$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

4 stars
915 Garden Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
191 reviews
Wonderful

From start to finish, I've had a wonderful experience with this company. Definitely worth every... See full review

  • Amy Kang
  • Jul 7, 2014
Perfect family getaway

Very nice !! Pleasantly surprised. I booked two rooms because we had two families. The first day we... See full review

  • sugarpapa1856
  • Jun 27, 2014
Rustic mountain resort with splashy amenities
The 70-acre Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa looks more like a rustic mountain lodge than a hotel. Most of the suites come with riverside or mountain views, along with full kitchens. The adjacent Wild Bear Falls water park has a lazy river, slides and plenty of kid-centric fun. Barbecue is on the menu at the on-site Westgate Smokehouse Grill, and appetizers and drinks are served at the Mason Jar Lounge. There is a full spa.
Highlights
  • Suites have views and full kitchens and some have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs
  • Adjacent water park with lazy river and slides
  • Full spa offers hot stone massages, manicures, pedicures and facials
Rustic mountain resort spread across 70 acres in Gatlinburg
Location
The Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa is near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Trolley service takes guests from the resort to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to see such sites as Dollywood and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies.
Rooms
Rooms at the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa range from a 312-square-foot studio with queen bed and sleeper sofa to a 3,600-square-foot five-bedroom suite. All suites have full kitchens and balconies and two-bedrooms and up have washers and dryers. High-speed Internet access is available for a fee. The hotel allows pets (fees apply, call for details).
Dining
The seasonal Westgate Smokehouse Grill has a focus on Southern cuisine such as St. Louis-style ribs and is open for breakfast and dinner. The adjacent Mason Jar Lounge serves appetizers and drinks at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa.
Recreation
The adjacent year-round Wild Bear Falls water park (fees apply) has 60,000-square-feet of aquatic fun. The park has a retractable roof, a 900-foot lazy river and a zero entry pool. There are two on-site heated seasonal outdoor pools, two hot tubs, a 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour marketplace and playground. The activities program has free or low-cost activities such as crafts, water aerobics and wine and cheese socials. Serenity Spa is open Monday through Saturday and offers services such as facials and manicures.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27 mi/43.5 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Dollywood (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • WonderWorks (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • \Wild Bear Falls Water Park closed for maintenance and repairs from Monday, January 27th to Sunday, February 2nd. The Roaring Fork Snack Bar will also be closed during this time period. The water park will be reopened on Monday, February 3rd.
  • The property collects a nightly resort fee of $9.95 that covers the following resort services: Wi-Fi access, local calls, use of fitness center, in-room safe deposit box and boarding pass printing.
  • Pet Policy: One pet (one cat or dog) under 60 lbs. is allowed. A $75 refundable deposit is required at check-in, and if there is no damage upon check-out, the deposit will be returned. A separate $80 non-refundable cleaning fee is required at check-out.  There are breed limitations. Guests with service animals will not be charged any of the above fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.7313 -83.5187
Area served
Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort is located at the entrance to the Smoky Mountains.
Nearby airports
TYS - Knoxville
Area description
Dolly wood, Skiing (in season), Golf, Arts & Crafts, Antiques, Tennis, Whitewater Rafting, Nature Hiking

Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa Rooms

Studio
This 312 Sq Ft studio features a queen bed, double sleeper sofa, full bathroom with stall shower, kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator, 2-burner stovetop and coffee maker, and cable TV with DVD player. Accommodates up to 4 guests.
One Bedroom Villa
The 546 Sq Ft One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Villa features a king bed, queen sleeper sofa, full bathroom with stall shower, fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner stovetop and coffee maker, a separate dining area and cable TV with DVD player. Accommodates up to 4 guests.
One Bedroom Deluxe King Bed Villa
The 780 Sq Ft One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Deluxe King Bed Villa features a king bed, queen sleeper sofa, full private bathroom with jetted tub, fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and coffee maker, a separate dining area with fireplace, cable TV with DVD player and a furnished balcony. Accommodates up to 4 guests.
One Bedroom Deluxe Two Full Beds Villa
This 870 Sq Ft villa features two double beds, a queen sleeper sofa, full private bathroom with jetted tub, fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker and a separate dining area, cable TV with DVD player and a furnished balcony. Accommodates up to 6 guests.
Two Bedroom Villa
The 1,230 Sq Ft Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Villas feature a king bed in the master bedroom with jetted tub and private bathroom, a queen bed in the guestroom with connecting full bath with shower/tub combination, one queen and one double sleeper sofa in the separate living areas, a fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and coffee maker, a separate dining area with fireplace, washer/dryer, cable TV with DVD player and a furnished balcony or patio. Accommodates up to 8 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Smokehouse Grill
Enjoy award-winning barbecue at the casual Smokehouse Grill, which serves breakfast and dinner daily (seasonal). The Mason Jar Lounge offers full bar service and a menu full of snacks and appetizers. In addition, a multitude of quality, family-friendly eateries and dinner shows can be found in both downtown Gatlinburg and neighboring Pigeon Forge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paula H
Fredericksburg, VA
Mar 10, 2014

Was NOT Worth it!

