$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
165 reviews
Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health... See full review

  • Nannygan
  • May 28, 2013
sydney james

The staff were great. Very friendly. Our room was large and nice. Would definitely stay again. See full review

  • jilltwinmom
  • Mar 31, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Curls86
Newnan
Nov 21, 2011

great

The hotel is worth the money. Not the ritz but for 60 its what u expect. Parking was easy. It's very close to everything. Overall I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Coupons are every where don't skip out on them.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Alpine11
Collinsville, VA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Worth the money

You get what you pay for. Was a great deal and we were pleased with what we got for what we paid. I will pay a little more next time for a better room I think though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
jess7787
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

about average stay

we had a really good time on this trip. we were most looking forward to using the pool. when we go there the indoor pool wasnt heated. u aslo could not use the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
gailj4100
Johnson City, TN, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Not Bad

Really I would rate about 3 1/2 stars. Good and bad points all the way around. Like others have said you get what you pay for, but for the price it was good. The only complaint I would have is the mattress and the need updated bad. I was 2 1/2 weeks out of back surgery and I ended up going to Wal-mart and getting and extra piece of foam to put under my side. They need to show the back entrance to make it easier to get in and out a little easier. We had a creek side room...would love it in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When making reservation ask how to get in from red light 3, you want have to fight the traffic up the hill on busy afternoons.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
Sarrish
Nashville, TN
Nov 7, 2011

Old Place, but good

This is not a 5-star resort, it is an older place, but it is clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
sveans
Nashville, TN, USA
Nov 7, 2011

hotel review

The hotel was really great for the price we paid. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
Chuck234
Atlanta, Ga.
Nov 2, 2011

Customer Service!

We checked in right on time and the staff wasvery wonderful. The value was nothing less than perfect. Clean room, clean hotel, clean pools, clean everything. The location was nice and easily within a a very short distance to anything downtown. I have been to the area many times over the years and this has to be the best bang for my buck I ever had while visiting the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
MarasMom
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Sidney James

My daughter and I stayed there for a 3-day weekend. The pool is as beautiful as pictured and gives new meaning to a heated pool. Although not mentioned/pictured they also have a hot tub. Was not impressed with food @ Cafe. Go to Wonder Works in Pigeon Forge. Great for all ages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the all day pass @ Wonder Works, it is well worth the money and they are open until midnight.

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
ATV Granny
Gladys,Va24554
Oct 30, 2011

Don't stay here!

One of the worse rooms I have stayed in. The beds were wore out and so was the linen and there was a large red stain on the side of the mattress. The room smelled of mold and I had bug bites all over me. Will not ever consider staying again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
Peeps53
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Best Hotel I've Been to in awhile

The view off the balcony was just what we were looking for. Our bed was very comfortable, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. They always had answers to our questions. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We could walk down to the main street of Gatlinburg from our hotel. If you didn't feel like walking, the trolley would pick you up right outside the front of the building. Everything was clean and neat. It's an 'older' establishment, but kept up very nicely for its age. KUDOS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top