$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
269 reviews
Great place for a nice place to stay.

The only complaint I had was the walk to the strip was too far for older people with health... See full review

  • Nannygan
  • May 28, 2013
sydney james

The staff were great. Very friendly. Our room was large and nice. Would definitely stay again. See full review

  • jilltwinmom
  • Mar 31, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.7032 -83.5167
Nearby airports
McGhee Tyson Airport, (TYS), 45.40, MI, SE; Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport, (GKT), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MRB and BAB
Orangeburg, SC
Oct 29, 2012

Me and my wife's getaway!

Our whole getaway experience was very good! Enjoyed it very much! Will go back again, hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Alot of shops to walk to and the walk really isn't a bad walk at all! We enjoyed the exercise each day walking down to shop and eat and back up the hill each night!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Griffith
Spartanburg, SC
Oct 15, 2012

shipped across the street to the motor lodge

The main hotel looked nice and had a nice pool with a waterfall, sauna and hot tub. Unfortunately, we were put across the street at what looked like an old Motorlodge that went out of business and the hotel got cheap. The room was almost $100 which is very pricey for a $50-$60 Motorlodge room. No breakfast, at all. Had to walk across the street to use any of the amenities. The rate should be cheaper when put in the cheaper property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It's over a 1/2 mile walk uphill to get back after a long day on the strip NOT FUN

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
booboosnuggles
kentucky
Sep 17, 2012

pet room

It was an okay hotel for what we needed, a place to sleep and a place for the dog. Be prepared to add $11 extra dollars to your price at checkin for a pet if you book online. Room was okay but bathroom and vanity area had hair(dog and people) everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

J.T. Hannah's

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TENN.12
Muncie In.
Sep 11, 2012

Nice Motel

First time there. I will book it next time I'm in Gatlinburg. Room was clean. Loved there indoor pool. Staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten again
nc
Jul 27, 2012

save us

The Sidney sad to say has dropped on the ratings I cant put my body through that again first i was move from a pet room to a no pet room that had fleas yea i got flea bitten in a room that has had no pets across the road is where all the pets go the other side may still be ok the pool was bad but there was a lot of kids around so will give them that one beds well lets say between the ac so loud and beds that hurt your back it was not good did get sorry for the fleas from front desk wow wont stay again on that side at least

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bubba Gump shrimp was good place to eat

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisLR
Johnson City TN
Jul 10, 2012

Decent experience

after the reviews I was extremely worried about going. We were pleasantly surprised. we got a suite which was very nice. the furniture was a little outdated but the room was clean. the group we were with had regular 2 bed rooms which were very nice as well. I would stay here again. the cafe was the only thing we were not satisfied. with nobody else in there the staff was in the back talking for 15 minutes. we ended up leaving after not being greeted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mohicanlove
Mount Juliet
May 20, 2012

Friendly Staff, mediocre facility.

The description of the room on website indicated a microwave, however there was not one in the room. If you make plans around being able to heat food up in the room, only the "Kitchenette" rooms come with a microwave despite what the website says. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, but it was still frustrating. Our room had a private balcony overlooking a creek that ran behind the hotel which was nice. However on the other side of the creek was a slightly creepy abandoned hotel that made for a less than comforting view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R Mitchell
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Not Recommended

Probably one of the worst hotels I have even had the experience to stay in. There were holes in the wall, the bathtub was discolored and stained, the bed was uncomfortable and there was a strange odor in and outside of the room. The parking was totally inadequate...I had to park over a block away from my room. We had intended to see about staying another night prior to our arrival, but as soon as we saw the room, I booked the next night a the Holiday Inn in Pigeon Forge where we will stay the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William654321
Alabama
Jan 12, 2012

great time

It was in a good location and easy to get in and out and the parking was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William654321
Alabama
Dec 29, 2011

good value

This is a good deal for the money and a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top