$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
172 reviews
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

It was great loved the inside pool every one was friendly will stay here again See full review

  • whyystay
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

This Place was great quiet not to far from anything my family and I walked most of the time. The... See full review

  • whyystay
  • Jul 8, 2013
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauree T
Gatlinburg Tn
Jul 8, 2014

good couple getaway

Very nice stay,the pool very nice the parking not very good. It was away from the strip to walk .The staff was really good and helpful the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The price

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J jones
Bristol
Jun 19, 2014

Awesome pool

We had booked another hotel but fell through. We saw this online and booked as a cheap alternative. I loved the location and the swimming pool was fantastic. For the price this stay was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jilltwinmom
Central,Indiana
Mar 31, 2014

sydney james

The staff were great. Very friendly. Our room was large and nice. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try flap jacks. It was amazing!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly Wed travelers 15
East TN
Feb 11, 2014

Nice place for what you pay

Nice pool area. The hot tub is too hot. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kentucky girl
gatlinburg tn
Nov 20, 2013

great couple getaway

personnel were very helpful loved the pool area and sauna restaurant was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurant

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The collector
Cincinnati
Nov 12, 2013

Good for the price but not 3 star hotel

The location was longer from town that I expected. Very outdated for the times. The heater was real loud. For the price though is wasn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

On the way back from town, long walk up hill.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buff johnny
Chattanooga, tn
Nov 11, 2013

honeymoon getaway

Was great all around beside the couple next to our room who got in a heated argument and we didnt feel comfortable being near them so I went to the front desk and they gladly moved us without a problem. My wife and I was very happy with the rooms (I dont see were ppl get on their high horse and down a room). We will be returning again no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nannygan
Mississippi
May 28, 2013

Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health problems. Otherwise great place and reasonable rates. Staff friendly and room was clean and no loud noises..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Quite, clean, and reasonable.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
adventurewest
Atlanta, GA
Jan 24, 2013

Traveller who finds worst hotel... DON"T GO HERE

DO NOT go to this disgusting hotel. I consider myself a low maintenance person when it comes to hotels and motels, but I do expect it to be not only as advertised but also clean and professional. It is advertised as being a decently priced hotel with hot tubs and fireplaces in the rooms. We walked in to our room to be slapped in the face by the smell of a dirty gas station bathroom. The air freshener was overpowering. It smelled like a cheap toilet bowl cleaner. At first we opened the windows and the balcony door so we could turn off the heater to get rid of the smell. Our plan was to heat the room with the fireplace that ended up not even working. The carpet was nasty and I was afraid to even look into the sheets. The bathroom was tiny and the bathtub had some sort of brown film all around the floor. The paint was peeling off at some places in the room and bathroom. Once we discovered this we went to see what the pool, hot tub, and sauna had to offer. I will usually get into a pool even if it is slightly questionable, but I would not even touch the water in that pool let alone take off my shoes to get in. I could barely see the bottom due to cloudiness, hair floating around, and other debris of questionable origin. It looked like the place hadn't been cleaned in a year. I didn't get to see the sauna, because you have to check out a key to get into it. I assume this was the place to go in the 70's but it is time for a renovation and a deep clean. We ended up asking for a refund. We were pleasantly surprised that they refunded our whole bill without any argument at all. We were very thankful for that. The Hilton Hotel Park Vista was on the top of the hill above Sidney James and for a similar price with EXCEPTIONAL service, amenities, and facilities, I would recommend going to the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MRB and BAB
Orangeburg, SC
Oct 29, 2012

Me and my wife's getaway!

Our whole getaway experience was very good! Enjoyed it very much! Will go back again, hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Alot of shops to walk to and the walk really isn't a bad walk at all! We enjoyed the exercise each day walking down to shop and eat and back up the hill each night!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search