$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 915 Garden Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveller
Business
Piscataway, New Jersey
Jul 5, 2012

Great town for family vacation not hotel

Takes too long to check in and overall seem not have personal attention. The pool size is quite small for a resort and quite dirty actually. The room is nice but no daily house keeping or even a courtesy call to check if we need it. Thus, they even have the direction for us to clean out prior check out like taking off the pillow cases, bed sheets, etc...I thought we pay expensive rate for them to take care of these..this is an ok hotel..certainly can spend money on cheaper hotel right on the main street of pigeon forge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Radi
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Too many families, too little help

We arrived late, and, tired and ready to relax, had to walk to get to the check in, then wait 20 minutes in a line to check in, then follow a golf cart to our room, which we couldn't park next to, but had to go down and up steps and walk with our bags for 50 yards or so. It was quite disappointing to have to go to so much trouble just to rest and then have to use a hide-a-bed to sleep on. The help was nice, but everything was not explained at the first so we were constantly calling to ask for help. The pool was very crowded and full of teenagers making out. All in all it was stressful and not as relaxing as we had hoped, especially for the price of the rooms there. We won't go back. The resort is an attempt at an upscale national park cabin resort with the cost, but no luxury. When we stayed at the Doubletree in Gatlinburg, it was cheaper and much more upscale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mERITA
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

TOO SMALL

i HAD TO PAY $ 300MORE TO CHANGE THE ROOM, THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL FOR 4 PEOPLE, ONE FULL BED AND ONE FULL SOFABED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JodyP
Business
Florida, USA
Dec 31, 2011

A Great Place to Stay!

Our family just needed a few days to get away and relax! The room was a big surprise...private bedroom and pullout couch in a livingroom with a gas fireplace. The kitchen is stocked with utensils and such, and there's even a washer/dryer combo...all with the amenities of a resort. There are larger lodges, but for two adults and two kids, this was perfect...much more than you'd get from a hotel room at the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring foods to make your breakfast and lunch...not many options worth the money they charge on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
charlie321973
Business
Tazewell, TN, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

had a blast lot's of fun for kids and couples. the hotel has a bar,waterpark and a small grocery store for thing you need or might forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

it's in the middle of everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Johnson
Business
South Carolina
Nov 1, 2011

weekend getaway

Our stay was absolutly perfect.Staff was friendly and helpful,the room was clean.I didn't miss home at all.I will book this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed with Dolly
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Oct 25, 2011

Worst hotel experience of my life

Don't be misled by the pictures online. I walked into my room and was stunned to see how tiny it was for the amount I was paying to stay there. Right after checking in I was given a tour by a hotel employee that was so unnecessary and irritating I was ready to explode. She then followed us into our room and walked us through twenty-some brochures for cheesy tourist attractions as if we were illiterate and incapable of reading them ourselves, followed by the obligatory "hold-your-hand-out-like-your-shaking-hands-and-being-friendly-but-really-you're-asking-for-a-tip" move. To get into my room, you had to walk through a door that essentially led into a small hallway with a washer/dryer (that we shared with another room) and a doorway into someone else's room. That meant that whenever someone was coming or going from the other room, you would hear not one but two doors slam. The cleaning crew arrived every morning promptly at 7:00 AM and wheeled their loud plastic-wheeled carts around on the cement floors just outside our window to clean the room of whatever guest had just left. If you were planning on sleeping in on your vacation, you can forget about that. Slamming doors, washer/dryers, and cart wheels on concrete will be all you hear. If you're into tremendously gaudy pictures of the hotel's owner doing a shameless self-promotion by posting a giant autographed picture of himself with the 100% plastic 100% classless Dolly Parton, then by all means get a room here. However, if you go to the mountains for relaxation, privacy, and comfort, I would look elsewhere. I will NEVER stay at a Westgate Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Good luck driving to Gatlinburg in October. We sat on the highway for an hour before turning around. I would just walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hitchedhikers
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Perfect hiking/wedding anniversary trip

This is our 12th trip to The Smokies, and this was our favprite place to stay. It's a hidden gem in the national park and the trolley system runs from the resort to anywhere you might want to go.This was the smallest room but it was the only one left when booking. The plan is to stay longer next time and stay in a bigger room. The resort is wonderful and the staff is very friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to eat anywhere in Gatlinburg quickly, you must get there by 5 or 5:30PM. Any later than that and you will be waiting at least an hour. Use the trolley system for traveling to town. It's only .50 cents and no parking headaches or fees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Family Traveller
Business
Southern California
Jul 9, 2011

Wow! This place is amazing.

This resort was incredible. We stayed in 9 higher-end hotels on our south-east family vacation and this was by far the nicest. The resort is actually a timeshare location that offers vacant rooms for hotel guests. The suite was huge with a full-sized, fully equipped kitchen, living room with fireplace and balcony, and large bedroom with in-room hot tub (to our surprise). The complex is immense with dozens of buildings, several pools, a small grocery, restaurant, spa, concierge service for tickets/tours and (at an extra cost) a large indoor water park. The setting is charming, crawling up the side of a wooded hill. Location is outside of town, between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, which we found to be a quiet retreat from the chaos of the two towns, but you will need to drive or take a trolley to either town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ordered pizza and salad from their room service menu. Both were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dothan, al
Jul 6, 2011

Great Vacation - great place

Great resort - has everything you need. Do not have to leave. Water park is great for smaller kids. Our cabin was not as small as the reviews say, Very roomy & nice. If you have a handicap or are older - specify room as this cabin had 2 stairways to the unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top