We booked this thinking that the watermark would be included in the price... NOT. We arrived in th elate evening, around 9pm. I expected to immediately shower, then off to bed. I had driven for two days. I turned the shower on only to be sprayed all over, including my bed clothes, and the bathroom! I had to get drenched to turn off the water. I called, maintenance has a recording. Housekeeping, has a recording. Front desk, said they would send immediate help. It was 30 minutes later, the "help" wasn't told what happened, so he was not prepared. He said he would get a new fixture (after he got sprayed too), didn't here from anyone for 45 minutes. I called front desk, they promptly told me he couldn't find anything to repair the shower. By this time, its 11:45 pm. They actually expected me to wait until whatever time so that he could repair it. They weren't sure how long. I said I'm going toned, I'm extremely tired. They asked what time he could fix it in the am, I said after check out. Never ever again will I stay here, or recommend this place to anyone. I drove 8 more hours to my home without a shower.My family did too. Gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery Alabama
Apr 29, 2010

Disappointing

Checked in at around 1am after a long, long drive. Ad touts 24 hour convenience store. When checking in, walked over to get something to drink. After bringing it to the desk, was told no alcohol sold after midnight, that we had to go to a convenience store downtown. So we decided to skip that, just take a shower and go to bed. Couldn't do that either, as there was no soap in the room. Had to get dressed again, get in the car and drive down to the check in desk. Had to BUY soap at the convenience store. I've never stayed in a room where it wasn't a standard thing to have a small soap for showering and hand washing. Room cheaply furnished-I expected real wood for a Smokey Mountain Resort. This was more like a high priced Motel 6. Room view was a stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta
Oct 19, 2008

Just plain

Very thin walls and floor No bath tub in our unit. I would not recommend this place to any one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to downtown

Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed with Dolly
Jacksonville, FL
Oct 25, 2011

Worst hotel experience of my life

Don't be misled by the pictures online. I walked into my room and was stunned to see how tiny it was for the amount I was paying to stay there. Right after checking in I was given a tour by a hotel employee that was so unnecessary and irritating I was ready to explode. She then followed us into our room and walked us through twenty-some brochures for cheesy tourist attractions as if we were illiterate and incapable of reading them ourselves, followed by the obligatory "hold-your-hand-out-like-your-shaking-hands-and-being-friendly-but-really-you're-asking-for-a-tip" move. To get into my room, you had to walk through a door that essentially led into a small hallway with a washer/dryer (that we shared with another room) and a doorway into someone else's room. That meant that whenever someone was coming or going from the other room, you would hear not one but two doors slam. The cleaning crew arrived every morning promptly at 7:00 AM and wheeled their loud plastic-wheeled carts around on the cement floors just outside our window to clean the room of whatever guest had just left. If you were planning on sleeping in on your vacation, you can forget about that. Slamming doors, washer/dryers, and cart wheels on concrete will be all you hear. If you're into tremendously gaudy pictures of the hotel's owner doing a shameless self-promotion by posting a giant autographed picture of himself with the 100% plastic 100% classless Dolly Parton, then by all means get a room here. However, if you go to the mountains for relaxation, privacy, and comfort, I would look elsewhere. I will NEVER stay at a Westgate Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Good luck driving to Gatlinburg in October. We sat on the highway for an hour before turning around. I would just walk.

Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crazy for staying
Clarksville, Tn
Apr 18, 2010

Disappointment

Hotel was hard to find, fees for internet and customer service was not good. The walls were thin and the rooms were small. The waterpark was an additional fee. Will stay at WILDERNESS AT THE SMOKIES next time. Check out was 10 am and the staff was out cleaning before 8 and they were noisy. The staff stayed on the phones and left customers waiting.:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Upset Teacher
Marion, IL
Nov 7, 2009

Great place, horrible service!

The resort was great!!! Staff didn't know what they were doing. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Upset Teacher
Marion, IL
Nov 7, 2009

Great place, horrible service!

The resort was great!!! Staff didn't know what they were doing. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery Alabama
Apr 29, 2010

Disappointing

Checked in at around 1am after a long, long drive. Ad touts 24 hour convenience store. When checking in, walked over to get something to drink. After bringing it to the desk, was told no alcohol sold after midnight, that we had to go to a convenience store downtown. So we decided to skip that, just take a shower and go to bed. Couldn't do that either, as there was no soap in the room. Had to get dressed again, get in the car and drive down to the check in desk. Had to BUY soap at the convenience store. I've never stayed in a room where it wasn't a standard thing to have a small soap for showering and hand washing. Room cheaply furnished-I expected real wood for a Smokey Mountain Resort. This was more like a high priced Motel 6. Room view was a stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta
Oct 19, 2008

Just plain

Very thin walls and floor No bath tub in our unit. I would not recommend this place to any one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to downtown

Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ohio Joe
Hamilton, Ohio
May 10, 2013

Beautiful outside - cold cold inside.

Spent the weekend in the last of Feb - 1st of March. We travel this area every year and wanted to stay here as it is a beautiful property. We had meetings Friday morning in Gatlinburg. My wife got up to take a bath in the Jacuzzi tub, One inch of water and we ran out. Called maintenance. They responded quickly only to tell us this unit only comes with a 15 gallon tank. Don't feel bad its worse when you have families with kids. The hot water did not recover before our appt. Cold showers??? Why would such a property with a Jacuzzi tub, dishwasher, and kitchen only have a mini hot water heater (located outside on the roof)????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top