$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

2 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
186 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but... See full review

  • Zhawks02
  • Nov 24, 2014
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Property features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Nearby attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnson City, Tn,
Jul 25, 2009

Very disappointed

The hotel was within walking distance to downtown. I was extremely disappointed in the hotel for the money paid. The staff were not that friendly. The rooms were not clean. The coffee was not refilled in the room. One of the outside pools was very small and looked dirty. We did not spend anytime in the hotel due to the conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
golfer 77
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Old run down cheap motel, bad and aweful bathrooms

I am sorry to say that this is first time I came across and stayed in such a bad hotel after booking from Orbitz. The room looks, feels and smells old. The moment I turned on the A/c unit for heating( in Oct 1st week) the loud noise and the smell was unbearable. Worse to come when we checked the bathrooms. some of the worst things- The shower is not working, the hot and cold mixing was not working, it either gets too hot or too cold and the knobs even after adjusting will not work. the roof was exposed with rusty pipes. And lastly the bed sheets are smelly, not sure when was the last time the comforter was washed. Thank god for my mom's advise to carry a comforter any where you go. I had to go back to my car and get them and used for the night. The ONLY good thing is its located on historic nature trail near the entrance to roaring fork. near to gipline and craftman's fair. But if you decide to stay here or anywhere PLEASE first check the bathroom to see if shower and hot water are working the moment you step in to the room and ask for a change of room. A good lesson learned at this bad hotel. enjoy the smokies and gatlinburg, dont forget to take the skylift, its amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marine one
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Old and dingy

didn't want my body to actually touch anything in the room. Felt like I was back in the seventies. Beds were bottom of the line mattresses. They only wash the bed spreads if they "think" they need it. Old tvs. Musty smell, probably from the 20 year old carpets. Good water pressure in shower, nice indoor pool and hot tub, and they accept pets. Stay at a holiday inn express!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dogs are not allowed on national park trails in the smokies/ Appalachian trail ( within the park boundaries) so leave them in the hotel or at home or else they have to stay in your car.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ATV Granny
Business
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 16, 2011

Bad rooms

First they put us in a room that wasn't shown on the web site, it smelled of mold and you couldn't breath well. They moved us to another room which still had a slight smell of mold. The mattress was old and worn out and so were the linens. The side of one of the mattresses had what appeared to be bright red stains along the side. The commode ran most of the night and something bit me several places while I was asleep. The WORST place we have ever spent the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NannyC
Business
madison al
Oct 17, 2011

Not where I would stay for my vacation

Ok for just a place to sleep for the night. Would have been very disappointed if this was my accommodation for a vacation. Old and tired is how I would describe it. Not much to recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR. MD1106
Business
Iowa
Oct 17, 2011

Not Good

Horrible room. Bad beds. Not clean with horrible furniture. Recommend that you not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food close to this hotel.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ATV Granny
Business
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 30, 2011

Don't stay here!

One of the worse rooms I have stayed in. The beds were wore out and so was the linen and there was a large red stain on the side of the mattress. The room smelled of mold and I had bug bites all over me. Will not ever consider staying again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R Mitchell
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Not Recommended

Probably one of the worst hotels I have even had the experience to stay in. There were holes in the wall, the bathtub was discolored and stained, the bed was uncomfortable and there was a strange odor in and outside of the room. The parking was totally inadequate...I had to park over a block away from my room. We had intended to see about staying another night prior to our arrival, but as soon as we saw the room, I booked the next night a the Holiday Inn in Pigeon Forge where we will stay the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten again
Business
nc
Jul 27, 2012

save us

The Sidney sad to say has dropped on the ratings I cant put my body through that again first i was move from a pet room to a no pet room that had fleas yea i got flea bitten in a room that has had no pets across the road is where all the pets go the other side may still be ok the pool was bad but there was a lot of kids around so will give them that one beds well lets say between the ac so loud and beds that hurt your back it was not good did get sorry for the fleas from front desk wow wont stay again on that side at least

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bubba Gump shrimp was good place to eat

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mckings
Business
Cleveland TN
Nov 19, 2012

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!

Its a great location but the staff gave horrible directions to the room took 15 minutes to find the room hidden under the hotel, the room was molded, the shower ceiling was browned and the tiles were cracked, when we turned the water on to wash the babies bottle rusted brown water came out, the fridge had a half drank bottle of frozen gatoraide in the freezer, at night we could hear babies crying several doors down because the walls were soo thin, this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we take several trips every year!!!!!! We will not be using this hotel EVER again the only good thing about it was that the creek was so close to the balcony that it helped drown out the sound of the extremely loud neighbors!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great distance from shopping deffinetly not worth driving because poor parking choices!

Back to menu Return to top