$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
172 reviews
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

It was great loved the inside pool every one was friendly will stay here again See full review

  • whyystay
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sidney James Mountain Lodge

This Place was great quiet not to far from anything my family and I walked most of the time. The... See full review

  • whyystay
  • Jul 8, 2013
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scoot
Alabama, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Nice for a short stay

Room was clean but was not informed it was across the street from main hotel, and at the top of the hill. Hard walk for someone with bad back. There is a parking area down the hill at the Catholic Church, that is $5 a day that is come and go as you wish. Would stay here at later day for sure. Room had new carpet, and did not smell. Beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NannyC
madison al
Oct 17, 2011

Not where I would stay for my vacation

Ok for just a place to sleep for the night. Would have been very disappointed if this was my accommodation for a vacation. Old and tired is how I would describe it. Not much to recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MR. MD1106
Business
Iowa
Oct 17, 2011

Not Good

Horrible room. Bad beds. Not clean with horrible furniture. Recommend that you not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food close to this hotel.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ATV Granny
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 16, 2011

Bad rooms

First they put us in a room that wasn't shown on the web site, it smelled of mold and you couldn't breath well. They moved us to another room which still had a slight smell of mold. The mattress was old and worn out and so were the linens. The side of one of the mattresses had what appeared to be bright red stains along the side. The commode ran most of the night and something bit me several places while I was asleep. The WORST place we have ever spent the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael A
Greenville, SC, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great Location

I have been to the Sidney James Mountain lodge now three times, They have a clean place and friendly staff. The location is just a small walk from the main strip or if you want it has a trolley stop out front. Being off the main area gives you a quiet place to rest. I do recommend getting a room over looking the creek it is a nice sound to go to sleep to you will think you are out camping..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take trolleys thru out Gatlinburg first to see all it has to offer then take note of what is interesting to you and return by foot to those.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marine one
Lafayette, LA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Old and dingy

didn't want my body to actually touch anything in the room. Felt like I was back in the seventies. Beds were bottom of the line mattresses. They only wash the bed spreads if they "think" they need it. Old tvs. Musty smell, probably from the 20 year old carpets. Good water pressure in shower, nice indoor pool and hot tub, and they accept pets. Stay at a holiday inn express!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dogs are not allowed on national park trails in the smokies/ Appalachian trail ( within the park boundaries) so leave them in the hotel or at home or else they have to stay in your car.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shop girls
Ohio
Oct 11, 2011

girls getaway

had room on river-very nice listening to water running in river all night - helped to tolerate the musty smell (used Lysol that helped too). people very nice. had requested better pillows and never received them. they did replace refrigerator promptly. for atmosphere I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

has trolley service-

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
golfer 77
Augusta, GA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Old run down cheap motel, bad and aweful bathrooms

I am sorry to say that this is first time I came across and stayed in such a bad hotel after booking from Orbitz. The room looks, feels and smells old. The moment I turned on the A/c unit for heating( in Oct 1st week) the loud noise and the smell was unbearable. Worse to come when we checked the bathrooms. some of the worst things- The shower is not working, the hot and cold mixing was not working, it either gets too hot or too cold and the knobs even after adjusting will not work. the roof was exposed with rusty pipes. And lastly the bed sheets are smelly, not sure when was the last time the comforter was washed. Thank god for my mom's advise to carry a comforter any where you go. I had to go back to my car and get them and used for the night. The ONLY good thing is its located on historic nature trail near the entrance to roaring fork. near to gipline and craftman's fair. But if you decide to stay here or anywhere PLEASE first check the bathroom to see if shower and hot water are working the moment you step in to the room and ask for a change of room. A good lesson learned at this bad hotel. enjoy the smokies and gatlinburg, dont forget to take the skylift, its amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Martha
Meadowview, Emory-Meadow View, VA 24361, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Gatlinburg Weekend

We had a great time. The hotel was very quiet. All of the staff were excellent. We loved the pool and sauna. Amenities were a bit outdated, but clean. Highly recommend for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Ripley's Aquarium is well worth the time and money. Best Aquarium we've been too. Also, Hard Rock Gatlinburg is a blast!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy explorers
texas
Oct 5, 2011

NEEDS SOME UPDATING

the hotel is close enough to downtown gatlinburg to walk too since they charge for parking down there.they do not serve a free breakfast. also the room was smelly that they gave us.in need of some updating.but since we did not go there to stay at our hotel it served its purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to dining ,entertainment and shopping

Back to menu Return to top

Change search