fax machines
  • Free high-speed Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Merchants Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Neyland Stadium: 4.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOMAB1914
Knoxville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE EXPRESSWAYS IT WAY EASYER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ellie raccoon
Business
NC
Aug 11, 2013

Bad choice

Staff very nice, but room TOO SMALL. Carpet and tub were dirty. Room was nonsmoking but the smell was bad ! Air conditioner was so noisy you could not hear TV. Was going to stay 2 nights but checked out after 1 night and went to different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess221
Business
Columbus, Georgia
Apr 14, 2013

Great for the price!

The hotel was average, nothing fancy. We did have a problem with our room keys. they wouldnt work. If you need a cheap place to stay that's close to everything, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing Room
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jan 10, 2013

A one night stay at Quality Inn Merchants Drive in Knoxville, TN 37912

Entered the room on the evening of January 4, 2013 & it was very very cold The thermostat read 42 degrees. I adjusted the temp and 45 minutes later it reached 49. I called the front desk & was advised to give it some time. After about 3 hours it finally reached 52 then completely stopped working. I called the front desk again & was advised that maintenance staff was unavailable that evening & I was then switched to a different room. This room was cold as well & took at least an hour to warm up but the heat functioned properly. I was told by the front desk that in order to save on utilities, they turn the heat completely off in all the rooms. Guest comfort was certainly not this hotels # 1 priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara B
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 26, 2012

Very pleased!

This hotel was very nice compared to the 3 star hotel we stayed at the next two nights. The rooms had recently been updated (new paint, carpet, tv) and the beds were comfortable. The room was very clean. The hotel staff were very nice and the free breakfast was a bonus for us since we spend so much money on food while traveling. We were not seeking excellence, just a place to crash mid-travel, and we were extremely happy. There was also a lot nearby, including restaurants and a Starbucks. The pool was also very clean, even though we did not have time to use it. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
salbot
Business
Graeagle, CA
Jul 1, 2012

great stay

Rarely am I impressed with a hotel costing <$100/night, but this was the exception. Highly recommended, great room, with pretty complete breakfast, nice pool, and helpful staff. Pretty quiet too (and prefect location for my specific needs).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPBMC
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2012

Not bad at all

Rooms are small, but ours was very clean. The beds and pillows were amazingly good. No old faded comforters like a lot of older motels have. Staff was out making sure the parking lot and areas were clean of trash/debris. If you are expecting a $200 room for the price you pay here, you will be disappointed, but if you want a clean room with good beds at a decent value, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Louis on Old Broadway, just a short 5 miles away by interstate travel. Great lasagna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Thang
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Great hotel

We have stayed here twice for a quick visit and it meets our needs. Not fancy but great for just a quick stay. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry J
Business
Kingsport, TN, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Great place to stay for the price

The staff and location were both great. The room was clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOMAB1914
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

IT WAS AMAZING

THE TUB IN THE BATHROOM AND IT RIGHT THERE AT THE HIGHWAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE EXPRESSWAYS IT WAY EASYER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2011

We don't have crepe-myrtle in Indy!

We were tired from a mountain hike when we got to Knoxville, so were were thrilled to discover an elevator to help us get our luggage to the second floor. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was good, and the motel's grounds were filled with beautiful crepe-myrtle trees in full bloom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When coming into Cincinatti from Knoxville, the city skyline viewed from across the Ohio River is spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top