$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scoot
Business
Alabama, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Nice for a short stay

Room was clean but was not informed it was across the street from main hotel, and at the top of the hill. Hard walk for someone with bad back. There is a parking area down the hill at the Catholic Church, that is $5 a day that is come and go as you wish. Would stay here at later day for sure. Room had new carpet, and did not smell. Beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NannyC
Business
madison al
Oct 17, 2011

Not where I would stay for my vacation

Ok for just a place to sleep for the night. Would have been very disappointed if this was my accommodation for a vacation. Old and tired is how I would describe it. Not much to recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR. MD1106
Business
Iowa
Oct 17, 2011

Not Good

Horrible room. Bad beds. Not clean with horrible furniture. Recommend that you not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food close to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ATV Granny
Business
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 16, 2011

Bad rooms

First they put us in a room that wasn't shown on the web site, it smelled of mold and you couldn't breath well. They moved us to another room which still had a slight smell of mold. The mattress was old and worn out and so were the linens. The side of one of the mattresses had what appeared to be bright red stains along the side. The commode ran most of the night and something bit me several places while I was asleep. The WORST place we have ever spent the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael A
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great Location

I have been to the Sidney James Mountain lodge now three times, They have a clean place and friendly staff. The location is just a small walk from the main strip or if you want it has a trolley stop out front. Being off the main area gives you a quiet place to rest. I do recommend getting a room over looking the creek it is a nice sound to go to sleep to you will think you are out camping..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take trolleys thru out Gatlinburg first to see all it has to offer then take note of what is interesting to you and return by foot to those.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marine one
Business
Lafayette, LA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Old and dingy

didn't want my body to actually touch anything in the room. Felt like I was back in the seventies. Beds were bottom of the line mattresses. They only wash the bed spreads if they "think" they need it. Old tvs. Musty smell, probably from the 20 year old carpets. Good water pressure in shower, nice indoor pool and hot tub, and they accept pets. Stay at a holiday inn express!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dogs are not allowed on national park trails in the smokies/ Appalachian trail ( within the park boundaries) so leave them in the hotel or at home or else they have to stay in your car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shop girls
Business
Ohio
Oct 11, 2011

girls getaway

had room on river-very nice listening to water running in river all night - helped to tolerate the musty smell (used Lysol that helped too). people very nice. had requested better pillows and never received them. they did replace refrigerator promptly. for atmosphere I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

has trolley service-

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
golfer 77
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Old run down cheap motel, bad and aweful bathrooms

I am sorry to say that this is first time I came across and stayed in such a bad hotel after booking from Orbitz. The room looks, feels and smells old. The moment I turned on the A/c unit for heating( in Oct 1st week) the loud noise and the smell was unbearable. Worse to come when we checked the bathrooms. some of the worst things- The shower is not working, the hot and cold mixing was not working, it either gets too hot or too cold and the knobs even after adjusting will not work. the roof was exposed with rusty pipes. And lastly the bed sheets are smelly, not sure when was the last time the comforter was washed. Thank god for my mom's advise to carry a comforter any where you go. I had to go back to my car and get them and used for the night. The ONLY good thing is its located on historic nature trail near the entrance to roaring fork. near to gipline and craftman's fair. But if you decide to stay here or anywhere PLEASE first check the bathroom to see if shower and hot water are working the moment you step in to the room and ask for a change of room. A good lesson learned at this bad hotel. enjoy the smokies and gatlinburg, dont forget to take the skylift, its amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Martha
Business
Meadowview, Emory-Meadow View, VA 24361, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Gatlinburg Weekend

We had a great time. The hotel was very quiet. All of the staff were excellent. We loved the pool and sauna. Amenities were a bit outdated, but clean. Highly recommend for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Ripley's Aquarium is well worth the time and money. Best Aquarium we've been too. Also, Hard Rock Gatlinburg is a blast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy explorers
Business
texas
Oct 5, 2011

NEEDS SOME UPDATING

the hotel is close enough to downtown gatlinburg to walk too since they charge for parking down there.they do not serve a free breakfast. also the room was smelly that they gave us.in need of some updating.but since we did not go there to stay at our hotel it served its purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to dining ,entertainment and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top