$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gailj4100
Business
Johnson City, TN, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Not Bad

Really I would rate about 3 1/2 stars. Good and bad points all the way around. Like others have said you get what you pay for, but for the price it was good. The only complaint I would have is the mattress and the need updated bad. I was 2 1/2 weeks out of back surgery and I ended up going to Wal-mart and getting and extra piece of foam to put under my side. They need to show the back entrance to make it easier to get in and out a little easier. We had a creek side room...would love it in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When making reservation ask how to get in from red light 3, you want have to fight the traffic up the hill on busy afternoons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarrish
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 7, 2011

Old Place, but good

This is not a 5-star resort, it is an older place, but it is clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sveans
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Nov 7, 2011

hotel review

The hotel was really great for the price we paid. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck234
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Nov 2, 2011

Customer Service!

We checked in right on time and the staff wasvery wonderful. The value was nothing less than perfect. Clean room, clean hotel, clean pools, clean everything. The location was nice and easily within a a very short distance to anything downtown. I have been to the area many times over the years and this has to be the best bang for my buck I ever had while visiting the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarasMom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Sidney James

My daughter and I stayed there for a 3-day weekend. The pool is as beautiful as pictured and gives new meaning to a heated pool. Although not mentioned/pictured they also have a hot tub. Was not impressed with food @ Cafe. Go to Wonder Works in Pigeon Forge. Great for all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the all day pass @ Wonder Works, it is well worth the money and they are open until midnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ATV Granny
Business
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 30, 2011

Don't stay here!

One of the worse rooms I have stayed in. The beds were wore out and so was the linen and there was a large red stain on the side of the mattress. The room smelled of mold and I had bug bites all over me. Will not ever consider staying again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peeps53
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Best Hotel I've Been to in awhile

The view off the balcony was just what we were looking for. Our bed was very comfortable, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. They always had answers to our questions. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We could walk down to the main street of Gatlinburg from our hotel. If you didn't feel like walking, the trolley would pick you up right outside the front of the building. Everything was clean and neat. It's an 'older' establishment, but kept up very nicely for its age. KUDOS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rodee
Business
Tennessee, USA
Oct 24, 2011

First and last time

We fell for the beautiful pool pictures and spa and sauna promises. Upon our arrival we were placed in a 60's type motel across three lanes of busy traffic. As the temperature dropped into the low 50's we never made the 75 yards to the indoor pool. We thought about the outdoor pool but the water was green. The bathtub was quite dirty. Went down the next morning for breakfast,couldn't find the snack bar , finally did but no one was there including the help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
diychic
Business
Huntsville, AL
Oct 20, 2011

Average low end hotel

We did lots of research before booking this hotel. Even though we saw lots of negatives we couldn't beat the price. When we entered the people behind the desk were friendly. Our room was the courtyard ones, which are across the street from the front desk and pool. They are very outdated. They were clean. The next day after the room was cleaned we came back and someone had gone in the toilet and not flushed. Also had a really hard time with the showers. When the people in the room next door used the shower at the same time as us, it would mess up our water. It would go cold, then scalding hot...I mean REALLY hot!!! At one point we had just cold water running, and hot water came shooting out. So, we didn't have a warm shower for 3 days. Which really stunk! The pool was nice, but the hot tub wasn't close to hot enough. Also the bottom of the pool is coming off, and feels like sand between your toes, yuck! Check out was painless. But, we left something behind in our room and have called to try and see if they found it. I get transferred to house keeping. Have left messages with no response. Overall a cheap hotel, and run down inside. The Super 8 just down the street looked nicer and newer. It is a half mile walk to downtown, and it's uphill. We walked it the first day, but parked at the bottom of the hill at $6 parking the other 2 days. Good Luck and hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most places in Gatlinburg give a military discount. Contact the places you are going ahead of time. For some, you need to get your tickets on base to get the discount. Ripley's only has discounts at the window for active military. If you are retired, reservist, gov or contractor you have to get it on base!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kittie Kat
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Nice hotel

It is an older hotel. The room was clean. It could use updating. The room was nice size, the beds were OK. Our room was by the creek with a balcony that overlooked it, which we enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mexican restaurant down the street, La Hacienda, had great food, service, and margaritas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top