$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

2 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 21, 2011

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Clean room, creekside balcony was awesome. Staff was very friendly. Only downside not enough parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonshine holler was awesome. Mellow mushroom has great pizza.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Jul 20, 2011

A Nice Little Stay

We were looking for a little extended weekend, get away but didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel. We went to Gatlinburg the previous summer and realized that most of the hotels/motels were pretty out of date, so we weren't expecting a champagne hotel on a beer budget. We were planning to spend a lot of time at the pool since the activities on the strip were so expensive. The weather forecast indicated a good chance of rain, so we wanted a hotel that had both an indoor and outdoor pool. Both pools at this hotel were very clean and well kept. The room was clean but the furnishings were a bit outdated. We had a refrigerator and coffee pot, but no microwave in the room. The staff said I could use the microwave (circa 1972) that was in the conference room. It worked, but it was a drag having to go there and hope that there wasn't a meeting going on. The Hotel was fine for the price we paid ($62/avg per night)for a long weekend. If this was our annual family vacation for a week or so, I would spend a little more money and stayed at a more modern hotel. Again, we knew going in what we were getting, so we weren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was approx .4 miles uphill from "the strip" behind the space needle. After shopping, dining, or entertainment, the uphill walk back to the hotel was exhausting. The hotel is a dedicated trolley stop, so the .50cents per person to ride back was well worth it!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, ky
Mar 23, 2011

Sidney James Hotel

Room was across the street from the main lobby and pool. There were no towels available. Poolside cafe was closed. Room was OK but smokers were next door. Overall very disappointed and very overpriced for $125.00 per night while another traveller in the lobby got the same type room for $68. will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pigeon forge, Tenessee
Mar 14, 2011

Family getaway

We had a blast, we shopped an ate dinner at some offend nicest spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tanger Outlets is the best place to shop an it's only like a 15 minute drive from the hotel.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs.SBKS
Business
Johnson City, TN
Feb 23, 2011

fine hotel.....[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find out if there are any events going on before you go it was so cowded due to a christin festival that we could hardly drive or walk any where. People would stand in the middle of the streets and sidewalks blocking the traffic flow. We had to basicly push our way through crowds of people as if we were at a crowded concert.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowling Green, KY
Dec 13, 2010

Gatlinburg after Thanksgiving

Friendly Staff. Room that was booked was not ready and dirty; however, staff immediately upgraded room free of charge. Hotel was older, but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks from downtown Gatlinburg.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rikku83
Business
Tennessee
Oct 25, 2010

It was a Good Stay

The hotel was very relaxing and enjoyable for the short length of time I stayed(Just to get away from home). The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The thing that annoyed me was the shower did not stay hot long enough, and the phone line had a lot of static. This trip was okay, but it could have been just a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you stay in Gatlinburg, I would suggest going to the Moutain Mall as one of your shopping stops, also for children as well as yourself, go to Ripley's Aquarium and the museum, depending on where you stay it may be a long walk, but walking beat payong $5 for parking anyday :)

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, GA
Oct 24, 2010

Great autumn long weekend

Good motel with functional perks - e.g., WiFi; indoor & outdoor pools; Cafe in house, tasty meals at reasonable prices; friendly staff; flat screen TV with 60+ cable channels; convenient Trolleys @ bargain (half dollar per person) stops in front of hotel - stayed on schedule, safe easy to jump on and off at restaurants, sites. Trolley quick, saved parking for sightseeing in town; Also a short walk down street to restaurants and city convention center; nice ride up & down on tram ride up the mountain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice sandwich menu for noon meals at Cafe; good breakfast buffet @ good price

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens,GA
Oct 21, 2010

good location

The staff was very friendly and enthusiastic,they tried their best to satisfy our requirement,eg. copying,consulting.I think I will go to there next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Oct 20, 2010

70's Motel

OLD OLD worn out hotel. Where does this hotel/motel qualify for three stars?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top