$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Sidney James Mountain Lodge

2 stars
View map of 610 Historic Nature Trail Airport Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
161 reviews
Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor... See full review

  • Gdaletwin
  • Sep 19, 2014
Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but... See full review

  • Zhawks02
  • Nov 24, 2014
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge has been family owned and operated for three generations. The Gatlinburg hotel is located just off the Parkway overlooking a peaceful stream and is next to Mynatt Park. Most of the 180 rooms have private balconies, and there are two cozy cabins. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sightseeing. There are three pools -- one indoor, one outdoor and one small pool for children -- and a poolside cafe offering breakfast and lunch and non-alcoholic drinks for reasonable prices.
Location
The Sidney James Mountain Lodge is located just off the Parkway on a mountain stream. The Gatlinburg Convention Center is three blocks away and Mynatt Park is next to the hotel. Gatlinburg attractions such as Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies are nearby.
Dining
The poolside cafe serves breakfast and lunch basics, while non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available.
Rooms
Rooms options at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge include double rooms, king rooms and Jacuzzi suites with extra space. Courtside rooms open to the pool and some are pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details). King rooms have seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. There are two cabins available for rent, both with private patios for cookouts. Wi-Fi Internet access is free.
Property features
An outdoor pool entertains Sidney James Mountain Lodge guests in the summer, while an indoor one, plus hot tub and sauna room, pleases in the cooler months. An adjacent park offers plenty of room for a picnic. The 500,000-acre Great Smoky Mountains National Park is nearby. The hotel is in downtown Gatlinburg near many shops, restaurants and attractions, which guests can also reach by trolley.
Highlights
  • Family owned and operated Gatlinburg hotel for three generations
  • 180 rooms, most with balconies
  • Three pools and a poolside cafe open for breakfast and lunch
  • Near most major Gatlinburg attractions and just three blocks from the convention center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet service
Nearby attractions
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Dollywood (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wonderworks (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting facility for up to 85 people
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sidney James Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sidney James Mountain Lodge Rooms

Deluxe
Creekside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds creekside
Standard
Jacuzzi mini suite
Standard
Creekside Single bed
Standard
2 queen beds courtside
Deluxe
1 King Bed Club Level Non Smoking
Deluxe
1 King Bed with Seasonal Fireplace
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Smoking
Standard
2 queen beds Courtside with balcony
Standard
Courtside Pet Friendly Pet Fee Extra
Standard
Courtside 2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
Standard
Economy 1 Queen Bed
Standard
1 King Bed with Jacuzzi Non Smoking

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck234
Atlanta, Ga.
Nov 2, 2011

Customer Service!

We checked in right on time and the staff wasvery wonderful. The value was nothing less than perfect. Clean room, clean hotel, clean pools, clean everything. The location was nice and easily within a a very short distance to anything downtown. I have been to the area many times over the years and this has to be the best bang for my buck I ever had while visiting the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gari S.
Business
Winter Park
Jul 10, 2015

Location is great but not worth the price.

I'm not going to speak bad about this place. We didn't have a terrible experience but yet very disappointed in this place and my family is not picky about where we stay like a lot of people are. We just want a clean hotel with whatever is advertised be actually true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chantel G.
Business
Fort Wayne
May 20, 2015

Birthday/graduation trip

The stay was average. The rooms are a bit small for a family. But clean. The pools were awesome. The help seemed friendly enough. Had requested an extra bed when I booked the room. The bed wasn't in the room or charged along with the original booking. The staff was kind enough to get us that cot at 4 in the morning when we arrived. But not without charging us for it separately. Overall I would rate this stay as a middle class stay. Average. Not over the top. And decently priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ric60
Business
GSO
Nov 30, 2014

needs some upgrades

Every year for the last 5 years we have went to Gatlinburg for vacation with 2 other coupes. This hotel had bugs, old furniture, pool and hot tubs had dirt floating on top It was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zhawks02
Business
Martinsville, VA
Nov 24, 2014

Nice place for price

The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms are dated somewhat and may need some remodeling but overall satisfied. The rooms are clean and spacious. I would stay here again. Aprox 1/2 mile walking distance to the Gatlinbug strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pancake Panty is our favorite place to eat

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetnlow70
Business
Valdese, NC
Nov 7, 2014

Great stay

Great place to stay with a great indoor pool and only a short walk to the main street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gdaletwin
Business
Birmingham, Al
Sep 19, 2014

Great family getaway

Convenient to downtown Gatlinburg and quant rooms on a stream. Great family getaway with indoor pool and hot tub!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You want a creekside room!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauree T
Business
Gatlinburg Tn
Jul 8, 2014

good couple getaway

Very nice stay,the pool very nice the parking not very good. It was away from the strip to walk .The staff was really good and helpful the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The price

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J jones
Business
Bristol
Jun 19, 2014

Awesome pool

We had booked another hotel but fell through. We saw this online and booked as a cheap alternative. I loved the location and the swimming pool was fantastic. For the price this stay was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jilltwinmom
Business
Central,Indiana
Mar 31, 2014

sydney james

The staff were great. Very friendly. Our room was large and nice. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try flap jacks. It was amazing!

Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly Wed travelers 15
Business
East TN
Feb 11, 2014

Nice place for what you pay

Nice pool area. The hot tub is too hot. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top