$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
157 reviews
Fabulous Customer Service

My husband and I took a much needed getaway and had car trouble the whole time. The staff were so... See full review

  • Satisfied In Alabama
  • Nov 30, 2014
Long weekend getaway

We had a great time away. Our stay was just what we needed and more than we expected! The staff was... See full review

  • Lookin' For A Break
  • Nov 15, 2014
Gatlinburg hotel surrounded by streams in the center of the town
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,NO VIEW,WHRLPL,FIREPLACE,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,SMOK,1 KNG,2 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hard Rock Café
Adjacent to Hard Rock Café, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Over weight
Business
Ohio
Jul 9, 2012

Would not stay there again.

Staff was not friendly or helpful. Rooms needs a good cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pigeon Forge has better shows and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
old grey fox
Business
portsmouth ri
Apr 10, 2013

Mr Clarence Gdowski

The rate was about the same if I went to Best Western. I can not put on the rewards prograsm. With 2 nites I could have gotten one free nite. Will never use orbity. I feel they are misleading the public . The differenc e was only a few dollrs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhilK
Business
Columbus, OH.
May 6, 2013

Sewage backup

Room was OK until raw sewage backed up into the bathtub while I was showering. It then came from the toilet and flooded the bathroom. I walked barefoot through it as did my wife. This is the last time I will ever stay at a Best Western.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angeleyes38501
Business
Cookeville, TN
Sep 2, 2013

Anniversery weekend

We have always stayed at this hotel, because they have smoking rooms,and the staff has always been so nice. I was very disappointed this trip. You see when you leave you are asked to let them know of issues that needs to be fixed in the room. Well 2 years ago we let them know of a few things that needed to be fixed because of safety issues. When we got there this time nothing was done to fix the problems and the price of the room was higher then in the pass. You I do not mind paying a higher price, but I do mind that the fan in the bathroom was still making loud noise and the sheet rock was falling from around it, I was not sure that it would stay in tack if we turned it on, and not fall when we were bathing, as well as water marks from a leak had not been painted over. Now for the spiders, this was an issue due to they were all over the room. Falling from their web from the ceiling I alone counted about 5 in this room. Then when we tried to watch TV it was interrupted every few mins,and we could not enjoy the movie. I will think twice before booking this hotel again or until I know that the issues have been fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Please check out the Mom & Pop restaurants. They have the best prices and food, but also make sure to check our there open and close times. They are only open for a short time and stay packed with customers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darlene ruth
Business
sarasota, fl
Nov 12, 2013

BED BUGS !!!!

BED BUGS !!! The location was great. but a found a bug crawling in my bed and squeezed it and it exploded with blood in my hand. i went to the front desk to ask about it. He kinda of laughed at it saying there were so many diffent types of bugs in that aera that it was hard to tell what it was. He said if I go back to the room, I could lift up the mattress and look to see if there was a trail of bugs. The way he was laughing it off, i thought it was a tick. I also didn't think it was my place as a guest to lift up a mattress that may have bed bugs.Then the next day we were leaving, I saw a bug and put in between to plastic cups and took it to the front desk. They still have not got back with me on the result. In the mean time i took a picture of the bug and found out it was diffintly bed bugs. My poor sister was sharing the room and has been brutally bitten up. I was put on termendous stress as we were on our way to a stay with family. We had quite an ordeal making sure we did not take any into her house.I had to go purchase new luggage and throw away a new purse, luggage set, camera case and kindle cover. The manager finially returned my call and offered me a coupon for a free night. She was very nice, But really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Want my stuff back
Business
Nashville TN
Jul 11, 2014

Keep everything under lock & key!

I stayed here this past weekend for 2 nights. The reception staff were nice enough, the room itself cozy and well kept. We had the room cleaned just once while we were there since it was only a 2 night trip. During that 1 day of housekeeping 3 things were taken; my shorts, shower scrub, and hairbrush. In all, about $45 worth of items. Not the worst amount to loose...yet who wants to stay at a place where you have to keep everything, including toiletries, locked in your car?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NIHIMMEL
Business
CINCINNATI,OHIO
Apr 5, 2012

ALL AROUND ALRIGHT

THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN AND TO MUCH PUT IN SUCH A SMALL AREA........ALSO THE HAIRDRYER DID NOT WORK RIGHT AND ALSO THEY DID NOT GIVE SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER OR LOTION.........SHAME

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THE TEXAS ROAD HOUSE WAS THE BEST

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smokeman
Business
27889 AREA
Aug 12, 2012

not anything like pictures online!!!!!

room we were in had acrack in the wall,back door was broke.curtains had 4 or 5 holes in them,and room was very small:it looked to be much bigger on the pictures we saw.we liked the area and may go back in a year or two ,BUT WE WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS PLACE AGAIN!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gatlinburg wannabe
Business
Cenral Florida
Aug 19, 2012

Nice location but rooms smell

The location of resort is great! Now for the down side when check in the room smelled like a wet dog (being nice) when we went to the front desk they did give us another room. The new room was an upgrade with a whirlpool tub which would have been nice to use but after looking at the jets the full of dirt and hair Yuk,Yuk ! There cleaning staff needs some training on attention to detail .I work at a resort in Florida and if the guest would ever walk into a room like that I would be ashamed and also would be looking for a job

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DeputyDawg46
Business
Florida
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location

This is one of the older properties in Gatlinburg. The buildings are worn and tired - door doesn't seal, "desk" is a tiny table, etc. But Best Western has at least attempted to make the rooms comfortable. Decent bed, flat-screen tv, and reasonably clean. What you get here is a great location, right next to the Aquarium of the Smokies and an easy walk to all the downtown attractions and restaurants. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Free continental breakfast is typical Best Western - meaning not much. But for the price, it's a decent place. And hey, it has a gas fireplace!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. Don't let the Ripley's name keep you away. This is a very well-done aquarium, and well worth the $25 admission.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top