$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

2 stars
417 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
42 reviews
Great rode trip

It was a very nice hotel staff was nice . Near all shops and food after riding the mtns all day it... See full review

  • Sickie tom
  • Sep 15, 2014
good value

Super 8 has everything a 200 dollar motel has for a realistic price thanks. I will choose super 8... See full review

  • samuel j
  • May 12, 2014
Budget Gatlinburg hotel with free Internet, breakfast, pool
The Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center is located in the heart of Gatlinburg near many tourist attractions and within walking distance to the Gatlinburg Convention Center. The three-floor exterior corridor budget hotel offers a free breakfast and high-speed Internet. All rooms have a refrigerator and coffee maker, and there is a microwave in the lobby. Guests can relax by the seasonal outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • Centrally located budget Gatlinburg hotel near convention center and tourist attractions
  • Free breakfast and high-speed Internet
  • Rooms come with a refrigerator and coffee maker
  • Seasonal outdoor pool at the Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg
Location
The Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg hotel is conveniently located just off the Parkway. It is within walking distance to a restaurant and the Gatlinburg Convention Center. Pigeon Forge attractions such as Dollywood are just a short drive away, as is the Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking trails, white water rafting and fishing.
Rooms
The three-floor, exterior corridor Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg hotel houses 60 rooms. In-room amenities include cable TV, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet, a coffee maker and refrigerator. Hair dryers and iron and ironing boards are available upon request. Rooms vary in decor, but dark carpeting and printed bedspreads are the norm. Select rooms have vaulted ceilings and fireplace.
Features
Start your day off right with a free breakfast in an airy room with vaulted ceiling and windows that look out to the town. The free high-speed wireless and free local calls add value to a stay at the Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg. A seasonal outdoor pool surrounded by chairs promotes relaxation.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.5 mi/44.3 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Dixie Stampede Dinner Attraction (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Dollywood (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (39.7 mi/63.9 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet

Hotel Map

35.707 -83.5175
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 42
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.6

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mladner
Business
Alabama
Aug 12, 2014

Great location, disgusting room

We just tried to ignore the grime. Tub had dirt in it. Dust ruffles on beds had massive stains. Ceiling was caving in. Just ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OperatorB
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jul 1, 2013

Clean & Functional

Not a luxury place but simple good shelter for our stay here in Gatlinburg. It's an easy walk from the downtown strip and the local park. The room was very clean and everything we needed was there. It had a refrigerator and microwave. The continental breakfast was passable. I would recommend it as a good, reliable budget option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CountryMomma
Business
Harlan Ky
Jun 18, 2012

Never Again

I reserved this room for 4 nights, three weeks prior to arrival... When i got there, the room had not been cleaned. There was a van parked in the parking lot with about 6 or 7 kids in it and the cleaning woman was running around with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth. That was my first impression. When I arrived to check in, the man who was at the desk spoke such with such a heavy Indian accent that I could not understand him. So a very rude lady came out and confirmed my reservation, without checking my ID. I went out and checked my room and it was filthy. I went back to the office and told the lady and she went outside and started screaming at the top of her lungs at the cleaning lady to get the reservation room clean. She told me to come back later and it would be clean and I was like, I just drove 4 hours and want to rest. Come back later? Really? So we go find a nice place to have dinner at and come back. To a dirty pool. To a hot room. In hot weather. When i check the room, there are SOILED, dirty, filthy, underwear under the sink, in the vanity. One roll of toilet tissue. Two towels. With 4 kids. I was so disgusted that I checked out the next morning and they WOULD NOT refund my other nights. I will NEVER return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to all the great dining places but totally not worth staying there..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 6, 2011

Not worth it

This was a last minute reservation[...]not worth the money paid at all, no Super 8 is, and I knew going in it wouldn't be great, but it was a holiday weekend so I assumed that was the reason for the higher charge. [...] Anyway, that made me mad of course. But then we get to our room, we were on a family trip, the reservation I made was for 2 beds, the room had 1 bed and a pull out couch. The bathroom had no door for the shower area because it was a spa tub. The couch had stains and the mirror behind the couch was very badly cracked, as if someone punched it or threw something at it. The whole set up was not acceptable and not family friendly. I called down to the front desk to get another room. Got to that other room, not much better. The hair dryer wasn't even connected to the wall like it was supposed to be, it was sitting on top of a very dusty shelf and I had to set the wall mount piece on the counter to use the dryer. The shower was not very clean, the nobs were missing pieces, my kids bed sheets had holes in them, it was just not good. If you're in a bind and need a place to stay, I wouldn't stay here but if you have no choice[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Apr 11, 2011

needs a remodel

Hotel is older and needs to be remodeled. bathroom reminded me of and old service station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarksville, TN
Mar 31, 2011

You get what you pay for.

The hotel looked nice from the outside. We drove through the beautiful mountains and got to the hotel. I went inside to check in and the man inside was very nice. I didn't know that i needed someone over the age of 21, and all i had was 2 18 year old, a 19 year old, and my newborn son. He waived the rules and let us in anyways. The room was not that bad. It had a slight musty smell but we sprayed a little febreeze and it was fine. 2 of the 3 light bulbs were blown and i called the desk and he gave me 2 new bulbs immediately. We even asked him for good food and he gave me a menu and phone number for papa johns and they even gave me a discount for it. The one thing that i did not like was that the beds were like rocks and the pillows were completely flat. I do not need big pillows but when i have to use 3 pillows and fold them it is unacceptable. Also our door handle from the inside kept coming off. WE informed the manager of that and that a lighting fixture broke and he said he would take care of them and never took the time to even look at them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you travel with young children and are going to the aquarium. Do not go to the attractions. We had a newborn and we had to carry him for most of the day because none of the attractions would let us take our stroller in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, KY
Dec 6, 2010

GoodLocation

The hotel is dated, but it was clean... the rooms are small and the bathroom is incredibly tiny and the plumbing was a bit picky... but the location can't be beat if you want a clean room near the convention center. Staff was friendly. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, but it was better than I expected. That said, the room was very overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jd Mcguinness
Business
Maineville, Ohio
Jul 25, 2010

Could've been better

Hotel was a lot farther from the Parkway then we would've liked. It was a long walk at the end of a long day. We had issues with our original room # 212. Do not stay in that room. The staff know it is a problem room, but still book it. Horrible smell!!!!!! We finally got switched to a different room. Lady at the front desk did all she could to accomodate and was nice. We booked 4 rooms for family. All rooms seemed to be damp and a slight musty smell. AC units didn't seem to be working right. It was extrememly hot during our visit so they were working extra hard. Was the price right? Yes. Would we stay there again? No way!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dewdee
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 11, 2010

Dance National Convention

The hotel stated that microwaves were available on request. I made my reservation more than 2 weeks prior to arrival yet no microwave was available to me. Contential breakfast consisteded of minimal amounts of two types of mini muffins, cereal, milk coffee, two types of juice, and make it yourself waffles.The pool water was so dirty I would not allow my daughter to swim in it, nor did I. There are several hotels on that street, one reason we chose this location was because it had a pool. I could have saved money by staying at a hotel without a pool, since the pool water was too dirty to swim in.[...]I would NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake,ohio
Jul 2, 2010

this was the worst place i have been

my trip was great my hotel was not so great [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top