$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
172 reviews
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

It was great loved the inside pool every one was friendly will stay here again See full review

  • whyystay
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

This Place was great quiet not to far from anything my family and I walked most of the time. The... See full review

  • whyystay
  • Jul 8, 2013
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ant Stomper
Savannah, GA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Weekend getaway

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the creek which was nice. The location was good being away from the busy part of town however be prepared to walk 1/2 mile to the attractions. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There is an indoor and outdoor pool but we didn't use them due to the season. There is also plenty of guest parking. The rooms are dated and need a serious face lift. Both mattresses & pillows were terrible for comfort and ants kept appearing in the bathroom. There was no stopper for the tub to give our child a bath and the one provided by the staff didn't fit. Modern fixtures and new mattreses would have made it a more pleasant experience. The room appeared clean but smelled old & musky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snoopy
Georgia
Sep 28, 2011

Wonderful stay!

We loved our stay at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge! It was very clean and a great value. All of the employees were especially friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was really pretty. We especially enjoyed the beautiful view of the stream outside the hotel and would stay here again any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twilly
Tennessee, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Sweet

good stay for the price cant beat the location. Room was dated but very clean and well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dicks last resort great fun

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KY Girl
KY
Sep 22, 2011

OK

The hotel needed some attetion to detail. Paint on the walls and it would have looked a lot better. There was scuff marks on the doors and trim and wall paper coming off the walls. It gave it a dirty appearance. The amenities were there they just needed some attention as well. The pool water was a lil yucky looking so we didnt use the pool. Water chemistry needed to be maintained well on pools for it to be safe to swim in. My favorite part was the creek right outside our door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
redronrico
Bloomington, IN, USA
Sep 19, 2011

gatlinburg

this hotel is on the older side...the room was clean.... the desk was ok..not super friendly...but accomodating...the vending machine had snacks that were past their due date....the hot tub and pool had sand in the bottoms and smelled funny...the shower was the best part of the stay...great water pressure and a water pic head....all in all...i wont be returning...but not a horrible place....so many hotels in the area..there has to be a better one close....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DO NOT eat at LEGENDS resturaunt....it was horrible and almost unedible and very spendy....DO eat at CHEROKEE GRILL....it was fabulous!!!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loved it
Business
Booneville, MS 38829, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Very Pleased

All the staff was very friendly. Anything we needed they did their very best to accomodate us. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean & having both pools & a hot tub was great. We arrived late in the night & was still greeted with a smile. My family & I come to the mountains atleast once a year. We will be using this hotel each time as long as the price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RobRoy
Alabama, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Short family getaway

Room was clean but everything was old. The shower had two different faucet handle designs and was mismatched like they just tried to make do instead doing a proper repair. Other small things were also noted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarahr0902
South Carolina, USA
Sep 12, 2011

What you pay for.

The hotel was clean, which is all we asked for. The room was very small and the mattress was hard. But it was a cheap hotel and we were just glad that it was clean. The room could use some updating. The staff was friendly but nothing special stands out. We thought that the hotel would be closer to the main strip of Gatlinburg but even though it was 3 1/2 blocks, those blocks were very long. It is within walking distance but once you walk down the strip and back, it is tiresome walking back up that hill. Also, if you are going into Pigeon Forge, you have to drive down the strip and traffic can be pretty rough. We would stay here again if we couldn't find anything closer to the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pancake House near the hotel is wonderful. The food and service are great.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buddy123
tennssee
Aug 22, 2011

The greatest

The hotel for booking reason up graded us to a suite. The room was greate. location was a couple of blocks off the main strip but worth the drive. The staff was fun to deal with, had several laughts with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Married
North Carolina
Aug 20, 2011

Great Honeymoon

We had a great stay at Sidney James Lodge. The room was very clean. Its not that far to downtown Gatlinburg but, dont count on the Trolley stop. It only runs about every 30-45 min. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search