$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
View map of 539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
171 reviews
Wonderful Stay

Being located near the end of the parkway let us walk from one end on one side and then back on the... See full review

  • michael h.
  • Jul 12, 2015
Family vacation

Hotel was nice. Bathroom was small but workable. It's in a great location. My husband don't really... See full review

  • Rach
  • Jul 12, 2015
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Property features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Nearby attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NOVIEW,WHRPL,FIREPL,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,1KBED,2DBED,APTMNT,KITHN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

NoWay Jose's
Across the street from NoWay Jose's, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, adjacent to the property
Atrium Pancake House
Across the street from Atrium Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, 7:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 171
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Femi F.
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Awesome family trip

The hotel met our expectations and staff service was good. The only problem we had was getting off the property because there isn't a traffic light to help us. I witness an accident on my last day there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee C.
Business
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Great place to crash for the night

The room was as advertised and easily accessible. We loved the balcony overlooking the river and the walkway along the river that loops the island. Lots of ducks and ducklings swimming around. The bathroom was small and I can't imagine someone much larger than myself (5'6, 230 lbs.) being able to sit on the toilet. However, the shower head more than made up for the smallness of the room. Most hotels have a cheep head that either sprays too narrow and hard or too wide and soft. They actually used a head I would install in my home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly S.
Business
N/A
Jul 26, 2015

Nice and clean

Hotel was nice and clean for the price. The rooms could use a little update but overall I would stay here again. Housekeepers are great. Breakfast was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rach
Business
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

Family vacation

Hotel was nice. Bathroom was small but workable. It's in a great location. My husband don't really get out and walk but he walked all over cause he seen how local and close we were to every thing. We were literally a minute from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family of 4
Business
N/A
Jul 1, 2015

Quick trip

Love the proximity to the main street - we walked everywhere we wanted to go. The river running right next to the hotel was really nice. Room was a little dated but that didn't bother us. We've stayed here several times and will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gmarieb
Business
Rolla
May 18, 2015

great for a family vacation

Loved the location we could walk anywhere downtown. Our room was very clean and our house keeper was really on top of things and friendly. The breakfast was good they had strawberry waffles the only complaint was our door was hard to shut and open. Our balcony was nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie 34
Business
Wilmington, ohio
Aug 16, 2014

Good family getaway

Good everyone very helpful and nice. Great location, was very please I would stay here again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huge Gatlinburg fan
Business
Winchester, Ky
Aug 11, 2014

Pretty decent place overall but could use some work on the little things.

We've stayed at this hotel on several occasions before and have always found it to be more than adequate for our needs. It's ideally located right in downtown Gatlinburg and is a very short walk to most of the major downtown attractions. Moreover, the staff is most always very friendly and helpful. Our most recent stay wasn't the most positive one we've ever had however. On our first morning there, housekeeping was banging on our door at 9AM wanting to clean the room. We weren't even up yet. We're generally not late sleepers so we didn't put out the do not disturb sign. On this particular morning, I guess we should have. Also, the A/C unit in our room was not working as it should, blowing out somewhat cool air, but not cold; meaning during the hot humid days of August in Tennessee, our room got a little uncomfortable, especially when trying to sleep at night. I mentioned this to the folks at the front desk and they said they would send someone to look at it. We were out of the room all day that day so I don't know if anyone ever came, but all I know is that the problem didn't get any better. This is not a good thing. Plus the Wi-Fi in our particular part of the complex was terrible. Very low signal strength and unusable. The room was clean however and we always enjoy having the stream right outside our room. Even though our most recent experience wasn't the greatest, we will probably stay there again because of our good experiences prior to this one as well as the good value and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake Pantry!!! The best breakfast anywhere!

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma of 4our
Business
Upstate, South Carolina
Aug 11, 2014

Family getaway before school starts back

It was in a great location. Decent room, does need bug control... but it is right beside a river. We enjoyed our stay and had a great time in Gatlinburg!!! would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is with in walking distance from this hotel. We didn't drive our car at all.

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJBAS
Business
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Great location, some of the staff was helpful, some was not, room okay.

You can't beat the location. It's great. When we checked in, our reservations were not correct even though we called ahead. One of the receptionists was very helpful. The other, who was helping others, was rude and difficult. It was an okay stay but we won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top