$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
170 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health... See full review

  • Nannygan
  • May 28, 2013
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfort KY
Aug 10, 2011

Will return!

We had a great time! I was worried because of the bad reviews I had read. I decided to try it out for myself, and I'm glad I did! Even though it is an older hotel, while we were there the staff was constantly working on; painting and clean-up. Our rooms were very clean and housekeeping visited everyday! I have three children so the pools were great!! The free breakfast was really nice as well, my family loved the biscuts and gravy! One morning at the Cafe we got homemade cinnimon rolls, yum!! We also ate at the cafe for lunch and it was one of the best cheeseburgers we ate on our trip. The front desk was also very helpful. We were interested in returning, so they gave us a key to a larger room that would better accomidate our large family. It was close to the Gatlinburg strip, but the hill was a little tough when it was hot. The best part of our trip, while we were relaxing on the balcony, my two year old spotted a momma bear and three baby cups playing in the creek!! It was a great trip and we will return to the Sidney James!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside Cafe, save your money and enjoy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson sc
Aug 8, 2011

weekend in G'Burg

room was clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of towels for shower and jacuzzi. close to downtown, only 5-7 min walk to main drag. seemed longer going back uphill. parking was tight,pools were nice. overall nice place to take family for vacation or that special someone for a romantic getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western KY
Aug 6, 2011

Disappointed

If not prepaid, I would not have stayed. The good things: working frig, air conditioning, clean sheets, sink & toilet, door lock worked, bed and pillows comfortable. Horrible decor, sliding door to balcony over creek would not lock, mold inside picture frames, cheap chipped furniture, everything in bathroom was 40-50 years old and falling apart. Dead bugs in bathroom floor, filthy bathroom door, plastic backsplash caulking was missing. Would NOT recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks to main strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 1, 2011

Not bad

My fiancé and I first booked one of the economy rooms for out two night stay. When we checked out the room, it was clear that the pictures did not accurately represent the room. In reality, the room was dated and dark, and honestly, the courtside rooms are a bit creepy. The room was clean, but the blankets had stains, and looked like they had been in use for a good decade. We talked to the lobby staff (who were remarkably respectful and friendly), and they upgraded us to a king bedroom above the lobby for a small extra charge. This move was well worth it, as this new room was much homier and comfortable than the previous. The blanket was still very well-worn, but we had no complaints. During our stay, the staff was always very friendly, and eager to make us feel at home. As it is just half a mile downhill to the parkway, it was an easy walk to the stores and restaurants. It is also less than a mile to the Twin Creeks trail, which is worth a visit too. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but you should book above the economy rooms if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little store/restaurant on the way down to the parkway, called the Bearlands General Store. We found this was a good place to stop in the morning for water bottles on our way into town, and on our way back at night for snacks. Very friendly staff, and a wide selection of food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilson, NC
Jul 30, 2011

Fair price for the location

The hotel staff did an excellent job of helping make sure my stay was great. Room cleaning was excellent and the location was away from the noise and business of the shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 21, 2011

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Clean room, creekside balcony was awesome. Staff was very friendly. Only downside not enough parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonshine holler was awesome. Mellow mushroom has great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Jul 20, 2011

A Nice Little Stay

We were looking for a little extended weekend, get away but didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel. We went to Gatlinburg the previous summer and realized that most of the hotels/motels were pretty out of date, so we weren't expecting a champagne hotel on a beer budget. We were planning to spend a lot of time at the pool since the activities on the strip were so expensive. The weather forecast indicated a good chance of rain, so we wanted a hotel that had both an indoor and outdoor pool. Both pools at this hotel were very clean and well kept. The room was clean but the furnishings were a bit outdated. We had a refrigerator and coffee pot, but no microwave in the room. The staff said I could use the microwave (circa 1972) that was in the conference room. It worked, but it was a drag having to go there and hope that there wasn't a meeting going on. The Hotel was fine for the price we paid ($62/avg per night)for a long weekend. If this was our annual family vacation for a week or so, I would spend a little more money and stayed at a more modern hotel. Again, we knew going in what we were getting, so we weren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was approx .4 miles uphill from "the strip" behind the space needle. After shopping, dining, or entertainment, the uphill walk back to the hotel was exhausting. The hotel is a dedicated trolley stop, so the .50cents per person to ride back was well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, ky
Mar 23, 2011

Sidney James Hotel

Room was across the street from the main lobby and pool. There were no towels available. Poolside cafe was closed. Room was OK but smokers were next door. Overall very disappointed and very overpriced for $125.00 per night while another traveller in the lobby got the same type room for $68. will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pigeon forge, Tenessee
Mar 14, 2011

Family getaway

We had a blast, we shopped an ate dinner at some offend nicest spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tanger Outlets is the best place to shop an it's only like a 15 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs.SBKS
Business
Johnson City, TN
Feb 23, 2011

fine hotel.....[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find out if there are any events going on before you go it was so cowded due to a christin festival that we could hardly drive or walk any where. People would stand in the middle of the streets and sidewalks blocking the traffic flow. We had to basicly push our way through crowds of people as if we were at a crowded concert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top