$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

2 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Mrs.
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 11, 2011

Stay in Gatlinburg

Our hotel room was smelly, like a stale wetness. I did not feel safe in our room. The door did not shut tight. the location was great though. Very short walk to the main attractions in Gatlinburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great restaurants with in a short walk

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 10, 2011

Great Stay for the price!

Staff was excellent. Room very comfortable. Attractions and shopping were awesome. Hotel parking not adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfort KY
Aug 10, 2011

Will return!

We had a great time! I was worried because of the bad reviews I had read. I decided to try it out for myself, and I'm glad I did! Even though it is an older hotel, while we were there the staff was constantly working on; painting and clean-up. Our rooms were very clean and housekeeping visited everyday! I have three children so the pools were great!! The free breakfast was really nice as well, my family loved the biscuts and gravy! One morning at the Cafe we got homemade cinnimon rolls, yum!! We also ate at the cafe for lunch and it was one of the best cheeseburgers we ate on our trip. The front desk was also very helpful. We were interested in returning, so they gave us a key to a larger room that would better accomidate our large family. It was close to the Gatlinburg strip, but the hill was a little tough when it was hot. The best part of our trip, while we were relaxing on the balcony, my two year old spotted a momma bear and three baby cups playing in the creek!! It was a great trip and we will return to the Sidney James!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside Cafe, save your money and enjoy!!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson sc
Aug 8, 2011

weekend in G'Burg

room was clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of towels for shower and jacuzzi. close to downtown, only 5-7 min walk to main drag. seemed longer going back uphill. parking was tight,pools were nice. overall nice place to take family for vacation or that special someone for a romantic getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western KY
Aug 6, 2011

Disappointed

If not prepaid, I would not have stayed. The good things: working frig, air conditioning, clean sheets, sink & toilet, door lock worked, bed and pillows comfortable. Horrible decor, sliding door to balcony over creek would not lock, mold inside picture frames, cheap chipped furniture, everything in bathroom was 40-50 years old and falling apart. Dead bugs in bathroom floor, filthy bathroom door, plastic backsplash caulking was missing. Would NOT recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks to main strip.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 1, 2011

Not bad

My fiancé and I first booked one of the economy rooms for out two night stay. When we checked out the room, it was clear that the pictures did not accurately represent the room. In reality, the room was dated and dark, and honestly, the courtside rooms are a bit creepy. The room was clean, but the blankets had stains, and looked like they had been in use for a good decade. We talked to the lobby staff (who were remarkably respectful and friendly), and they upgraded us to a king bedroom above the lobby for a small extra charge. This move was well worth it, as this new room was much homier and comfortable than the previous. The blanket was still very well-worn, but we had no complaints. During our stay, the staff was always very friendly, and eager to make us feel at home. As it is just half a mile downhill to the parkway, it was an easy walk to the stores and restaurants. It is also less than a mile to the Twin Creeks trail, which is worth a visit too. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but you should book above the economy rooms if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little store/restaurant on the way down to the parkway, called the Bearlands General Store. We found this was a good place to stop in the morning for water bottles on our way into town, and on our way back at night for snacks. Very friendly staff, and a wide selection of food and drinks.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilson, NC
Jul 30, 2011

Fair price for the location

The hotel staff did an excellent job of helping make sure my stay was great. Room cleaning was excellent and the location was away from the noise and business of the shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 21, 2011

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Clean room, creekside balcony was awesome. Staff was very friendly. Only downside not enough parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Moonshine holler was awesome. Mellow mushroom has great pizza.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Jul 20, 2011

A Nice Little Stay

We were looking for a little extended weekend, get away but didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel. We went to Gatlinburg the previous summer and realized that most of the hotels/motels were pretty out of date, so we weren't expecting a champagne hotel on a beer budget. We were planning to spend a lot of time at the pool since the activities on the strip were so expensive. The weather forecast indicated a good chance of rain, so we wanted a hotel that had both an indoor and outdoor pool. Both pools at this hotel were very clean and well kept. The room was clean but the furnishings were a bit outdated. We had a refrigerator and coffee pot, but no microwave in the room. The staff said I could use the microwave (circa 1972) that was in the conference room. It worked, but it was a drag having to go there and hope that there wasn't a meeting going on. The Hotel was fine for the price we paid ($62/avg per night)for a long weekend. If this was our annual family vacation for a week or so, I would spend a little more money and stayed at a more modern hotel. Again, we knew going in what we were getting, so we weren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel was approx .4 miles uphill from "the strip" behind the space needle. After shopping, dining, or entertainment, the uphill walk back to the hotel was exhausting. The hotel is a dedicated trolley stop, so the .50cents per person to ride back was well worth it!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, ky
Mar 23, 2011

Sidney James Hotel

Room was across the street from the main lobby and pool. There were no towels available. Poolside cafe was closed. Room was OK but smokers were next door. Overall very disappointed and very overpriced for $125.00 per night while another traveller in the lobby got the same type room for $68. will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top