$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but... See full review

  • Zhawks02
  • Nov 24, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peeps53
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Best Hotel I've Been to in awhile

The view off the balcony was just what we were looking for. Our bed was very comfortable, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. They always had answers to our questions. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We could walk down to the main street of Gatlinburg from our hotel. If you didn't feel like walking, the trolley would pick you up right outside the front of the building. Everything was clean and neat. It's an 'older' establishment, but kept up very nicely for its age. KUDOS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck234
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Nov 2, 2011

Customer Service!

We checked in right on time and the staff wasvery wonderful. The value was nothing less than perfect. Clean room, clean hotel, clean pools, clean everything. The location was nice and easily within a a very short distance to anything downtown. I have been to the area many times over the years and this has to be the best bang for my buck I ever had while visiting the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nannygan
Business
Mississippi
May 28, 2013

Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health problems. Otherwise great place and reasonable rates. Staff friendly and room was clean and no loud noises..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Quite, clean, and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroeville, in
Apr 19, 2010

wonderful stay at sidney James

We asked to be moved to a creekside room and they did so to make us happy and they did it was beautiful. We did have to check out a day early [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Its a long walk to downtown but worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 6, 2010

LOVE this place!

This hotel is a family favorite for us! The rooms are nothing special they dont have flat screen tvs or super modern furnishings but who needs all that on vacation we have that at home! This place is surrounded by natural beauty. Creekside hotels are the only way to go. Crack your door at night and listen to the creek running all night thats the best. Close walk to downtown and the pool here is georgous! waterfall pools, sauna, hot tub, really awesome staff too! I would stay here over any other place in gatlinburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a blast
Business
s kentuck
May 24, 2009

a great place to stay

this was a very restful place, i found the creek outside our balcony very relaxing and enjoyable, thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rossville, ga
Mar 24, 2010

found the greatest [...]

We went to gatlinburg to get married and we always stay at the park vista and i will never stay there again. I will stay at the sydney james mountain lodge. We got the king room with a hot tub, couch, fireplace and privet balconey. It was great. it was so nice we slept with the door open to the balconey so we could listen to the rolling stream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rossville, Georgia
Mar 29, 2010

honeymoon

We stayed in the penthouse and it was great. It was like a home away from home. We were there for our honeymoon and I couldn't think of a better place to spend it. There is a trolly stop at the front door and the penthouse's jacuzzi was AMAZING!!! I was able to lay flat down in it and neither my head or feet touched the front and bottom. You could probley fit 4 people in there comfortably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 blocks from the main strip plus the trolly stops at the front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Fun and friendly

This hotel is very kid friendly. My kids loved the pools, I especially liked the fact that they had a wading pool for my toddler. They also have a small playground in the back. It was really awsome waking up to the sound of the running stream outside of our room, which the kids later played in. We had the breakfast buffet in their Cafe'.There wasn't a wide variety, but it was inexpensive and tasted homemade. The woman cooking even made us fresh pancakes and sausage, she was sweet. I would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 15, 2007

Very family friendly

The Sidney James Mountain Lodge was comfortable. The matresses could have been softer. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped get what we needed. We liked that the bathroom was big and seperate from the sink. The location was very nice and quiet from downtown traffic. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

1) There was a restaraunt in the hotel. 2) The walk to the shopping was a little long but helped with walking off a full stomach from eating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top