$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

3 stars
539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
150 reviews
Downtown!!!

This hotel was wonderful. My friend and I's room was right on the river with balcony. Just left my... See full review

  • Troptink
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great family trip!

The hotel was in a great location to downtown gatlinburg & the trolley. The pool was fabulous, the... See full review

  • Ssdevo
  • Jun 23, 2014
Gatlinburg hotel surrounded by streams in the center of the town
The Best Western Twin Islands is located in the center of Gatlinburg within walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies and many restaurants and shops. Streams surround the hotel, and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. A large playground and heated, seasonal outdoor pool attract families. Guests can even fish on the property. Business bonuses include meeting facilities, high-speed Internet access and fax and photocopy services.
Highlights
  • Unique setting amid mountain streams can be enjoyed from each room's balcony
  • Centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg within walking distance to many museums, shops and restaurants
  • Large playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool
Location
The Best Western Twin Islands is surrounded by mountain streams, yet the hotel is centrally located in downtown Gatlinburg. Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies is within walking distance, as are a number of shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is on the trolley route. The famed Great Smoky Mountains National Park with its hiking and outdoor activities is a short drive away.
Rooms

Every room at the Best Western Twin Islands has a balcony overlooking a stream. Both rooms and suites are available, and options include a whirlpool, a fireplace, a microwave and a refrigerator or a kitchen set-up. Rooms have dark carpeting and printed bedspreads. Cable satellite TVs, local calls less than 30 minutes and Internet access are complimentary at the hotel. The Best Western Twin Islands also has exterior corridors.

Features
The Best Western Twin Islands appeals to families with its sizable playground for children and heated, seasonal outdoor pool. Fishing access on the property is a bonus, too.
Transportation
  • McGhee Tyson Airport (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Gatlinburg Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Ober-Gatlinburg (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Pigeon Forge (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Dollywood's Splash Country (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Pigeon Forge Factory Outlet Mall (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Dollywood (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • WonderWorks (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Knoxville Zoo (38 mi/61.2 km)
Business
  • Business center with fax and photocopy services
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free wireless Internet

Hotel Map

35.7154 -83.5111
Area served
Newport, Pigeon Forge, Maryville, Knoxville, Sevierville, Cherokee, Ashville
Nearby airports
(TYS), 40.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Twin Islands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Twin Islands Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,BATHTUB,MINI SUITE,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINSTE,WHRLPL,FIREPLC,MICRFG,RIVER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,NO VIEW,WHRLPL,FIREPLACE,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,APARTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,LIVE RM,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,SMOK,1 KNG,2 DBL BEDS,APTMENT,KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,APTMENT,KITCHEN,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WHRPL,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,FIREPLACE,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,RIVER VW,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Play ground
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Hard Rock Café
Adjacent to Hard Rock Café, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bugalcaps
Piedmont, AL
Nov 12, 2013

Nothing Fancy

If you come to Gatlinburg to lounge around in your room, then you will not be happy with this hotel. If you spend little time in the room and want to be close to everything there is to see and do in downtown, then this is the place you want to stay. The rooms are clean (yes, they are dated), the beds are comfortable, and the staff is friendly. Besides the great rates, you can leave your car parked at the hotel and walk to everything in the downtown area which will save you extra money in parking costs. The continental breakfast is nothing fancy, but it is decent. I would recommend this hotel and we will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darlene ruth
Business
sarasota, fl
Nov 12, 2013

BED BUGS !!!!

BED BUGS !!! The location was great. but a found a bug crawling in my bed and squeezed it and it exploded with blood in my hand. i went to the front desk to ask about it. He kinda of laughed at it saying there were so many diffent types of bugs in that aera that it was hard to tell what it was. He said if I go back to the room, I could lift up the mattress and look to see if there was a trail of bugs. The way he was laughing it off, i thought it was a tick. I also didn't think it was my place as a guest to lift up a mattress that may have bed bugs.Then the next day we were leaving, I saw a bug and put in between to plastic cups and took it to the front desk. They still have not got back with me on the result. In the mean time i took a picture of the bug and found out it was diffintly bed bugs. My poor sister was sharing the room and has been brutally bitten up. I was put on termendous stress as we were on our way to a stay with family. We had quite an ordeal making sure we did not take any into her house.I had to go purchase new luggage and throw away a new purse, luggage set, camera case and kindle cover. The manager finially returned my call and offered me a coupon for a free night. She was very nice, But really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lagirl1964
mobile, al
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect location

This hotel was in the perfect location for visiting Gatlinburg. It was within easy walking distance to everything (touristy) and right on the Parkway to easily get to Pigeon Forge. The only complaint that I had was that our non smoking room smelled like it was only very recently designated as a non smoking room. Other than that, the view from the balcony was great and the room was comfortable and quiet. The beds were also comfortable so we slept great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne L.
LaPlace, LA.
Nov 2, 2013

Fantastic Getaway for my Wife and I

The hotel had the most comfortable beds I ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Hotel is centrally located near most of the major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pigeon Forge has more entertainment to our liking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OBRIEN
metter , ga 30439
Nov 2, 2013

fall vacation

Had no problems with this motel. room was very clean. breakfast was great. parking was very good very quiet all services were great. out during the day to see mountains had double beds, wish they had been queen, my bag. would go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H4ppy C4mper
Charleston, South Carolina
Oct 22, 2013

I'd stay here again

The place is a little dated but I really have no complaints. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and everything was fully functional. The location was great! We did not take advantage of all the amenities but my niece thoroughly enjoyed the back balcony, playground, walking along the stream and feeding the ducks. Although it's not right smack dab in the middle of all the festivities, I still feel the location was perfect b/c the traffic flowed well and we didn't hear any noise. We basically could just walk out out door and start from one end of all the stores, restaurants and attractions and go to the other. There was nothing to miss. We felt safe at night walking in the area and to and from the room, as the shops all stay open at least until 10pm, some later. The only thing was the morning of check-out, we opened the door to witness a gentleman and his car getting searched by two policemen. That was a little unnerving but truly was the only questionable incident that happened. The price is reasonable in comparison to other places nearby and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pricey in town but that's to be expected. Definitely expect to fork out some cash for meals. We ate at No Way Jose's, which I can't really complain about. Wait was 40 min. but was to be expected b/c the town was crawling w/ people. Our server was very pleasant and we did not wait long for our food given how busy it was. It is probably the cheapest meal one can get in town and was conveniently next door to our hotel. The Hard Rock Cafe was next door as well but it's way overpriced and online reviews were bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier Disney Fans
New Castle, IN 47362, USA
Oct 21, 2013

Southern Exposure

Room clean and friendly staff. Mountain stream view from room not great. Shared a balcony and looked over a not very nice looking building. Maybe planting trees and bushes would soften the hard look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the fun and ambiance at Dollywood! A Smoky Mountain treasure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rough as a cobb
Goodlettsville, TN
Oct 1, 2013

It was passable.

When you book the rooms are not what I would have picked if I had seen them first. The staff said there was no vacancy but they left the vacancy sign up as if there was more vacancies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is on the strip convenient to everything in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cally 195
Angie, La
Sep 20, 2013

Cally195

Room and inside motel proper were clean and tidy, but view overlooking stream was very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taiwan JL
Lexington, Ky
Sep 7, 2013

nice place

Even no river-view room, our family feel comfort about the double queen size room. Convenient parking and nice night activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search