$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health... See full review

  • Nannygan
  • May 28, 2013
sydney james

The staff were great. Very friendly. Our room was large and nice. Would definitely stay again. See full review

  • jilltwinmom
  • Mar 31, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loved it
Business
Booneville, MS 38829, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Very Pleased

All the staff was very friendly. Anything we needed they did their very best to accomodate us. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean & having both pools & a hot tub was great. We arrived late in the night & was still greeted with a smile. My family & I come to the mountains atleast once a year. We will be using this hotel each time as long as the price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarahr0902
South Carolina, USA
Sep 12, 2011

What you pay for.

The hotel was clean, which is all we asked for. The room was very small and the mattress was hard. But it was a cheap hotel and we were just glad that it was clean. The room could use some updating. The staff was friendly but nothing special stands out. We thought that the hotel would be closer to the main strip of Gatlinburg but even though it was 3 1/2 blocks, those blocks were very long. It is within walking distance but once you walk down the strip and back, it is tiresome walking back up that hill. Also, if you are going into Pigeon Forge, you have to drive down the strip and traffic can be pretty rough. We would stay here again if we couldn't find anything closer to the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pancake House near the hotel is wonderful. The food and service are great.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarahr0902
South Carolina, USA
Sep 12, 2011

What you pay for.

The hotel was clean, which is all we asked for. The room was very small and the mattress was hard. But it was a cheap hotel and we were just glad that it was clean. The room could use some updating. The staff was friendly but nothing special stands out. We thought that the hotel would be closer to the main strip of Gatlinburg but even though it was 3 1/2 blocks, those blocks were very long. It is within walking distance but once you walk down the strip and back, it is tiresome walking back up that hill. Also, if you are going into Pigeon Forge, you have to drive down the strip and traffic can be pretty rough. We would stay here again if we couldn't find anything closer to the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pancake House near the hotel is wonderful. The food and service are great.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buddy123
tennssee
Aug 22, 2011

The greatest

The hotel for booking reason up graded us to a suite. The room was greate. location was a couple of blocks off the main strip but worth the drive. The staff was fun to deal with, had several laughts with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Married
North Carolina
Aug 20, 2011

Great Honeymoon

We had a great stay at Sidney James Lodge. The room was very clean. Its not that far to downtown Gatlinburg but, dont count on the Trolley stop. It only runs about every 30-45 min. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Married
North Carolina
Aug 20, 2011

Great Honeymoon

We had a great stay at Sidney James Lodge. The room was very clean. Its not that far to downtown Gatlinburg but, dont count on the Trolley stop. It only runs about every 30-45 min. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Mrs.
Wisconsin
Aug 11, 2011

Stay in Gatlinburg

Our hotel room was smelly, like a stale wetness. I did not feel safe in our room. The door did not shut tight. the location was great though. Very short walk to the main attractions in Gatlinburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great restaurants with in a short walk

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Mrs.
Wisconsin
Aug 11, 2011

Stay in Gatlinburg

Our hotel room was smelly, like a stale wetness. I did not feel safe in our room. The door did not shut tight. the location was great though. Very short walk to the main attractions in Gatlinburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great restaurants with in a short walk

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frankfort KY
Aug 10, 2011

Will return!

We had a great time! I was worried because of the bad reviews I had read. I decided to try it out for myself, and I'm glad I did! Even though it is an older hotel, while we were there the staff was constantly working on; painting and clean-up. Our rooms were very clean and housekeeping visited everyday! I have three children so the pools were great!! The free breakfast was really nice as well, my family loved the biscuts and gravy! One morning at the Cafe we got homemade cinnimon rolls, yum!! We also ate at the cafe for lunch and it was one of the best cheeseburgers we ate on our trip. The front desk was also very helpful. We were interested in returning, so they gave us a key to a larger room that would better accomidate our large family. It was close to the Gatlinburg strip, but the hill was a little tough when it was hot. The best part of our trip, while we were relaxing on the balcony, my two year old spotted a momma bear and three baby cups playing in the creek!! It was a great trip and we will return to the Sidney James!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside Cafe, save your money and enjoy!!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Aug 10, 2011

Great Stay for the price!

Staff was excellent. Room very comfortable. Attractions and shopping were awesome. Hotel parking not adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top