$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

3 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but... See full review

  • Zhawks02
  • Nov 24, 2014
Family-owned Gatlinburg hotel on a peaceful mountain stream
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)
Attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennesaw
Nov 23, 2008

if only I had more time

We arrived later in the afternoon, so we went shopping and eating, and never even checked out the pool, sauna, or hot tub. I was disappointed about that, but our time was short. The room was nice, but the t.v. was a little old. All in all it was very pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent pancake house with friendly staff. beautiful scenery lots of people, and lots to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2008

A long hike

The Sydney James is an older property, so some of the perks I am used to in newer hotels were missing. The sink is crammed in the bathroom with the toilet and shower, and the shower leaves a little to be desired. Other than the grout in the shower, the room itself was clean and comfortable. However, it is a LONG WALK from the hotel to the main drag in Gatlinburg. You can do it, but if you have little kids, be prepared for some complaining!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Log Cabin pancake restaurant is just a few blocks away, and it is good...though a little pricey. Get there before 9:00 am in the morning, or be prepared to wait...and wait...and wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blountville
Oct 13, 2008

Quiet and Romantic

Upon arring in town early (way before check in) I checked with staff about parking our vehicle at the hotel. They were very gracious and allowed us to park in front of our room for which we were very thankful as parking was very limited in town. The room was clean and beautiful and very quiet even though we had neighbors upstairs and on both sides, we didn't hear a thing. The pool area and hot tub were nice but there were unsupervised children running and the sauna was out of commission. The cafe was not appropriate for a hotel of this type and the girl working that night had her children there with her so we declined to eat there and made the long walk back downtown for a meal. All in all it was very nice and I would stay again if in the area! P.S. The desk staff was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Plenty to do and see, Log cabin restaurant is the best but get there early. Also, if you go out at night, the walk down isn't too bad but when you get tired from all the fun catch a ride back...it's uphill and seems much longer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2008

In a good location

The Sidney James Mountain Lodge was worth the money. It was in a clean area of Gatlinburg and was just a medium walk to the parkway where most of the entertainment and restaurants were. The lodge itself seems a little dated but was clean and was well maintanenced. The pool was a little disappointing, it was not catered to young children at all, but was unique and aesthetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a good mix of shopping within a medium walk. There was a grocery and a pancake house on the same block which was convenient since we had small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain City
Sep 14, 2008

Not what I expected

From the looks of the outside this place is beautiful. The inside is very dated and not what I expected. I was expecting the place to be nice on the inside and it was not. I gave my room to someone else and went some where else. The beds were hard and very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Nice Housekeepers

The Sydney James Mountain Lodge was very nice. After the trouble we had checking in. The first room I looked at was filthy I would not have let my dog stay in it there was food in the refrigerator and on the floor and the bathroom was nasty. The second room I looked at was a little better but not much I was ready to leave after this. They told me to go across the road which was called courside and the rooms were 100% better. As far as the hotel guest they were very nice and helpful. The pools were fun We were in walking distance to Gatlinburg and the kids loved it. There is no complimentary breakfast but we had breakfast for the kids anyway. Over all I would say it was a lovely trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Good place to stay

The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is a very good place to stay while on your trip to Gatlinburg. If you like a good place to stay, and a place to stay where you would be able to spend more money doing things around the city then this hotel is for you. Although it is quite a walk to the strip, I found this hotel to be very good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton
Jun 25, 2008

Good, but room for improvement

The pluses include balcony over a babbling creek, in room refrigerator & coffee pot, good selection of cable channels, large outdoor pool, large indoor pool with grotto and waterfalls, and relatively spacious room. The minuses were peeling wallpaper, very dated bedspreads, no in room iron and ironing board, and four out of the five pool lights in the indoor pool weren't working. I give it a 7 on a 10 point scale. Correct the little things and this place could easily be a 10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 7, 2008

DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!

When we drove up, we thought this isn't to bad... When we got to tothe room it was a different story. The bed was hard... The fireplace had been cut off. When we went to use the jacuzzi, there were not enought jets...and the water got cold as soon as we got in. When they came to clean the room, someone had peed in the toilet!!! NASTY. I was very disappointed!!! It was not at all what I thought my first wedding anniversary would be like. I will not be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2008

My review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Comfortable, quiet location. Older property but clean and adequately maintained. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Log Cabin Pancake House, one of Gatlinburg's best breakfast eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top