$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
150 reviews
Downtown!!!

This hotel was wonderful. My friend and I's room was right on the river with balcony. Just left my... See full review

  • Troptink
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great family trip!

The hotel was in a great location to downtown gatlinburg & the trolley. The pool was fabulous, the... See full review

  • Ssdevo
  • Jun 23, 2014
Gatlinburg hotel surrounded by streams in the center of the town
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet

Hotel Map

35.7154 -83.5111
Area served
Newport, Pigeon Forge, Maryville, Knoxville, Sevierville, Cherokee, Ashville
Nearby airports
(TYS), 40.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,NO VIEW,WHRLPL,FIREPLACE,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,SMOK,1 KNG,2 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hard Rock Café
Adjacent to Hard Rock Café, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatlinburg August 2014
Gatlinburg TN.
Sep 1, 2014

Gatlinburg August 2014

Great location, safe for families. Cost to high for old hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacamom4
Ohio
Jun 17, 2014

Great location, nice and clean.

We stayed here after a day motorcycle riding the Cherohola Skyway and Tail of the Dragon. Nice to be able to park the bikes (the hotel was very accommodating about parking the bikes) and walk up town for the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tlc2
Port Charlotte, FL, USA
May 9, 2014

Great location-nice room

Upon arrival received a substandard room with only a view of the river and no porch or balcony. Upon complaining received a better room with a balcony on the second floor with long stairs up - I'm 71 ! The breakfast was exceptional and proximity to town made up for this. Staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The apple barn on Apple Valley road has excellent food but only lunchtime prices and wait staff at lunch were truly exceptional. Fritters and Fried Chicken were worth the short drive.

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekend us
Winston Salem, NC
May 5, 2014

Not As Advertised

Our room was advertised as a creek side room with a fireplace. You could not see the creek at all and it did not have a fireplace. Other than that and the fact you had to slam the door to close it, it was a descent room. Nothing special but nothing that bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nana 10
Roanoke va
Apr 29, 2014

Very pleasant stay

Very pleasant stay and the staff was very most helpful with everything. Good breakfast, rooms were clean and staff was very helpful with my mobility scooter repairs. The only problem is the bathroom is very small. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

nice place tostay

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis the mennace
Lancaster, PA
Apr 22, 2014

Good location and value

We stayed 4 nights in April. Mostly good things to say. Only negatives were bathroom was the size of a postage stamp and 3 nights we ordered wake up call for next morning - only one such call actually happened. Location is good and stream view from room was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley stop for continual trips around the city is only a few steps from the hotel office.

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AHarris
North Carolina
Apr 8, 2014

Weekend getaway

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay that was close to town and this place is in a great location if that's what you are looking for. We were within walking distance to just about everything and that was perfect for us. If we didn't feel like walking, we weren't far from the trolley stop and was able to take the trolley. The hotel was older and the room was average. My only complaint was that it was small. The room was clean and the staff was nice. We enjoyed having the sound of the river just outside our door. If we plan another weekend Gatlinburg trip, we will consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beargess
Whittier, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Nice for Family

Checked in and within minutes parked and in our room. I love being able to park directly in front of room. Nice big King size room with Jacuzzi tub, romantic for couple, or fun for family with kids. Access to creek in back, also nice and private. Big open courtyard with pool and playground, both looked very well kept and clean (though we didn't take our kids this trip, and didn't experience it for ourselves. The breakfast was less than I desired, but i'm not a big continental breakfast person. But can't go wrong with toast. Easy walking distance from town, took us about 20 minutes to reach upper side of Gatlinburg on foot, and we are both in shape. May seem a little far for older persons, or people that are overweight. (no offense). All in All, it is a nice place, very close to aquarium, and we will consider it again the next time we return to Gatlinburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Downs'
Cullman, Alabama
Mar 24, 2014

GREAT ANIIVIERSARY WEEKEND!!

We decided to spend our one year anniversary in Gatlinburg. I reviewed many cabins, hotels, B&Bs and condos. We decided on this one because of its convenient location right in the middle of Gatlinburg on the main street! We were very very happy with the location, the room was huge with a tub big enough to swim in and a separate bathroom with tub/shower and two sinks! We stayed in honeymoon island and it was awesome! Locally owned and ran by people who have lived in the area and most were raised there and have deep ties to the community! We plan to stay there every trip to Gatlinburg from now own if we are lucky enough to get a room again!!! We highly recommend!!! Great for honeymooners, families or friends just getting away!! Staff was great, housekeeping was awesome!! They would clean if you wanted or just provide linens if you prefer that!! Cant say enough nice things about his hotel!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car and walk everywhere!!! Its in the perfect spot for food, shopping, and entertainment in Gatlinburg. But also in a great spot if you need to get on the road to drive to the national park or pigeon forge!!!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim Ed
Hendersonville, TN
Mar 23, 2014

Stray away

initial room had bad smell. asked for upgrade and staff was nice and gave one. room was spacious. balcony was 3'x8' with a building blocking any view. TV had no guide. you didn't know what you were viewing or what it was about. Only volume and channel available. furnishings were sparse and appeared to be salvage store items. I wouldn't recommend this motel. staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if possible plan trip and stay during week with departure on fri.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search