$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
170 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but... See full review

  • Zhawks02
  • Nov 24, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mohicanlove
Business
Mount Juliet
May 20, 2012

Friendly Staff, mediocre facility.

The description of the room on website indicated a microwave, however there was not one in the room. If you make plans around being able to heat food up in the room, only the "Kitchenette" rooms come with a microwave despite what the website says. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, but it was still frustrating. Our room had a private balcony overlooking a creek that ran behind the hotel which was nice. However on the other side of the creek was a slightly creepy abandoned hotel that made for a less than comforting view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R Mitchell
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Not Recommended

Probably one of the worst hotels I have even had the experience to stay in. There were holes in the wall, the bathtub was discolored and stained, the bed was uncomfortable and there was a strange odor in and outside of the room. The parking was totally inadequate...I had to park over a block away from my room. We had intended to see about staying another night prior to our arrival, but as soon as we saw the room, I booked the next night a the Holiday Inn in Pigeon Forge where we will stay the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William654321
Business
Alabama
Jan 12, 2012

great time

It was in a good location and easy to get in and out and the parking was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William654321
Business
Alabama
Dec 29, 2011

good value

This is a good deal for the money and a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaDragonverde
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Awesome Stay!

They really made my family's holiday special. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Roaring Fork Motor Trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damien0608
Business
Fayetteville, Ga
Dec 3, 2011

Was a very relaxing trip

We loved the hotel the only thing is they need to get more comfortable beds . Our backs were so sore. Another negative factor was they didnt have any microwaves in the rooms like it said on the website. There is one microwave near the main office. But overall it was close to the strip yet far away. We had a balcony overlooking the creek it was very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

wear comfortable shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rather RV
Business
Indiana, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Long weekend

Be aware that the portion of the hotel that is pet friendly doesn't have an elevator. The shower was the worst we have ever experienced, hot then cold with no middle ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alpine11
Business
Collinsville, VA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Worth the money

You get what you pay for. Was a great deal and we were pleased with what we got for what we paid. I will pay a little more next time for a better room I think though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curls86
Business
Newnan
Nov 21, 2011

great

The hotel is worth the money. Not the ritz but for 60 its what u expect. Parking was easy. It's very close to everything. Overall I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Coupons are every where don't skip out on them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jess7787
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

about average stay

we had a really good time on this trip. we were most looking forward to using the pool. when we go there the indoor pool wasnt heated. u aslo could not use the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top