Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

2 stars
View map of 417 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, KY
Dec 6, 2010

GoodLocation

The hotel is dated, but it was clean... the rooms are small and the bathroom is incredibly tiny and the plumbing was a bit picky... but the location can't be beat if you want a clean room near the convention center. Staff was friendly. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, but it was better than I expected. That said, the room was very overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 21, 2010

my Super 8 stay experience

The lady gave me the room closest to the road. When I asked for a change she said there was no rooms (there were only a couple of cars at the parking lot around 6pm). I told her I would get on Internet and check it. She then reluctantly gave me a room on the 2nd floor 3 doors away from the road. (the next morning there were only 3 other cars at the parking lot). I do not understand why she wouldn't give us a room that we can park our car directly in front. Also the "breakfast" was very minimum. The orange juice was very thin. The toilt in our room continued flushing (we had to open the lid each time to make it stop). The bathroon lightbulb went out the 3rd night but the cleaning lady did not report for a replacement... The coffe pot has some black gooey junk where you pour water in. We dared not to use it. The microwave was not cleaned when we arrived and remained so during our stay. Other than that, it was fine. The location was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose this place because it was within walking distance to downtown given the price we were quoted.

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mcminnville tn.
Nov 6, 2010

good stay at Gatlinburg

Our experience at Super 8 was very enjoyable. There were a couple of things that need to be fixed but when brought to owners attention were fixed the same day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be prepared to go up and down hills with not much parking available without paying a small fee

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Oct 22, 2010

Really, GREAT location on the strip!!

Upon arriving to the Super 8, we were SO excited to walk through the door of our room since the exterior is beautiful and looks wonderful in the fall. We walked through the door and--- could barely fit in our king sized room since the bed took up 80% of the space! Haha we laugh about it now. It was definitely NOT a "nice" hotel by any means but very budget friendly.Look, over the course of our 4 night stay, we learned to make the most of it and its charm came off on us by the 2nd day. This is an old, musty hotel but is about a 5 - 8 minute walk from the middle of the strip and the walk is very pleasant. Its right next to the log cabin pancake house (with the wagon coming off the logo) and has the BEST banana french toast, its definitely worth a shot. It was in a great location and was perfect for sleeping which was all we used it for. Please understand that this was kind of a romantic getaway, so how nice the room was didnt matter. We were in extremely good moods the whole time and had a wonderful time. Prepare your mind! The better your mood, the more you'll like it. And lets be honest, at $60 a night through [...] in the middle of october, you simply can't do better for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door, you MUST get the banana french toast at the pancake house. It is their original recipe and absolutely to DIE for!

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NW. Pennsylvania
Oct 11, 2010

Good $,needs repair

went to craft show and toured the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

buy a good pair of shoes

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deshler, OH
Oct 10, 2010

Goood location and great ptice

Clean rooms and very nice courtyard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, Tn
Aug 8, 2010

Easy access to convention ctr

Great location to return to from the day as it had a quiet atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jd Mcguinness
Business
Maineville, Ohio
Jul 25, 2010

Could've been better

Hotel was a lot farther from the Parkway then we would've liked. It was a long walk at the end of a long day. We had issues with our original room # 212. Do not stay in that room. The staff know it is a problem room, but still book it. Horrible smell!!!!!! We finally got switched to a different room. Lady at the front desk did all she could to accomodate and was nice. We booked 4 rooms for family. All rooms seemed to be damp and a slight musty smell. AC units didn't seem to be working right. It was extrememly hot during our visit so they were working extra hard. Was the price right? Yes. Would we stay there again? No way!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dewdee
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 11, 2010

Dance National Convention

The hotel stated that microwaves were available on request. I made my reservation more than 2 weeks prior to arrival yet no microwave was available to me. Contential breakfast consisteded of minimal amounts of two types of mini muffins, cereal, milk coffee, two types of juice, and make it yourself waffles.The pool water was so dirty I would not allow my daughter to swim in it, nor did I. There are several hotels on that street, one reason we chose this location was because it had a pool. I could have saved money by staying at a hotel without a pool, since the pool water was too dirty to swim in.[...]I would NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Gatlinburg Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beckley, WV
Jul 3, 2010

Great location

Well location was good. Needs some work on cleaning.. Never replace the soup in the room. I had to ask for it. But the location was great. I just needed somewhere to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best Italian Rest has great food.

Back to menu Return to top